Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming

BMW Coding and Programming
Discuss coding options and features on your BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-27-2015, 03:03 AM
BusyBox BusyBox is offline
Registered User
Location: Worldwide
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 38
Mein Auto: BMW F10 530D
TV Retrofit

Hi all,

I'm going to retrofit new generation TV-Module 2 ECE in my F10 with no TV from factory.

Is it enough to add 601 to SALPA-Element and TVM2 to HO-Wort from E-Sys and than VO code a few modules to make the retrofit as if it is done with ISTA-P and no E-SYS?

My questions is more about this TVM2 option that I need to add as HO-Wort, it defines that the module is TV-Module 2 and is capable of decoding MPEG4, right?

P.S. One more question popped up: what is the part number of the pins used for +12V wire that goes into connector behind the rear fuse holder?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Fuse_Holder_Rear.png
Views:	171
Size:	13.4 KB
ID:	506203  

Last edited by BusyBox; 04-27-2015 at 03:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
  #2  
Old 04-27-2015, 04:19 AM
BMWzone BMWzone is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Italy
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 178
Mein Auto: F10 530d
if I can give you some advice, not execute Retrofit, you need to replace and mount many components, as you have to change the CID (100%), wiring, remove roof to reach antenna.
Others have Kufatec, integrates perfectly, and works better.
__________________
F10 530d 0911
Retrofit 245, 248, 316, 2VB, 2NB, 337, 4M5, 416, 451/488-->456, 453, 465, 494, 496, NBT 610, 620, 6NR, 6WA & 6WB, 8TH
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-27-2015, 02:44 PM
BusyBox BusyBox is offline
Registered User
Location: Worldwide
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 38
Mein Auto: BMW F10 530D
Not that hard at all - tv module, support frame, a few power and optic cables, 5m fbas cable. The hardest part if you follow the oem way is the antenna diversity.
If anyone knows the pin part number, please help!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-27-2015, 02:53 PM
Thorsten Thorsten is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 111
Mein Auto: BMW F11
Hi,

Why is needed To change the CID?
As antenna, you can universal antenna...


Thorsten
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-27-2015, 03:04 PM
BMWzone BMWzone is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Italy
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 178
Mein Auto: F10 530d
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorsten View Post
Hi,

Why is needed To change the CID?
As antenna, you can universal antenna...


Thorsten
Pardon, isn't necessary...
confused one part with another (headunit with or without DAB)
__________________
F10 530d 0911
Retrofit 245, 248, 316, 2VB, 2NB, 337, 4M5, 416, 451/488-->456, 453, 465, 494, 496, NBT 610, 620, 6NR, 6WA & 6WB, 8TH
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-27-2015, 05:40 PM
esmond esmond is offline
Registered User
Location: Singapore
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 19
Mein Auto: 740i F01
May I know the part number of the new TV module? Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BusyBox View Post
Hi all,

I'm going to retrofit new generation TV-Module 2 ECE in my F10 with no TV from factory.

Is it enough to add 601 to SALPA-Element and TVM2 to HO-Wort from E-Sys and than VO code a few modules to make the retrofit as if it is done with ISTA-P and no E-SYS?

My questions is more about this TVM2 option that I need to add as HO-Wort, it defines that the module is TV-Module 2 and is capable of decoding MPEG4, right?

P.S. One more question popped up: what is the part number of the pins used for +12V wire that goes into connector behind the rear fuse holder?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-30-2015, 01:16 AM
standa's Avatar
standa standa is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: B.M.W.
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 215
Mein Auto: X3 F25 M
Guys dont make it so difficult, this is very easy retrofit. Put module in your car, connect it to MOST and power source, run CVBS to CIC, add 601 to FA and code CIC and Combox (if you have 6FL or 6NR).
Then just check in CIC your AUX for 6FL or 6NR that they are right coded. Yes, you can FDL code it to receive mpeg4.

Thats all you need. My module worked even without amplifiers and orig antennas, it is very depending on signal quality in your location. I just used some old chinese antennas I found home and I have nice and stabile picture when driving even 130 km/h. (they are not active).

But I can recommend antennas from ampire.de - they sell them with fakra connectors, they are active and powered directly from module over fakras with 5V.

Diversity - thats mean module is using two antennas (they should be sticked on rear side window (right and left), diversity means that module is using signals from both in order to create a best stream out.

Last edited by standa; 04-30-2015 at 01:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-16-2015, 06:07 AM
sampel sampel is online now
Registered User
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 16
Mein Auto: BMW F11
Quote:
Originally Posted by standa View Post
Guys dont make it so difficult, this is very easy retrofit. Put module in your car, connect it to MOST and power source, run CVBS to CIC, add 601 to FA and code CIC and Combox (if you have 6FL or 6NR).
Then just check in CIC your AUX for 6FL or 6NR that they are right coded. Yes, you can FDL code it to receive mpeg4.
Why is there need to run CVBS wiring to CIC? Doesn't MOST carry video, audio and data?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-16-2015, 07:30 AM
CoolerLutz CoolerLutz is offline
Registered User
Location: Switzerland
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 61
Mein Auto: BMW 520d
No, MOST is responsible for Audio data only.

I'm right in the middle of retrofitting TV in my 2014 F10. TV module and wiring are already installed.
Now I have to change my HU to have the TV input channels available. The only thing I'm looking for are the part number of the connectors (TV-module and antenna).

Does anybody know that numbers ?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____
520dA LCI M-Sport

retrofitted: 248, 319, 3AG, 430, 5AG, 5DP, 5DL, 601, 696, 6WB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-16-2015, 08:35 AM
sampel sampel is online now
Registered User
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 16
Mein Auto: BMW F11
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolerLutz View Post
No, MOST is responsible for Audio data only.

I'm right in the middle of retrofitting TV in my 2014 F10. TV module and wiring are already installed.
Now I have to change my HU to have the TV input channels available. The only thing I'm looking for are the part number of the connectors (TV-module and antenna).

Does anybody know that numbers ?
I'm also planning to retrofit TV, but it sounds more and more complicated.. Why do you need to change HU? Is it because you have NBT? Are you installing OEM TV module or some aftermarket part?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-16-2015, 11:34 AM
CoolerLutz CoolerLutz is offline
Registered User
Location: Switzerland
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 61
Mein Auto: BMW 520d
I want to have only original supported euippment in my car :-). Therefore i got an orginal BMW TV Modul and did the wiring according to ISTA including MOST, FBAS and Power.
The only thing i still need are the antennas.

There are some different HUs from factory depending on your cars euippment level.
- one version without DAB and TV
- one version with TV
- one version with DAB
Reason for that are cost containment at BMW, as usual.

In my case i have got the first one and my HU is missing the FBAS Connector A42*3B . So i have to replace my HU.
When i try to code my HU with the 601 option in the VO my HU refused coding.

I'll get new HU next week. Then i post my experience after putting them in.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____
520dA LCI M-Sport

retrofitted: 248, 319, 3AG, 430, 5AG, 5DP, 5DL, 601, 696, 6WB
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-16-2015, 12:31 PM
chris88 chris88 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: switzerland
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 110
Mein Auto: bmw x3 F25
Hi

Are you sure, you need a new HU?
i have in my old F25 with CIC HU also install the original TV Modul, and it works without the A42*3B.
I connect the FBAS to the A42*1B Pin 18, 28 and Masse 27. With Coding the CIC it works.

Now, in my actual F25 with NBT, i have also install the original TV, and this has the *3 connector.

Greetings, Chris
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-16-2015, 11:18 PM
Thorsten Thorsten is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 111
Mein Auto: BMW F11
HI,

CIC and NBT are different, for NBT, you need connector A42*3B, this are the FBAS connector for TV.


Thorsten
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-17-2015, 02:09 AM
CoolerLutz CoolerLutz is offline
Registered User
Location: Switzerland
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 61
Mein Auto: BMW 520d
All the 3 FBAS ports at connector A42*1B are allocated due to my equiment level.
According to ISTA the TV function is connected to A42*3B on NBT vehicles.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____
520dA LCI M-Sport

retrofitted: 248, 319, 3AG, 430, 5AG, 5DP, 5DL, 601, 696, 6WB
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-17-2015, 02:28 AM
Thorsten Thorsten is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 111
Mein Auto: BMW F11
Lutz,

the TV function is ever connected to A42*3B, also if the car comes without equipment like rear view camera and others.


Thorsten
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-17-2015, 05:02 AM
CoolerLutz CoolerLutz is offline
Registered User
Location: Switzerland
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 61
Mein Auto: BMW 520d
Hi Thorsten,

the only one thing I don't know at moment are what kind of connectors I need for the antennas from TV module to the Sperrkreis modukes ?

Do you have an idea for me ?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____
520dA LCI M-Sport

retrofitted: 248, 319, 3AG, 430, 5AG, 5DP, 5DL, 601, 696, 6WB
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-17-2015, 05:23 AM
Thorsten Thorsten is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 111
Mein Auto: BMW F11
You have installed new antenna diversity?
For connectors, I have no partnumber, but I will look later to ETK...


Thorsten
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-17-2015, 07:19 AM
CoolerLutz CoolerLutz is offline
Registered User
Location: Switzerland
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 61
Mein Auto: BMW 520d
No I didn't install any other diversity module yet. The were pre configured cable available but in the meantime there are no longer available for order.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____
520dA LCI M-Sport

retrofitted: 248, 319, 3AG, 430, 5AG, 5DP, 5DL, 601, 696, 6WB
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-18-2015, 12:07 PM
CoolerLutz CoolerLutz is offline
Registered User
Location: Switzerland
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 61
Mein Auto: BMW 520d
Hi Thorsten, did you founf the appropriate part number for the antenna connectors.

Cheers Lutz
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____
520dA LCI M-Sport

retrofitted: 248, 319, 3AG, 430, 5AG, 5DP, 5DL, 601, 696, 6WB
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-03-2016, 01:37 PM
Thorsten Thorsten is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 111
Mein Auto: BMW F11
No, I am sorry.
Sorry for delay and I wasnt able to find the parts on ETK, but I made a request to my dealer, at moment without success.


Thorsten
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 02-07-2016, 02:45 AM
CoolerLutz CoolerLutz is offline
Registered User
Location: Switzerland
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 61
Mein Auto: BMW 520d
I'vv done the TV Retrofit in my F10 LCI with NBT.
I dont use the orginal antennas in the car.
I have got two Ampire ANT600 antennas instead and works perfect.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____
520dA LCI M-Sport

retrofitted: 248, 319, 3AG, 430, 5AG, 5DP, 5DL, 601, 696, 6WB
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-07-2016, 02:48 AM
Thorsten Thorsten is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 111
Mein Auto: BMW F11
Where have you installed the Ampire antennas?


Thorsten
Reply With Quote
Reply

See More Related BMW Stories


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2015 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms