Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series / 4 Series > E90/E91/E92/E93 (2006 - 2013)

E90/E91/E92/E93 (2006 - 2013)
The E9X is the 4th evolution of the BMW 3 series including a highly tuned twin turbo 335i variant pushing out 300hp and 300 ft. lbs. of torque. BMW continues to show that it sets the bar for true driving performance! -- View the E9X Wiki

Old 10-03-2012, 07:40 PM

Mein Auto: GTI
Need adive: can I affored used 3 series?

Greetings,

I'm new to the forum and this is my first time posting ... I hope this won't be the last

I'd like to get some advice on determining whether I can really afford to buy & maintain used 3 series...

Here's my situation,
I'm a fresh college graduate and I'm working in a tech industry (salary is about average, $60,000 a year). I have about $20000 student debt and I have a saving of around $10000, excluding my emergency fund (only $5000). My brother needed a car so I had to give away my beloved MK5 GTI.

So I've been looking for a new car but bmw 3 series has always been my dream car... I test drove one and I was impressed with its handling and smooth ride... one dealer is offering me a white 2009 328xi with 40,000miles, navigation, for OTD price of $28,500. This includes CPO warranty, which will expire in 2015 I believe.

My friends and family are telling me that I should get a new car that is affordable/reliable. But every time I go to sleep I can't stop thinking about driving my dream car.