Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming

BMW Coding and Programming
Discuss coding options and features on your BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-01-2014, 04:00 AM
Breach Breach is offline
Registered User
Location: Brussels
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 18
Mein Auto: F10 520dA
Release handbrake with e-sys?

Guys is it possible to release the electromechanical handbrake with e-sys (f chassis)? If so what's the procedure? Or is this only possible with ISTA? Need to know to change brake pads. Ta
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
  #2  
Old 05-01-2014, 05:06 AM
milkyway's Avatar
milkyway milkyway is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: OWL, Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 847
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Helll!

Afaik only possible with ISTA.

CU Oliver
__________________
BMW M5 2013, Singapur grey, Merino graphit, B&O, 20" for every day
Jaguar XK8 Cabrio, 2006, black, 20" for the summer time
http://www.motor-talk.de/mitglieder/...&tab=fzprofile
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-01-2014, 10:05 AM
matg28 matg28 is offline
Registered User
Location: UK
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 57
Mein Auto: F10 520D M Sport 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by milkyway View Post
Helll!

Afaik only possible with ISTA.

CU Oliver

Correct - ISTA or Rheingold


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-01-2014, 12:56 PM
ap90500's Avatar
ap90500 ap90500 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,079
Mein Auto: F30 320d xDrive -14
You can also do it without tester. Remove hand brake motor from brake caliper (two bolts) and rotate brake piston with pliers until there is a clear endpoint. Then push piston to bottom and that's it. Of course you must remove the calipper before this.

You can also use tool32 (comes inside ediabas) but I don't know which job you should use. Ecu file is your handbrake control unit's file.

Last edited by ap90500; 05-01-2014 at 01:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-02-2014, 07:16 PM
gufemur gufemur is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: usa
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 170
Mein Auto: yoda
You don't need to remove the EMF actuator from the caliper. just get a pair of pliers and turn the piston clockwise. Workshop mode is not needed to perform rear brakes on the F10. If you don't think I'm a credible source, I'm a BMW shop foreman. I know what I'm talking about. Don't risk damaging the actuator by removing it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-02-2014, 10:52 PM
ap90500's Avatar
ap90500 ap90500 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,079
Mein Auto: F30 320d xDrive -14
I have only done it once to my F11. I was not able to rotate piston because of the high gear ratio between motor and piston axles, that's why I removed the motor. I really can't think how could you damage it when using common sense.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-03-2014, 12:54 AM
gufemur gufemur is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: usa
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 170
Mein Auto: yoda
I've seen it happen twice. Those little guys are pretty sensitive
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-03-2014, 01:43 AM
matg28 matg28 is offline
Registered User
Location: UK
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 57
Mein Auto: F10 520D M Sport 2013
Which means the software route is the safest way to go - near zero chance to strip gears, damage seals etc..,

The ISTA route is the official way to do it, and resets the EMF system properly.





Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-03-2014, 01:46 PM
gufemur gufemur is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: usa
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 170
Mein Auto: yoda
You won't strip any gears by doing it without ISTA. The repair instructions don't even tell you to do it that way. They tell you to use the special tool that spins in the caliper piston manually. It doesn't really matter how you do it, I just wouldn't take it off. Using ISTA is the easiest way if you don't have the special tool to spin the piston in with though.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-03-2014, 01:52 PM
gufemur gufemur is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: usa
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 170
Mein Auto: yoda
Click image for larger version

Name:	brakes.jpg
Views:	192
Size:	89.1 KB
ID:	437301

Last edited by gufemur; 05-03-2014 at 01:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-03-2014, 02:34 PM
ap90500's Avatar
ap90500 ap90500 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,079
Mein Auto: F30 320d xDrive -14
Quote:
Originally Posted by gufemur View Post
You won't strip any gears by doing it without ISTA. The repair instructions don't even tell you to do it that way. They tell you to use the special tool that spins in the caliper piston manually. It doesn't really matter how you do it, I just wouldn't take it off. Using ISTA is the easiest way if you don't have the special tool to spin the piston in with though.
Yes, I checked it from ISTA and it seems to be just like you said. Has it been like this from the beginning of production?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-03-2014, 02:38 PM
gufemur gufemur is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: usa
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 170
Mein Auto: yoda
No. They changed it once they released the tool. Very early on they told us to use ISTA and put the brakes in workshop mode.
Reply With Quote
Reply

See More Related BMW Stories


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2015 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms