Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming

BMW Coding and Programming
Discuss coding options and features on your BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-26-2015, 04:48 AM
bjorneoen bjorneoen is offline
Registered User
Location: Norway
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 9
Mein Auto: BMW E87
Map update method/procedure for CIC without CAN-adapter/script activated CIC

For people who have retrofitted CIC, and uses script activation to activate CIC and for some reason can't (like my self) or wont use CAN-adapter, this is a method to update your maps:

I have retrofitted a CIC into my 2006 BMW E87, and cause its a retrofit the donor vin and my original vin is not matching..
The CIC is connected to the CAN-bus (can_low and can_high) and gets VIN from CAS module.
When updating maps, the CIC will ask for a FSC code for that map that matches the VIN it gets from CAS.
Since we generate FSC code from the 1B file in the CIC we get a code that works for the donor vin number.
The VIN from CAS doesn't match the donor VIN in CIC (1B file), and therefore it wont accept the FSC code generated by the 1B file..
To update maps, most people can then connect a CAN filter that tricks the CIC in believing that the VIN of the car is the same as the VIN in the CIC, and then FSC code will work.
That will work regardless if CIC is script activated or not!

For my car, a CAN filter didnt work... and that does that i can't get the FSC code to work either!
Therefore we need to stop CIC from getting VIN from CAS. If CIC doesn't get any VIN from CAS module, then it will use the VIN it was originally programmed with instead (donor vin), and then the FSC code will work!!

To stop the CIC from getting VIN from CAS, i did the following:
1. Disconnect battery
2. Cut the CAN bus signal wires 5-10cm (or more) from quadlock connection (pin 9 green CAN_low wire and 11 orange/green CAN_high wire), and isolate the wires coming from the rest of the car towards the quadlock connector so they don't touch anything.
3. Release the CAN bus signal wires from CID screen connector (pin 5 orange/green and 6 green wire), and isolated them.
4. Release the CAN bus signal wires from iDrive controller connector (pin 3 orange/green wire and 4 green wire), and isolated them.
5. Wire up new CAN bus signal wire from CID screen connector pin 5 to the orange/green CAN_high wire from quadlock connector pin 11 behind CIC.
6. Wire up new CAN bus signal wire from CID screen connector pin 6 to the green CAN_low wire from quadlock connector pin 9 behind CIC.
7. Wire up new CAN bus signal wire from iDrive controller pin 3 to the orange/green CAN_high wire from quadlock connector pin 11 behind CIC.
8. Wire up new CAN bus signal wire from iDrive controller pin 4 to the green CAN_low wire from quadlock connector pin 9 behind CIC.
9. Connect quadlock connector back into the CIC.
10. Connect battery

Now we have made the CAN bus signals go directly between CID, CIC and iDrive controller, and the CIC doesn't have any communication with CAS or any other modules other than CID and iDrive controller through CAN bus signals. That makes the CIC use its donor VIN instead of the VIN reported from CAS which it used earlier when they were communicating.
The CIC no longer has a kl15 signal from CAS, and therefore it won't recognize ignition anymore so only CD/multimedia and Radio will be available and the rest of the menu items will be grey and disabled.

11. Extract map data onto USB, first pkgdbi folder and config file from USB1 folder.
12. Push the volume knob to "turn" the CIC on.
13. Connected USB drive containt map data to USB port in glovebox compartment.
14. CIC notices the update data and asks if you want to start update.
15. Then CIC as usual asks for FSC code, and then i entered the FSC code generated from the 1B file (donor vin).
16. CIC accepts the FSC code since its using the donor VIN instead of CAR (CAS VIN).
17. CIC starts updating and asks for USB 2 and USB 3 when needed.

NOTE!
The CIC will turn of screen after 10-15 minutes, and then you need to push the volume knob to get it back on. But when you turn it back on, the screen will enter the main menu instead of the update process screen..
No worries! The update is still processing, but you can't see the process anymore, but its working in the background as you can here from the CIC Harddrive.
When the CIC asks for USB2/3, the update window will automatically show itself and you can then see the update process again!
The screen will also enter the process screen when the update is complete.
When the update is complete, the CIC asks for restart, and after restart i complete, then you can reverse the wiring back to normal!

Enjoy!

Used it 26th of may 2015, and i now have 2015-2 Europe West map

NOTE:
For some strange reason, using this method to update maps, makes the two functions "Satelitt images" and "Perspectiv mode in 3D" in map settings unavailable! Doesn't know why, but it just happens..

So i can confirm that using the FSTool to "Check" FSC codes, that makes the FSC codes temporarily accepted allows updating maps with a much easier way for script activated CICs Tested, and confirmed! And "Satelit images" and "Perspectiv mode in 3D" also works with this method

Last edited by bjorneoen; 06-04-2015 at 04:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
  #2  
Old 05-26-2015, 11:06 PM
danyro danyro is offline
Registered User
Location: Bucharest
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 33
Mein Auto: X1 E84 x18d
hi BJ

thanks for sharing this. i was looking for such info.

Its quite tricky to cut wires every time when you want to update maps. but in worse case scenario..it's worth....
good news is that we have an workaround :-)

Did you try to change VIN also in CIC?
but...what would be the outcome if you just change VIN in CAS/NFRM during this process and afterwards revert it back? VIN can be written into these 2 modules?As I know, CAS is related to EWS...if yes, what would be the "consequences"?

Last edited by danyro; 05-26-2015 at 11:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-27-2015, 11:54 AM
danyro danyro is offline
Registered User
Location: Bucharest
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 33
Mein Auto: X1 E84 x18d
tried your workaround and it worked :-) just the perspective map 3 d is greyed out...europe EST premium 2015-2
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-27-2015, 03:52 PM
bjorneoen bjorneoen is offline
Registered User
Location: Norway
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 9
Mein Auto: BMW E87
Quote:
Originally Posted by danyro View Post
hi BJ

thanks for sharing this. i was looking for such info.

Its quite tricky to cut wires every time when you want to update maps. but in worse case scenario..it's worth....
good news is that we have an workaround :-)

Did you try to change VIN also in CIC?
but...what would be the outcome if you just change VIN in CAS/NFRM during this process and afterwards revert it back? VIN can be written into these 2 modules?As I know, CAS is related to EWS...if yes, what would be the "consequences"?
Yeah i know. Its a long and complicated process but as long as it works, i believe it's worth it
I haven't tried changing VIN in neither CIC or CAS/NFRM. Changing VIN in CIC is not so easy, cause you have to flash it with different VIN to change it. I know you can change VIN with tool32, but that is just the coding VIN and will not work with FSC codes.
Yeah, you can change CAS and NFRM VIN, but i don't know if it's a good idea :O
Changing in NFRM, doesn't affect anything, but changing in CAS may have consequences regarding DME, EWS, etc. Don't really know, but would be interesting to try

Quote:
Originally Posted by danyro View Post
tried your workaround and it worked :-) just the perspective map 3 d is greyed out...europe EST premium 2015-2
Nice, glad it worked Got Europe WEST Premium 2015-2 yesterday myself, nice to have new maps!
The perspective view 3D is also grey on mine.. it has nothing to do with update method, just something to do with type of map My perspective view 3D has been grey in my CIC with original 2009 maps, 2014 maps and 2015 maps.. I don't know how to activate it, or if it is possible on our map!

Last edited by bjorneoen; 05-27-2015 at 03:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-27-2015, 11:54 PM
danyro danyro is offline
Registered User
Location: Bucharest
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 33
Mein Auto: X1 E84 x18d
yeap..its kind tricky to change cas's vin.

i am waiting for my ICOM to arrive next week and i will upgrade firmware. during this process, when winkfp will ask for vin, i will enter my vin.

i saw that you already flashed your cic with icom, what vin did you enter before flashing? yours or cic's vin?

maybe a small diy with for flashing cic would be a good idea what ZUSB did you select in winkfp for 63?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-28-2015, 10:56 PM
ap90500's Avatar
ap90500 ap90500 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,059
Mein Auto: F30 320d xDrive -14
Changing CIC's FSC VIN will not solve anything, as the FSC codes are created for donor VIN. I would try changing CAS VIN, as if it can be changed, it can also be reverted back. Someone at bmwcoding forum actually wrote that he changed CAS VIN without problems. After map update I would revert original VIN back to CAS, as wrong VIN maybe interferes with CBS. Also it is possible that EWS must be re-aligned, this requires Rheingold. I still don't think that EWS will be a problem

I am talking about E-series here.

Last edited by ap90500; 05-28-2015 at 11:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-29-2015, 02:17 AM
danyro danyro is offline
Registered User
Location: Bucharest
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 33
Mein Auto: X1 E84 x18d
@ap - you play hard :-) Yes, it should not be an issue but you never know.
would be an interesting outcome if this trick will work.

Please let us know afterwards..

ps: e series in place here
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-29-2015, 02:28 AM
ap90500's Avatar
ap90500 ap90500 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,059
Mein Auto: F30 320d xDrive -14
Well, I have e-series test bench which has CAS, key slot and JBBF. I can try to change VIN.

About Kombi. If Kombi and CAS VIN numbers do not match, there is tampering dot on the KOMBI display, mileage won't sync and CBS is not working correctly. This is not a problem, as you can also insert different KOMBI (wring VIN) in to a car and then install original KOMBI back, no harm done.

I don't think that EWS will be a problem either, because it is using ISN codes, not VIN.

As I wrote, somebody on bmwcoding already did this, and his CIC was activated properly.

Last edited by ap90500; 05-29-2015 at 02:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-29-2015, 02:37 AM
danyro danyro is offline
Registered User
Location: Bucharest
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 33
Mein Auto: X1 E84 x18d
Ah..ok then. You have a test environment which is much better.

You are right about ews etc. You know, in theory all are working, but in practice..

Pls keep us posted, i am very eager to find the answer
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-04-2015, 04:11 AM
bjorneoen bjorneoen is offline
Registered User
Location: Norway
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 9
Mein Auto: BMW E87
Updated maps with another method now and "Satelitt images" and "Perspectiv mode in 3D" is back!

For some strange reason, using my rewiring method to update maps, makes the two functions "Satelitt images" and "Perspectiv mode in 3D" in map settings unavailable! Doesn't know why, but it just happens..

So i can confirm that using the FSTool to "Check" FSC codes, that makes the FSC codes temporarily accepted allows updating maps with a much easier way for script activated CICs Tested, and confirmed! And "Satelit images" and "Perspectiv mode in 3D" also works with this method
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-07-2015, 11:01 PM
larry_bml larry_bml is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Romania
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 165
Mein Auto: 320dA e90
Well done, can you be a little more specific with FSTool solution? Maybe you can tell where we can find FSTool and some steps to follow.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-07-2015, 11:02 PM
danyro danyro is offline
Registered User
Location: Bucharest
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 33
Mein Auto: X1 E84 x18d
it is available on internet...just google fstool..

Last edited by danyro; 07-07-2015 at 11:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-17-2015, 01:25 PM
_tb_ _tb_ is offline
Registered User
Location: Denmark
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1
Mein Auto: 325D E91
Quote:
Originally Posted by danyro View Post
it is available on internet...just google fstool..
Yes, that is the tool -but what is the process of using it in order to regain 3d perspective?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-16-2016, 09:30 PM
bimmerbingo bimmerbingo is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: OR
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 152
Mein Auto: 2015 435i Coupe
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjorneoen View Post
Updated maps with another method now and "Satelitt images" and "Perspectiv mode in 3D" is back!

For some strange reason, using my rewiring method to update maps, makes the two functions "Satelitt images" and "Perspectiv mode in 3D" in map settings unavailable! Doesn't know why, but it just happens..

So i can confirm that using the FSTool to "Check" FSC codes, that makes the FSC codes temporarily accepted allows updating maps with a much easier way for script activated CICs Tested, and confirmed! And "Satelit images" and "Perspectiv mode in 3D" also works with this method
I have executed the CHECK_FSC job successfully, but my code gets rejected (fsc file has donor VIN)

Any idea why/what to do? Code for 2016-premium maps was generated with fsc.exe a.hex 0x2d 0x08 <7-LETTER-VIN>


UPDATE: I figured it out.
__________________
2015, 435 x-drive
2015, 328 x-drive
Sold: 2007, 328i E92

Last edited by bimmerbingo; 01-16-2016 at 10:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-17-2016, 04:55 AM
remko remko is offline
Registered User
Location: Netherlands
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 51
Mein Auto: F11
Wasn't there a method using a shell script to create dummy FSC files on startup ?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-17-2016, 09:14 AM
bimmerbingo bimmerbingo is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: OR
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 152
Mein Auto: 2015 435i Coupe
Quote:
Originally Posted by remko View Post
Wasn't there a method using a shell script to create dummy FSC files on startup ?
My CIC is already script activated and had the fsc loaded, the problem is that the CIC came from another car and its VIN didn't match the one in CAS, so the map code generated for the CIC was rejected.

The solution is to use fstool and temporarily deactivate the VIN check so that the code gets accepted.

My problem was incorrect values for fsc.exe parameters, I was able to update maps successfully last night.
__________________
2015, 435 x-drive
2015, 328 x-drive
Sold: 2007, 328i E92

Last edited by bimmerbingo; 01-17-2016 at 09:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-16-2016, 07:54 AM
tolassssss tolassssss is offline
Registered User
Location: Portugal
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 22
Mein Auto: BMW 530d
any one can help me , with script activation??? i need activate navigation
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-16-2016, 10:36 AM
larry_bml larry_bml is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Romania
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 165
Mein Auto: 320dA e90
I can help you. PM me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

See More Related BMW Stories


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2015 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms