Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 7 Series / 8 Series > 7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008)

7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008)
Discussion pertaining to the flagship BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-02-2012, 08:23 AM
wjjklj's Avatar
wjjklj wjjklj is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Louisville, Kentucky USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,586
Mein Auto: 2009 750i
Need some help with error codes

Hey everyone,

I came out to my car (2004 745i) the other day after work and the car started but immediately the AC shut off and I got the Transmission Failsafe Message. This happened 2 days in a row and I just turned the car off and restarted. The car was fine after. I pulled the following codes:

9C64 - I know I need a new AUC Sensor

931D - over voltage / under voltage (is this the alternator or the power module being bad?)

5014 - not sure?

A158 - not sure?

A161 - not sure?

I have a new BMW battery that was registered. I have replaced the integrated supply module. I am wondering if the codes support replacing the power supply module or the alternator? When I am in the hidden menu the alternator shows between 13.8 and 13.9 volts. This should be good I think. The transmission was replaced under warranty and only has about 20k miles on it. The car has 85k miles. Based on these symptoms, do you have any suggestions? Thanks in advance.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
  #2  
Old 09-02-2012, 08:26 AM
wjjklj's Avatar
wjjklj wjjklj is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Louisville, Kentucky USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,586
Mein Auto: 2009 750i
Here are some screenshots with Dashsoft:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1346599496.791881.jpg
Views:	171
Size:	83.2 KB
ID:	340028   Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1346599525.255426.jpg
Views:	148
Size:	77.5 KB
ID:	340029   Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1346599549.169771.jpg
Views:	140
Size:	83.1 KB
ID:	340030   Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1346599577.506550.jpg
Views:	122
Size:	84.8 KB
ID:	340031  
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-02-2012, 10:06 AM
bayerisheteknik bayerisheteknik is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: naples,fl
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 535
Mein Auto: ...
i got question...

i have scanners..nothing shows up...all systems check ok

idrive system check...all systems ok]

when i go to hidden menu on dash and read faut codes this is what shows up...i have no check engine light on or anything of that nature..

did some research on internet..nothing turns out

here are few examples:

0931C 21 008 59AE 7B

1A3BD 20 000 5D3F 7C

29327 20 000 5D3F 7B

3A3BA 20 000 53DF 6E

there were couple more codes...anyone knows how to decode this??
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-02-2012, 10:26 AM
wjjklj's Avatar
wjjklj wjjklj is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Louisville, Kentucky USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,586
Mein Auto: 2009 750i
Quote:
Originally Posted by bayerisheteknik View Post
i got question...

i have scanners..nothing shows up...all systems check ok

idrive system check...all systems ok]

when i go to hidden menu on dash and read faut codes this is what shows up...i have no check engine light on or anything of that nature..

did some research on internet..nothing turns out

here are few examples:

0931C 21 008 59AE 7B

1A3BD 20 000 5D3F 7C

29327 20 000 5D3F 7B

3A3BA 20 000 53DF 6E

there were couple more codes...anyone knows how to decode this??
I have not seen these codes before. I would try clearing all DTC codes with your scanner. Then when you go into hidden menu on the car it should say 0 faults. Drive it for a few days and see if the codes return. These cars produce shadow errors which happen for a second and then seem to go away. Contact member PAPER if the codes reappear. He knows pretty much what most codes mean on the E65/E66.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-02-2012, 10:44 AM
7Figurez's Avatar
7Figurez 7Figurez is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Virginia
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 260
Mein Auto: 2005 745I
I noticed in the Second picture you posted of the EGS module the VIN and Mileage is not being reported. That is not the real issue here, but the VIN should be present in all modules. The issue I see is the over/under voltage error you are receiving. The alternator is attached to the bus system and is controlled by the power module in the trunk. If the two bus systems cannot communicate with each other you will have these types of errors in the system. Do you have driveability issues with the car, IE. Transmission shifts, rough Idle, poor performance?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-02-2012, 11:03 AM
wjjklj's Avatar
wjjklj wjjklj is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Louisville, Kentucky USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,586
Mein Auto: 2009 750i
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7Figurez View Post
I noticed in the Second picture you posted of the EGS module the VIN and Mileage is not being reported. That is not the real issue here, but the VIN should be present in all modules. The issue I see is the over/under voltage error you are receiving. The alternator is attached to the bus system and is controlled by the power module in the trunk. If the two bus systems cannot communicate with each other you will have these types of errors in the system. Do you have driveability issues with the car, IE. Transmission shifts, rough Idle, poor performance?
The vin and mileage does not show up on every single module in Dashsoft. Should it ? I don't know but it doesn't. I have owned the car since 30k and none of the modules have ever been replaced. The alternator is also original. I have no drive ability issues. Fan motor slows down at times on the AC. Engine runs fine and shifts fine. I do the transmission reset trick Everytime I get fuel. Transmission shifts fine.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-02-2012, 11:13 AM
7Figurez's Avatar
7Figurez 7Figurez is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Virginia
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 260
Mein Auto: 2005 745I
Quote:
Originally Posted by wjjklj View Post
The vin and mileage does not show up on every single module in Dashsoft. Should it ? I don't know but it doesn't. I have owned the car since 30k and none of the modules have ever been replaced. The alternator is also original. I have no drive ability issues. Fan motor slows down at times on the AC. Engine runs fine and shifts fine. I do the transmission reset trick Everytime I get fuel. Transmission shifts fine.

I have never used the Dashsoft software before,I know in INPA and tool32 it shows the VIN for every module. The power module will slow down the AC motor due to an under voltage situation. In INPA you can enter the Power module and look at the voltage for all parts of the system including the alternator output, I would take a look at that first. I would then take a look at your Central Gateway Module for errors, this module is the gateway between the Power train system and the bus systems. If this module is faulty the power module will be unable to communicate with the alternator thus giving you under/over voltage scenario.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-02-2012, 11:56 AM
bayerisheteknik bayerisheteknik is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: naples,fl
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 535
Mein Auto: ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by wjjklj View Post
I have not seen these codes before. I would try clearing all DTC codes with your scanner. Then when you go into hidden menu on the car it should say 0 faults. Drive it for a few days and see if the codes return. These cars produce shadow errors which happen for a second and then seem to go away. Contact member PAPER if the codes reappear. He knows pretty much what most codes mean on the E65/E66.
thanks a lot my friend i will contact Paper and see if he knows...

i tried to clear the codes with scanners(small one/big one),also sw reset through dash...and codes remain

took few pics of what i found..
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-02-2012, 08:33 PM
wjjklj's Avatar
wjjklj wjjklj is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Louisville, Kentucky USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,586
Mein Auto: 2009 750i
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7Figurez View Post
I have never used the Dashsoft software before,I know in INPA and tool32 it shows the VIN for every module. The power module will slow down the AC motor due to an under voltage situation. In INPA you can enter the Power module and look at the voltage for all parts of the system including the alternator output, I would take a look at that first. I would then take a look at your Central Gateway Module for errors, this module is the gateway between the Power train system and the bus systems. If this module is faulty the power module will be unable to communicate with the alternator thus giving you under/over voltage scenario.
When my Indy registered my battery he said that he had a hard time because the power module looked like it had been registered like 11 times and there was little room left in the memory of the module. Not sure if he knows what he is talking about or not. He said I might have to replace the power module in the future. I wondered how the module could have been registered 11 times since the battery was original at that time. I was told that Dashsoft could not register batteries but it does have a reset/programming function under the power module which I did several times. This makes me wonder did I actually register the old battery multiple times and screwed up the power module? Don't know? Based on this info and my symptoms I think I will order a new power module and install it. I assume I will have to program the vin and odometer to the module? Will I have to re-register the battery also?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-03-2012, 07:42 PM
bayerisheteknik bayerisheteknik is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: naples,fl
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 535
Mein Auto: ...
so i contacted Paper and no reply...do you know him personally? thx
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-03-2012, 11:02 PM
sirstopher's Avatar
sirstopher sirstopher is offline
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: Ok.
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,100
Mein Auto: POS Honda
I will state as a fact that INPA is the only tool you can use to register your battery, if you used something else that is just going to be the start of your issues. Dashsoft, 4in1tool, BT tool, ect can not register the battery correctly on a e65/e66.
__________________
97 740i e38 - SOLD
02 745i e65
03 Montero Limited

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-04-2012, 12:59 AM
PAPER's Avatar
PAPER PAPER is offline
CRISP & CLEAN
Location: CALIFORNIA L.A.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,944
Mein Auto: 745LI
Quote:
Originally Posted by wjjklj View Post
Hey everyone,

I came out to my car (2004 745i) the other day after work and the car started but immediately the AC shut off and I got the Transmission Failsafe Message. This happened 2 days in a row and I just turned the car off and restarted. The car was fine after. I pulled the following codes:

9C64 - I know I need a new AUC Sensor

931D - over voltage / under voltage (is this the alternator or the power module being bad?)

5014 - not sure?

A158 - not sure?

A161 - not sure?

I have a new BMW battery that was registered. I have replaced the integrated supply module. I am wondering if the codes support replacing the power supply module or the alternator? When I am in the hidden menu the alternator shows between 13.8 and 13.9 volts. This should be good I think. The transmission was replaced under warranty and only has about 20k miles on it. The car has 85k miles. Based on these symptoms, do you have any suggestions? Thanks in advance.
5014 - gearbox fault code
5014 = Trans control unit / Power supply ( power supply cut off limit )

A158 - Closed Current circuit
can sensor/CIM ( Chassis Integration Module )

A161 - Battery disconnect
Usually faulty power module

A158 & A161 Error = most of the time show up with each other .

HERE IS A LIST OF SOME FAULT CODES ON A PDF

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j...ewqJiAR2C4Sd1w
__________________

If you need a Custom 2014 DVD Navigation Map
East or West for your E65 E66 PM me for price .
Or if you Need an AUX Plug for your car hit me up
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-04-2012, 01:07 AM
PAPER's Avatar
PAPER PAPER is offline
CRISP & CLEAN
Location: CALIFORNIA L.A.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,944
Mein Auto: 745LI
Quote:
Originally Posted by bayerisheteknik View Post
thanks a lot my friend i will contact Paper and see if he knows...

i tried to clear the codes with scanners(small one/big one),also sw reset through dash...and codes remain

took few pics of what i found..
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Image and video hosting by TinyPic


you need to get a better scanner , or use INPA
to get the hex error codes from your car .
__________________

If you need a Custom 2014 DVD Navigation Map
East or West for your E65 E66 PM me for price .
Or if you Need an AUX Plug for your car hit me up
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-04-2012, 04:09 AM
wjjklj's Avatar
wjjklj wjjklj is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Louisville, Kentucky USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,586
Mein Auto: 2009 750i
Quote:
Originally Posted by PAPER View Post
5014 - gearbox fault code
5014 = Trans control unit / Power supply ( power supply cut off limit )

A158 - Closed Current circuit
can sensor/CIM ( Chassis Integration Module )

A161 - Battery disconnect
Usually faulty power module

A158 & A161 Error = most of the time show up with each other .

HERE IS A LIST OF SOME FAULT CODES ON A PDF

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j...ewqJiAR2C4Sd1w
Thanks Paper. If I replace the power module will I have to re-register the battery?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-04-2012, 10:04 AM
wjjklj's Avatar
wjjklj wjjklj is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Louisville, Kentucky USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,586
Mein Auto: 2009 750i
Quote:
Originally Posted by PAPER View Post
5014 - gearbox fault code
5014 = Trans control unit / Power supply ( power supply cut off limit )

A158 - Closed Current circuit
can sensor/CIM ( Chassis Integration Module )

A161 - Battery disconnect
Usually faulty power module

A158 & A161 Error = most of the time show up with each other .

HERE IS A LIST OF SOME FAULT CODES ON A PDF

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j...ewqJiAR2C4Sd1w
Not sure I understand exactly where to look in the 300 or so pages. Is the e65/e66 info on a certain page? Thanks in advance.

I purchased all the INPA cables and software but never was able to get it to work. I found it extremely difficult to use and sold it to 1bad540. Maybe I will try again.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-04-2012, 10:41 AM
bayerisheteknik bayerisheteknik is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: naples,fl
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 535
Mein Auto: ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by PAPER View Post
you need to get a better scanner , or use INPA
to get the hex error codes from your car .
the thing is i got pro scanner(i payed 4500 for it + 2000 in extras cables,modules) and it also shows nothing...no pending dtc,no freeze frame,no pcm conflicts...all come back ok..test passed

maybe those codes are for ASK unit,L7 amp,navigation,since my speakers are not working(some of them)...this remains still a mystery

but thanks anyways for your response

btw i hear lots of people have INPA...how much can you buy them for? i mean the good ones not some china imitation...or are they all the same

Last edited by bayerisheteknik; 09-04-2012 at 10:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-04-2012, 11:33 PM
PAPER's Avatar
PAPER PAPER is offline
CRISP & CLEAN
Location: CALIFORNIA L.A.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,944
Mein Auto: 745LI
Quote:
Originally Posted by wjjklj View Post
Thanks Paper. If I replace the power module will I have to re-register the battery?
SORRY I took awhile to reply , I honestly didn't notice the
topic since it was at the bottom of the page . i asked the tech
who sometimes helps me out & Your answer
is yes .
( According to him you will need to register the battery again )
__________________

If you need a Custom 2014 DVD Navigation Map
East or West for your E65 E66 PM me for price .
Or if you Need an AUX Plug for your car hit me up

Last edited by PAPER; 09-04-2012 at 11:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-04-2012, 11:41 PM
PAPER's Avatar
PAPER PAPER is offline
CRISP & CLEAN
Location: CALIFORNIA L.A.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,944
Mein Auto: 745LI
Quote:
Originally Posted by bayerisheteknik View Post
the thing is i got pro scanner(i payed 4500 for it + 2000 in extras cables,modules) and it also shows nothing...no pending dtc,no freeze frame,no pcm conflicts...all come back ok..test passed

maybe those codes are for ASK unit,L7 amp,navigation,since my speakers are not working(some of them)...this remains still a mystery

but thanks anyways for your response

btw i hear lots of people have INPA...how much can you buy them for? i mean the good ones not some china imitation...or are they all the same

Sorry I'm not familiar with Pro scanner beside the cheap 1's they sell on ebay .
( could you be a little more specific , which Pro scanner & is it compatible with
BMW ? ) Has it ever given you codes when something was wrong with the car ?

Cause even my Craftsman OBD scanner gives me error codes on the E65 E66 .
__________________

If you need a Custom 2014 DVD Navigation Map
East or West for your E65 E66 PM me for price .
Or if you Need an AUX Plug for your car hit me up
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-05-2012, 06:31 AM
wjjklj's Avatar
wjjklj wjjklj is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Louisville, Kentucky USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,586
Mein Auto: 2009 750i
Quote:
Originally Posted by PAPER View Post
SORRY I took awhile to reply , I honestly didn't notice the
topic since it was at the bottom of the page . i asked the tech
who sometimes helps me out & Your answer
is yes .
( According to him you will need to register the battery again )
Thanks Paper.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 7 Series / 8 Series > 7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008)
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms