Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming

BMW Coding and Programming
Discuss coding options and features on your BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2015, 06:08 PM
99Z3 99Z3 is offline
Registered User
Location: ETenn
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 52
Mein Auto: Z3
Which Ones to Get

Need some help here please. I am about to acquire a IBM T43 computer. It has 2G of ram and a 155 G hard drive. Windows Xp Pro on it. I own a '99 Z3 and I am looking to buy either an X3 or X5. I would like to know what programs would be best to install on the IBM for these vehicles and also where is the best place to download them. I am not a total dummy with computers, but I am not a whiz either! Help and pointing me in the right direction would be greatly appreciated!

Doc
__________________
Retired

Reply With Quote
Advertisement
  #2  
Old 01-24-2015, 01:08 AM
ap90500's Avatar
ap90500 ap90500 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 739
Mein Auto: F30 320d xDrive -14
Which X3 or X5?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2015, 05:36 AM
99Z3 99Z3 is offline
Registered User
Location: ETenn
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 52
Mein Auto: Z3
X5 is what it is looking like I will be getting.
__________________
Retired

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2015, 05:41 AM
ap90500's Avatar
ap90500 ap90500 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 739
Mein Auto: F30 320d xDrive -14
There are three different chassis models for X5, which need different equipment

Anyways your Z3 needs ICOM- or ADS-interface, bmw standard tools, sp-daten and ISTA Rheingold.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-24-2015, 05:51 AM
99Z3 99Z3 is offline
Registered User
Location: ETenn
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 52
Mein Auto: Z3
Thank you for that, I will look them up and read what I can about them.
__________________
Retired

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-24-2015, 05:57 AM
99Z3 99Z3 is offline
Registered User
Location: ETenn
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 52
Mein Auto: Z3
Ok, So I am looking at program wise, needing at least INPA and Ediabas, using the 20 pin plug for the Z3. Am looking at an E70 series X5. Will I need do download NCS Expert and Dummy as well?
__________________
Retired

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-24-2015, 06:09 AM
ap90500's Avatar
ap90500 ap90500 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 739
Mein Auto: F30 320d xDrive -14
Bmw standard tools include ediabas, inpa, ncs expert, tool32 and winkfp. These are good for both Z3 and E70. You can use kline/dcan-cable with E70 but as I already wrote, Z3 has ADS bus and requires ICOM or ADS interface. ADS interface requires real COM port in laptop. You can access some modules with kline/dcan-cable but not all of them.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-24-2015, 06:18 AM
99Z3 99Z3 is offline
Registered User
Location: ETenn
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 52
Mein Auto: Z3
I was researching about the Rheingold and I don't believe that the T43 IBM computer that I am getting is going to be good enough for that program.

"It is recommended to use Lenovo ThinkPad: T61, T400, T410, T420, T430, X61, X200, X201, X220 X230 and other laptop with Intel chipset, such as I3 I5 / I7 series."
__________________
Retired

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-24-2015, 06:19 AM
ap90500's Avatar
ap90500 ap90500 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 739
Mein Auto: F30 320d xDrive -14
That's true. You can still use Inpa for diagnosis.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-24-2015, 06:41 AM
99Z3 99Z3 is offline
Registered User
Location: ETenn
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 52
Mein Auto: Z3
For the Z3, I will use the 20 pin for all access except for the ABS system, which will require that I use a full ADS interface. Is this correct? My understanding now is that the Zed uses the L line instead of the K line. Am I correct here?
__________________
Retired

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-24-2015, 06:42 AM
99Z3 99Z3 is offline
Registered User
Location: ETenn
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 52
Mein Auto: Z3
Quote:
Originally Posted by ap90500 View Post
That's true. You can still use Inpa for diagnosis.
Awesome!
__________________
Retired

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-24-2015, 06:48 AM
ap90500's Avatar
ap90500 ap90500 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 739
Mein Auto: F30 320d xDrive -14
Some modules use L-line which requires ADS. I think that there were two or three modules in my Z3 that requires ADS (or ICOM which I use). The car is currently at winter storage so I can't confirm it.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-24-2015, 06:49 AM
99Z3 99Z3 is offline
Registered User
Location: ETenn
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 52
Mein Auto: Z3
What OBDII adaptor should I get? I don't want the cheap crap.
__________________
Retired

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-24-2015, 06:51 AM
99Z3 99Z3 is offline
Registered User
Location: ETenn
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 52
Mein Auto: Z3
I have not looked at the ICOM yet. Just the ADS so far. I may be slow but i am getting there!
__________________
Retired

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-24-2015, 06:52 AM
99Z3 99Z3 is offline
Registered User
Location: ETenn
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 52
Mein Auto: Z3
http://www.obd2be.com/best-quality-v...com-p-482.html Would that be something in the lines of what I should be looking at?
__________________
Retired

Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-24-2015, 07:19 AM
milkyway's Avatar
milkyway milkyway is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: OWL, Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 551
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Hello!

Too expensive. This one is absolutely enough.
http://www.autoobd2.de/wholesale/ico...c-for-bmw.html
Sorry, but the link is in german language.

CU Oliver
__________________
BMW M5 2013, Singapur grey, Merino graphit, B&O, 20" for every day
Jaguar XK8 Cabrio, 2006, black, 20" for the summer time
http://www.motor-talk.de/mitglieder/...&tab=fzprofile
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-24-2015, 07:28 AM
99Z3 99Z3 is offline
Registered User
Location: ETenn
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 52
Mein Auto: Z3
Danke milkyway!
__________________
Retired

Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-24-2015, 07:44 AM
99Z3 99Z3 is offline
Registered User
Location: ETenn
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 52
Mein Auto: Z3
Ok, been doing some reading. This is helping me out to understand which direction I need to go. As I have learned, ICOM software is going to need about 4G of memory with a large hard drive, something that the T43 does not have.

In that respect, ICOM replaces DIS and Progman, is this correct. So if i don't want to go the old school way of INPA/Dis, then instead of buying the T43, I should be looking at a Duo Core Windows Seven computer instead.

Am I on the correct lines in my thinking here?
__________________
Retired

Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-24-2015, 07:55 AM
ap90500's Avatar
ap90500 ap90500 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 739
Mein Auto: F30 320d xDrive -14
You can use ICOM with standard tools. Those memory and processor requirements are for ISTA/D (Rheingold) and ISTA/P, which have replaced DIS and Progman. You can't use ICOM with DIS and Program though. If you want modern system with dealer tools, then buy ICOM and a newer laptop.

Last edited by ap90500; 01-24-2015 at 07:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-24-2015, 08:36 AM
milkyway's Avatar
milkyway milkyway is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: OWL, Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 551
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Hello!

And then you can do nearly everything: ISTA/P, ISTA/D, INPA, Ediabas ............

CU Oliver
__________________
BMW M5 2013, Singapur grey, Merino graphit, B&O, 20" for every day
Jaguar XK8 Cabrio, 2006, black, 20" for the summer time
http://www.motor-talk.de/mitglieder/...&tab=fzprofile
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 01-24-2015, 08:51 AM
99Z3 99Z3 is offline
Registered User
Location: ETenn
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 52
Mein Auto: Z3
Ok, so I can use the ICOM with INPA and NCS Expert. Using StandardTools or ITools Radar. These are the things that it appears that I need to learn about..
__________________
Retired

Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-24-2015, 08:53 AM
99Z3 99Z3 is offline
Registered User
Location: ETenn
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 52
Mein Auto: Z3
Yes Milkyway, I am getting the picture now that the best way to approach this is with the ICOM, I have a lot of reading ahead of me yet. Not hard thing to do for a 58 y/o man with CRS!
__________________
Retired

Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-24-2015, 09:41 AM
milkyway's Avatar
milkyway milkyway is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: OWL, Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 551
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Hello!

INPA & Co. connect via Ediabas settings. Here you have to use iToolRadar or EasyConnect to reserve the ICOM ip. ISTA/P and ISTA/D (aka Rheingold) connect directly via ICOM to the car.

Mate, you are only 10 years older. That's nothing to worry about.
It's of course a lot to read but it will make fun - for sure.

CU Oliver
__________________
BMW M5 2013, Singapur grey, Merino graphit, B&O, 20" for every day
Jaguar XK8 Cabrio, 2006, black, 20" for the summer time
http://www.motor-talk.de/mitglieder/...&tab=fzprofile
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-24-2015, 05:43 PM
99Z3 99Z3 is offline
Registered User
Location: ETenn
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 52
Mein Auto: Z3
I have just read that ISTA/D latest version will run just fine on the Windows XP machine that has only 2G of memory.. This is sounding better. I can see that I should use a external hard drive to ensure that there is enough space.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Rheingold-BM..._Tools&vxp=mtr
__________________
Retired


Last edited by 99Z3; 01-24-2015 at 06:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-25-2015, 05:03 AM
milkyway's Avatar
milkyway milkyway is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: OWL, Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 551
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Hello!

Please don't pay for things you can get for free.

CU Oliver
__________________
BMW M5 2013, Singapur grey, Merino graphit, B&O, 20" for every day
Jaguar XK8 Cabrio, 2006, black, 20" for the summer time
http://www.motor-talk.de/mitglieder/...&tab=fzprofile
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms