Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 5 Series > E34 (1989 - 1995)

E34 (1989 - 1995)

Old 10-26-2012, 09:14 AM

Mein Auto: 1991 BMW 525i
Cool what is the best anti freeze/coolant for 1991 525i?

putting in a new radiator pipes and all, what is the recommended coolant for the car?
Ads by Google
Old 10-26-2012, 09:29 AM
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest

Mein Auto: 1995 525i
I have been using prestone 50/50 for a few years now . No signs of corrosion !

Sent from my Desire HD using Bimmer App
Old 10-26-2012, 01:20 PM
Banned

Mein Auto: car
My best suggestion is for you to use cheap, walmart coolant for your car of any brand, provided it is brightly coloured and has a strong smell. Coolant technology has evolved and the differences between them are usually not significant for our cars. I've not noticed anyone having any problems specifically traceable to the brand of coolant that they use. Secondly, bright coolant makes leak detection much easier. The oem coolant is faint blue in colour and not useful here. Thirdly, if any coolant hose ruptures while driving, a the strong coolant's smell will invade the cabin and give you early warning of trouble, long before the engine actually overheats. Our car does not have an overheat alarm so having this facility is very nice. The OEM coolant practically has no smell. This aspect proved useful for me personally on two different occasions nearly 2 years ago.