Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming

BMW Coding and Programming
Discuss coding options and features on your BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #26  
Old 01-09-2013, 09:31 PM
kazzz kazzz is offline
Registered User
Location: NJ
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Mein Auto: X3
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
And still, this to me is not a preferred method anyway. I would simply use my original FA, and VO Code each ECU to reset it. It is a much simpler and cleaner process.
I'm confused with this one. How do you VO Code each ECU? Do you click on Code Default Values under Esys/Coding while certain SVT is highlighted?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-09-2013, 09:35 PM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 18,353
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by kazzz View Post
I'm confused with this one. How do you VO Code each ECU? Do you click on Code Default Values under Esys/Coding while certain SVT is highlighted?
NO! Don't ever hit Code Default Values, or you will likely be watching your car flatbeded to the dealer.

VO Code:

Connect => Read FA => Activate FA => Read VCM => Right-Click on ECU XYZ (the ECU itself not the underlying CAFD) => Select CODE.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-10-2013, 04:22 PM
kazzz kazzz is offline
Registered User
Location: NJ
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Mein Auto: X3
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
NO! Don't ever hit Code Default Values, or you will likely be watching your car flatbeded to the dealer.

VO Code:

Connect => Read FA => Activate FA => Read VCM => Right-Click on ECU XYZ (the ECU itself not the underlying CAFD) => Select CODE.
Whew!!!... good thing I didn't try that. If I accidentally press that button, would Esys ask me for a confirmation if I really want to do it? (more like a second line of defense).. or would it just start bricking my car? Do I need to have the original ncd files inside the CAF folder to VO code?
Thanks...
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-10-2013, 04:27 PM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 18,353
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by kazzz View Post
Whew!!!... good thing I didn't try that. If I accidentally press that button, would Esys ask me for a confirmation if I really want to do it? (more like a second line of defense).. or would it just start bricking my car? Do I need to have the original ncd files inside the CAF folder to VO code?
Thanks...
I don't recall if it pops up a warning or not, but stay away from it as it will set your ECU(s) to a factory condition that has nothing to do with your actual car's configuration.

No, you don't need .NCD files to VO Code. An .NCD files is the as coded (read) state of the ECU. When you CO Code, it will use just the CAFD and the VO and write to the ECU.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-11-2015, 10:51 PM
hp79 hp79 is offline
Registered User
Location: Portland, OR
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 22
Mein Auto: F56
So I was searching why everyone was saying don't press the "Code Default Values", as I did this on my IHKA3 I think. What are the consequences, and how can I recover back to the factory stock setting? Is following the first post all it needs? I don't have any custom add-ons.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 01-11-2015, 11:00 PM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 18,353
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by hp79 View Post
So I was searching why everyone was saying don't press the "Code Default Values", as I did this on my IHKA3 I think. What are the consequences, and how can I recover back to the factory stock setting? Is following the first post all it needs? I don't have any custom add-ons.
If you don't know if you did it, then why do you think IHKA needs to be reset?

Does IHKA have CAFD_FFFFFFFF_255_255_255?
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 01-11-2015, 11:08 PM
hp79 hp79 is offline
Registered User
Location: Portland, OR
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 22
Mein Auto: F56
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
If you don't know if you did it, then why do you think IHKA needs to be reset?

Does IHKA have CAFD_FFFFFFFF_255_255_255?
It did get that (is that because I did the "load default"?). But I'm not sure if I did it in BKOMBI too. I got it back to showing up as normal by loading from a backup of SVT.

The problem I have is I can't turn off the fan. I can control it but can't turn it off.

This is where I'm at right now.
I don't know, going back to stock didn't fix it.

Last edited by hp79; 01-11-2015 at 11:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 01-11-2015, 11:11 PM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 18,353
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by hp79 View Post
It did get that (is that because I did the "load default"?). But I'm not sure if I did it in BKOMBI too. I got it back to showing up as normal by loading from a backup of SVT.

The problem I have is I can't turn off the fan. I can control it but can't turn it off.

This is where I'm at right now.
I don't know, going back to stock didn't fix it.
So what happens when you VO Code IHKA?
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 01-11-2015, 11:12 PM
hp79 hp79 is offline
Registered User
Location: Portland, OR
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 22
Mein Auto: F56
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
So what happens when you VO Code IHKA?
It codes fine, and everything back to stock. But still can't turn off the fan.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 01-11-2015, 11:16 PM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 18,353
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by hp79 View Post
It codes fine, and everything back to stock. But still can't turn off the fan.
If it has normal CAFD with Green Dot, and it VO Codes fine, it should work as normal. If yours is not, I have no idea why.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 01-12-2015, 06:54 AM
hp79 hp79 is offline
Registered User
Location: Portland, OR
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 22
Mein Auto: F56
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
If it has normal CAFD with Green Dot, and it VO Codes fine, it should work as normal. If yours is not, I have no idea why.
Yes, it has the normal green dot, and everything seems fine in the FDL coding part.

Do all these coding gets logged in the car somewhere? Would the dealer be able to tell that I was playing with coding the car?

I know there is an update, but the dealer won't do it because it's not a service bulletin yet.

I'm thinking if they do the full update, everything will come back to normal. Maybe I should just wait until they actually have those service bulletins out so I can get the update.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 01-12-2015, 07:10 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 18,353
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by hp79 View Post
Yes, it has the normal green dot, and everything seems fine in the FDL coding part.

Do all these coding gets logged in the car somewhere? Would the dealer be able to tell that I was playing with coding the car?

I know there is an update, but the dealer won't do it because it's not a service bulletin yet.

I'm thinking if they do the full update, everything will come back to normal. Maybe I should just wait until they actually have those service bulletins out so I can get the update.
They would not notice if car has original coding restored.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 01-12-2015, 09:11 AM
hp79 hp79 is offline
Registered User
Location: Portland, OR
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 22
Mein Auto: F56
Thanks for all your help Shawn!

After driving maybe 5 minutes or so, everything started working back to normal. My airconditioner was blinking again at first, but now I can even turn off the fan and AC also works fine.
I think having a backup was the most important lesson from my mistake.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 01-12-2015, 09:12 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 18,353
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by hp79 View Post
Thanks for all your help Shawn!

After driving maybe 5 minutes or so, everything started working back to normal. My airconditioner was blinking again at first, but now I can even turn off the fan and AC also works fine.
I think having a backup was the most important lesson from my mistake.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 01-12-2015, 09:45 AM
kimterran kimterran is offline
Registered User
Location: Socal
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 37
Mein Auto: 2014 320i
I already changed a couple of VO coding (variable light distribution, Bluetooth streaming) and I didn't do any backup prior. Is there any way I can do a backup on my original settings now? Also if I brought my car to the dealership and they upgraded my firmware or something is there a way to just load my current code settings that I saved back in my car or I need to do everything one by one again?
__________________
2014 320i Imperial Blue, Sport/Lighting/Driver Assist/Premium
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 01-12-2015, 09:54 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 18,353
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by kimterran View Post
I already changed a couple of VO coding (variable light distribution, Bluetooth streaming) and I didn't do any backup prior. Is there any way I can do a backup on my original settings now? Also if I brought my car to the dealership and they upgraded my firmware or something is there a way to just load my current code settings that I saved back in my car or I need to do everything one by one again?
You would have to undo all your coding to return to original state, and then make backup, but backup of ECU isn't needed when you can simply load original FA and VO Code ECU to reset it to it's original factory coding.

As for dealer updates, you would not be wise to try and restore backed up coding Data from old CAFD "A" into ECU's that have now been updated to CAFD "B" as the new CAFD structure could very well be different.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2015 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms