Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming

BMW Coding and Programming
Discuss coding options and features on your BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-21-2013, 02:25 PM
rjn21 rjn21 is offline
Registered User
Location: UK
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 24
Mein Auto: M5 2014 LCI with CP
Reversing Camra 3AG Modules?

I had an official BMW dealer install the reversing camera retrofit for F10. They are very pleasant and did a neat job of the cabling etc. However they cannot get it work. The BMW install instructions say there should be a rear camera retrofit in ISTA/P under conversions.
I checked (I have current live ISTA/P and an ICOM) and there is no such button. (lots of others for servicing and ceramic brakes and so on).

Does anyone know which modules to code for the camera? I have it in the FA already and have tried HU_NBT.

Ta!
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
  #2  
Old 11-21-2013, 04:12 PM
gufemur gufemur is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: usa
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 170
Mein Auto: yoda
It's very likely that they will need to have a PuMA case written so that the engineers in NJ can perform an IRAP session to enable it. I know that there was a few retrofit options missing in the most recent release of ISTA-P
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-25-2013, 08:43 AM
rjn21 rjn21 is offline
Registered User
Location: UK
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 24
Mein Auto: M5 2014 LCI with CP
As an update, I got the camera working fine inc reversing prediction lines linked to steering angle and obstacle detection. I used e-sys and added 3AG to the VO and coded that to the relevant modules. Didn't work initially, but the next morning all working fine.

Dealer has asked me to show them how it's done as even with my newest ISTA/P 51.1.001 (which is ahead of what the dealer has got from AG), there is no camera retrofit measures plan.

Last edited by rjn21; 11-25-2013 at 08:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-25-2013, 09:10 AM
Sonicendeavor's Avatar
Sonicendeavor Sonicendeavor is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: At the beach in So Cal
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,780
Mein Auto: 2014 535i MSport
Nice!!!
How much are you going to charge the Dealer for training?
__________________
2014 LCI 535i /// M-Sport - SAT, Premium pkg, HK Audio, Drivers Assistance, Top/Side/Rear cameras, multi-contour seats.
Mods: Opticoat Pro,v2 coilovers, Michelin PSS, Cyba quad black chrome exhaust tips, coded various features myself.
20/80 Highway/City
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-25-2013, 09:37 AM
rjn21 rjn21 is offline
Registered User
Location: UK
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 24
Mein Auto: M5 2014 LCI with CP
My charge rate for my profession is ~$1k per hour. Somehow I don't think that will wash
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-19-2014, 11:12 AM
devilblack devilblack is offline
Registered User
Location: Kent
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 20
Mein Auto: BMW
Hi rjn21,
hope you can help.

Fitted the OEM rear camera, could you assist on the coding please ?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-20-2014, 01:10 AM
rjn21 rjn21 is offline
Registered User
Location: UK
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 24
Mein Auto: M5 2014 LCI with CP
Add 3AG to your VO, then code TRSVC, HU_NBT or CIC and PDC. Then leave the car to shut down fully. Mine worked the next morning.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-22-2014, 11:40 AM
Sprollonis Sprollonis is offline
Registered User
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 95
Mein Auto: X3 F25 2.0d
Hello,

made a retrofit at my F25. Added 3AG to VO then coded CIC, PDC and Kombi (VO-Coding - not FDL!) - used ESYS 3.18 due to my car is 2011/10. First, I had problems connecting to 12V source - but after checking and changing connection it works fine!

Good luck

Sprollonis
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-22-2014, 01:44 PM
devilblack devilblack is offline
Registered User
Location: Kent
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 20
Mein Auto: BMW
Car was in dealership for some other work, asked them to code the camera. It works, but lost all the other coding I did - will need to do again.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-11-2014, 06:15 AM
jayone410 jayone410 is offline
Registered User
Location: germany
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Mein Auto: F11 520dA Touring
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sprollonis View Post
Hello,

made a retrofit at my F25. Added 3AG to VO then coded CIC, PDC and Kombi (VO-Coding - not FDL!) - used ESYS 3.18 due to my car is 2011/10. First, I had problems connecting to 12V source - but after checking and changing connection it works fine!

Good luck

Sprollonis
Hi,

old Post. But i will try it nevertheless
I retrofit also the rear cam, don´t work. Could be also the Hardware. Have to check that but ...

VO-Coding - not FDL! - What does that mean? I coded FDL for my Rear Camera Retrofit
First, I had problems connecting to 12V source - What was your solution? I toke the 5A Fuse with Pin4

Many thanks in advance!!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-11-2014, 06:29 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 26,156
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
For VO Coding you select the ECU itself, not the CAFD File.

VO = Vehicle Order

VO Code = Coding of all FDL's (100% of the ECU) to predetermined settings based on the Vehicle Order.

Connect => Read FA (VO) => Activate FA (VO) => Read SVT (VCM) => Right-Click on ECU (the ECU itself not the underlying CAFD) => Select CODE.

FDL = Function Data Line

FDL Code = Coding of individual FDL's in an ECU, overriding the VO Coding.

Connect => Read FA (VO) => Activate FA (VO) => Read SVT (VCM) => Right-Click on the ECU CAFD and select Read Coding Data => Expand the CAFD Folder by clicking + symbol => Right-Click on the CAFD file and select Edit => Edit CAFD as desired => Click the Blue Floppy Disc Icon to Save CAFD => Click the green back arrow icon => Right-Click on the CAFD file => Select FDL CODE.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-11-2014, 11:50 AM
jayone410 jayone410 is offline
Registered User
Location: germany
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Mein Auto: F11 520dA Touring
Hey shawnsherdian,

thank you for the fast response and very good guide. i will try it tomorrow in the evening.

so if i vo-code i will lost all my FDL codings right. - Therefore i have to code at first VO and afterwards shell i code the FDL?
-----
is there also anybody who have already successful wired the TRSVC? Which fuse/pin you taken für the plus pole? - Maybe i have also a hardware bug? :-/

Greetings from Berlin!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-11-2014, 03:02 PM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 26,156
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayone410 View Post
Hey shawnsherdian,

thank you for the fast response and very good guide. i will try it tomorrow in the evening.

so if i vo-code i will lost all my FDL codings right. - Therefore i have to code at first VO and afterwards shell i code the FDL?...
Yes, that is correct.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-14-2014, 01:54 PM
Rsnic's Avatar
Rsnic Rsnic is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Virginia
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 649
Mein Auto: 2014 328i (F30)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayone410 View Post
-----
is there also anybody who have already successful wired the TRSVC? Which fuse/pin you taken für the plus pole? - Maybe i have also a hardware bug? :-/

Greetings from Berlin!
You may want to check out this thread on the F30.bimmerpost forum (particularly the last couple of posts):
http://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=873744

Hope that helps
__________________
Al

2014 328i |Premium| Technology| Cold Weather| Harmon Kardon Stereo| Manual|
Mods: Rear deck spoiler| DRL, Amber Rear turn signals & Back-up LEDs| Rear & Side view cameras| Front & Rear PDCs| Addional interior pearl gloss chrome trim
BMW CCA
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-26-2014, 12:57 AM
raygbmw1 raygbmw1 is offline
Registered User
Location: Australia
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 38
Send a message via ICQ to raygbmw1
Mein Auto: f20 116i
Iam a bit confuse. I added 3AG on my VO and then do I code the following:

1. Hu_NBT
2. What other ECU?

I installed the camera and added 3AG in the VO and write it to the car.

I started the car and I get the options for camera grayed out and no picture only the PDC.
Is there an ECU I need to code?

Thanks in advance.

I did add the 3AG in the VO and write it to the FA, however I cant find the TRSVC and PDC ECUs.
Are they meant to automatically added after adding 3AG and reading the SVT in the Coding section?

I place some screen shot of the FA and ECU.


Last edited by raygbmw1; 12-26-2014 at 12:31 PM. Reason: added info
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-26-2014, 03:47 PM
raygbmw1 raygbmw1 is offline
Registered User
Location: Australia
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 38
Send a message via ICQ to raygbmw1
Mein Auto: f20 116i
The TRSVC appears to be in the HU-NBT and the ECU list did not have it. I will try and find the solution.
However, I'll be checking the connections/wiring of the unit.

Can anyone who have retrofitted F20 rear camera tell me where did they connect the green and orange/green wires.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-18-2015, 02:05 PM
moke moke is online now
Registered User
Location: belgium
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 33
Mein Auto: F20
I installed today the camera modul and it is working. But when I put my gear in reverse the camera don't come on the screen automatically. I have to select it. Can this be change with esys?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-26-2015, 12:48 PM
gmatix gmatix is offline
Registered User
Location: Poland
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2
Mein Auto: F10 525
Question Help needed :)

Hi All,

I already installed my camera set. and now I should code my car, but to be honest I have no idea how to do it, I have esys installation and wire to conect my coputer with car.

Maybe someone have graphic step by step instruction?

thanks in advace !!
Bwst regards

Mateusz
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-26-2015, 01:18 PM
Rsnic's Avatar
Rsnic Rsnic is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Virginia
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 649
Mein Auto: 2014 328i (F30)
Mateusz,
It is relatively straight-forward. You'll add 3AG to your car's VO (FA) and then VO code car and control modules (ECUs) or at least the affected ones -- probably ICM, REM & Head Unit, but depends on model of car
__________________
Al

2014 328i |Premium| Technology| Cold Weather| Harmon Kardon Stereo| Manual|
Mods: Rear deck spoiler| DRL, Amber Rear turn signals & Back-up LEDs| Rear & Side view cameras| Front & Rear PDCs| Addional interior pearl gloss chrome trim
BMW CCA
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-26-2015, 11:30 PM
gmatix gmatix is offline
Registered User
Location: Poland
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2
Mein Auto: F10 525
Hi,

I know that it can be really easy, but to some one who never do it befoure it is quite big risc
My HU is NBT and car F11 CLI

Best regards M.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 12-05-2015, 08:05 AM
gtthree gtthree is offline
Registered User
Location: UK
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 7
Mein Auto: 530D F10
Hi Raygbmw

I am having a similar problem on my F10.

I have added 3AG to the VO and coded the HUCIC and PDC.

I now have the options for camera grayed out and no picture only the PDC.

I cannot locate see the TRSVC in my ECU tree, using e-sys.

How did you resolve your issues?

Can anyone else offer any guidance?

I'm just about to download Rheingold to establish whether it can see the TRSVC.

Thanks

gtthree

Last edited by gtthree; 12-05-2015 at 10:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-05-2015, 04:00 PM
CoolerLutz CoolerLutz is offline
Registered User
Location: Switzerland
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 82
Mein Auto: BMW 520d
It seems to be that your TRSVC is either broken, wrong connection or wires.

First check voltages on the TRSVC, than bus connection. TRSVC must be visible in the ECU Tree.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-05-2015, 06:45 PM
raygbmw1 raygbmw1 is offline
Registered User
Location: Australia
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 38
Send a message via ICQ to raygbmw1
Mein Auto: f20 116i
Check this -> http://www.babybmw.net/viewtopic.php?t=69136

Most likely your wiring is not good.

Ray
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-09-2015, 12:44 PM
gtthree gtthree is offline
Registered User
Location: UK
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 7
Mein Auto: 530D F10
Thanks for the advice guys, I will investigate after the Christmas break and let you know how I get on.
Reply With Quote
Reply

See More Related BMW Stories


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2015 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms