Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 6 Series

6 Series
The BMW 6 Series builds on BMW's sporty heritage with aggressive lines and an incredible motor to back the design up. Available in coupe and convertible trims with a standard 4.8 liter engine producing 360 horsepower and 360 lb-ft of torque, the 6-series is a popular choice that exceeds expectations.

Old 10-08-2012, 09:31 PM

Mein Auto: 2008 E64
Use a Front Tire as Spare?

Hi guys, I am a BMW newbie, I have a 2008 E64 and want to switch out of RFTs.
Thinking about getting hold of an extra front wheel+tire, and use it a spare.
Does anyone know if this would work?
Specifically - if I had a flat on the rear (which I think is more likely) can a front spec tire go on the rear for a short 5 - 6 mile trip to the tire shop?

I have the 19inch wheels.
Rear Tires - 275/35/R19
Front - 245/40/R19
Rolling Diameter - about 25-26 inches

Last edited by BMWNooB_E64; 10-08-2012 at 10:01 PM.
Ads by Google
Old 10-08-2012, 10:34 PM
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest

Mein Auto: 2014 528i + 2007 650 Vert
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWNooB_E64 View Post
Hi guys, I am a BMW newbie, I have a 2008 E64 and want to switch out of RFTs.
Thinking about getting hold of an extra front wheel+tire, and use it a spare.
Does anyone know if this would work?
Specifically - if I had a flat on the rear (which I think is more likely) can a front spec tire go on the rear for a short 5 - 6 mile trip to the tire shop?

I have the 19inch wheels.
Rear Tires - 275/35/R19