Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 7 Series / 8 Series > 7 Series DIY

7 Series DIY
Do It Yourself forum dedicated for 7 Series BMW Owners

Old 07-02-2012, 08:35 AM

Mein Auto: 2005 745i
E65 AC compressor DIY

Preface - if you think this writeup is long - get a quote from BMW dealer on replacing ac compressor. After you get that number this DIY will rhyme as you read it, and you may feel compelled to turn it into a song

I'm NOT a mechanic, and I have replaced my AC compressor on e65 745i yesterday. Since I've found no DIY's for this, so I had to figure things out as I went.
I'm posting this so some other poor soul who wants to do it himself can fair better than I did.

Mechanically my experience before this is Changing brakes, replacing waterpump, water valve and expansion valve.
On Difficulty Scale of 1-10 where 1 is Replacing a Dome light bulb and 10 rebuilding an engine, for me this was a 5.

TOOLS:
(Remember, you'll need metric sizes)

Obviously you'll need tools, so In this list I'm only going to list Critical ones, meaning I had to drive to Autozone 3 times to get this, otherwise
you cannot get any further.

- Extension for the wrench, long one, one not so long... At times I had to use both together to get reach
- Offset wrench 13mm
- Swivel socket adapter
- 27mm socket
- 6mm Allen bit.
- PAG ISO 46 Refrigerant oil
- Ramp (highly recommend vs having you car just jacked up)
- Rubber gloves
- Goggles