Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > X Series > X3 E83 (2004 - 2010)

X3 E83 (2004 - 2010)
Talk about the E83 BMW X3 in this forum!

Old 08-21-2012, 01:52 AM

Mein Auto: BMW X3 2.5i Sport
04 X3 rough clutch

Hi,
I'm new to bimmerfest so please help me out. I have a 2004 X3 2.5 Sport 6 speed manual with 55k. Gear change from 1st to 2nd and then up into 3rd is often rough, with a little 'crunch' going into 2nd unless I nurse it through, and then some real resistance into 3rd. The bite point is generally fine, and I haven't really noticed any whining from the gearbox. The problem varies in severity from day to day, and on occasion I find no problem at all. What is notable however, is that the problem is generally worse when the engine is hot.
I'm thinking it could be hydraulic problems, but don't know enough about the car to say for sure. A local non BMW garage has said it needs a complete clutch at 1500, and I have said "leave it with me". I'm not convinced a complete clutch is the answer, but would appreciate any views or expert opinion from you all.
Here's hoping!

Toby
Ads by Google
Old 08-21-2012, 07:06 AM
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest

Mein Auto: '06 X3