Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series / 4 Series > F30 / F31 / F32 / F33 / F36 (2012 - current)

F30 / F31 / F32 / F33 / F36 (2012 - current)
The sixth generation 3 series, chassis code F30. 2013 model year 328i and 335i sedans now in production. Read the F30 frequently asked question thread for all your basic question and dive into all the details in the ultimate F30 information thread.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-21-2015, 09:49 PM
ktula ktula is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Seattle
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 778
Mein Auto: 14' F31 328xi (ED)
BMW navigation question for Seattle folks

I have the latest nav update for my 2014 F31. However, no matter what i do, the Nav system simply will not create a route to me across the lake on the 520 bridge when i'm going from Seattle to the East side or back. Checking or unchecking the route preference to "Avoid toll roads" makes no difference. If, for example, i insist on heading west bound on highway 520 to get on the 520 bridge, the Nav system will make many attempts to re-route me to get me on I-90, even though the route via the 520 bridge is shorter and more direct one. Once i am on the 520 bridge with no possibility of an exit until i get to the other side of the lake, the Nav system will behave normally.

In desperation, i even added the I-90 bridge as an area to avoid in the Nav system and guess what, it created a route that would have taken me around the the north end of the lake!

The version of Nav system (To find the Nav version, while in the Nav map screen, use the "Option" button and then scroll down until you see the Nav version option) in my car is 2015_2. I have been noticing this odd behavior since version 2015_1.

I am very curious to know if the Nav system in your car is behaving the same way.
__________________
ktula

"If you have to put your local license plate over your European Delivery plate (or worse, EU plate purchased over the internet with mismatched numbers), you are trying too hard."
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
  #2  
Old 04-21-2015, 09:54 PM
sr5959 sr5959 is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Seattle
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,963
Mein Auto: 328i F30
Mine doesn't, I have a 2015 GC
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-21-2015, 09:55 PM
sr5959 sr5959 is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Seattle
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,963
Mein Auto: 328i F30
BMW navigation question for Seattle folks

Actually my 2012 F30 was fine too, always routed me over 520 when it was sensible
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-21-2015, 09:57 PM
ktula ktula is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Seattle
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 778
Mein Auto: 14' F31 328xi (ED)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sr5959 View Post
Mine doesn't, I have a 2015 GC
2015 GC may have 2014 mapping data. Do you mind checking the version in your GC?
__________________
ktula

"If you have to put your local license plate over your European Delivery plate (or worse, EU plate purchased over the internet with mismatched numbers), you are trying too hard."
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-21-2015, 09:58 PM
ktula ktula is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Seattle
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 778
Mein Auto: 14' F31 328xi (ED)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sr5959 View Post
Actually my 2012 F30 was fine too, always routed me over 520 when it was sensible
If i remember correctly, before i updated the Nav data to 2015_1, the Nav system would route me over the 520 bridge.
__________________
ktula

"If you have to put your local license plate over your European Delivery plate (or worse, EU plate purchased over the internet with mismatched numbers), you are trying too hard."
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-21-2015, 10:19 PM
benmwatson benmwatson is offline
Registered User
Location: Sammamish, WA
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 33
Mein Auto: 335i
I noticed this exact thing last month. I-90 was completely backed up, we were running late for a concert downtown, and the car simply refused to route me over 520. I also checked the routing settings--didn't seem to matter.

In general, the nav system isn't great. My Garmin definitely had generally better routing and more updated maps. Still, can't beat the convenience and integration, so it works ok for most things.
__________________

2015 335i x-Drive
Mineral Gray
Oyster Dakota
Fully Loaded
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-21-2015, 10:20 PM
Nordique's Avatar
Nordique Nordique is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Seattle
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,199
Mein Auto: 2013 320i ZSP ZMT
Who the hell needs nav to get over the 520 bridge, for Chrissakes? Maybe over in Eastern Washington, trying to find small wineries, OK--but in the Seattle area? Did you just move here from Iowa? But then I don't have/don't need nav, here in my home area. If I go far afield, it's usually with my wife and her nav system--in her head!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-21-2015, 10:22 PM
ktula ktula is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Seattle
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 778
Mein Auto: 14' F31 328xi (ED)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nordique View Post
Who the hell needs nav to get over the 520 bridge, for Chrissakes? Maybe over in Eastern Washington, trying to find small wineries, OK--but in the Seattle area? Did you just move here from Iowa? But then I don't have/don't need nav, here in my home area. If I go far afield, it's usually with my wife and her nav system--in her head!
I don't need Nav to get over the 520 bridge but i often need Nav to route me to the point where i can head toward the 520 bridge.
__________________
ktula

"If you have to put your local license plate over your European Delivery plate (or worse, EU plate purchased over the internet with mismatched numbers), you are trying too hard."
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-21-2015, 10:23 PM
ktula ktula is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Seattle
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 778
Mein Auto: 14' F31 328xi (ED)
Quote:
Originally Posted by benmwatson View Post
I noticed this exact thing last month. I-90 was completely backed up, we were running late for a concert downtown, and the car simply refused to route me over 520. I also checked the routing settings--didn't seem to matter.

In general, the nav system isn't great. My Garmin definitely had generally better routing and more updated maps. Still, can't beat the convenience and integration, so it works ok for most things.
What's the version of your Nav system?
__________________
ktula

"If you have to put your local license plate over your European Delivery plate (or worse, EU plate purchased over the internet with mismatched numbers), you are trying too hard."
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-22-2015, 04:58 AM
John MS John MS is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Virginia, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 462
Mein Auto: 2014 Glacier Silver 328i
I have the exact same problem with the nav system not wanting to take the bay bridge route over the Chesapeake Bay to Ocean City Maryland. It tries to route up to Dover Delaware then down with no indicated traffic on the preferred route. It is set to choose fastest route. If I continue to drive towards the bay bridge it will at some point recalaulate to the proper route. Not surprisingly the projected drive time drops by 1 hour and miles go down accordingly. The bay bridge has been around for decades and it does well with other bridges so the cause of the problem is not obvious. Have you talked to the dealer?

Last edited by John MS; 04-22-2015 at 05:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-22-2015, 05:11 PM
pointandgo's Avatar
pointandgo pointandgo is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Los Angeles area
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5,634
Mein Auto: '13 F10 535i (loaner)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktula View Post
I have the latest nav update for my 2014 F31. However, no matter what i do, the Nav system simply will not create a route to me across the lake on the 520 bridge when i'm going from Seattle to the East side or back. Checking or unchecking the route preference to "Avoid toll roads" makes no difference. If, for example, i insist on heading west bound on highway 520 to get on the 520 bridge, the Nav system will make many attempts to re-route me to get me on I-90, even though the route via the 520 bridge is shorter and more direct one. Once i am on the 520 bridge with no possibility of an exit until i get to the other side of the lake, the Nav system will behave normally.

In desperation, i even added the I-90 bridge as an area to avoid in the Nav system and guess what, it created a route that would have taken me around the the north end of the lake!

The version of Nav system (To find the Nav version, while in the Nav map screen, use the "Option" button and then scroll down until you see the Nav version option) in my car is 2015_2. I have been noticing this odd behavior since version 2015_1.

I am very curious to know if the Nav system in your car is behaving the same way.
It's not just a Seattle issue.

The BMW nav system has displayed some problems over the years and some owners have taken this to a 'higher level.'

http://www.dailyreportingsuite.com/p...gation_systems
__________________
F30 328i
E90 328i
E92 335i 6MT
E46 M3 6MT
E39 528i 5MT
MBz W140 S320
MBz W124 300E (slammed)
(unmentionables in between)
'71 AMC Javelin (4-Spd Stick on the floor)
'67 Pontiac Firebird 'cabrio' (1st car - "the leaker")
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Member: BMW CCA

Last edited by pointandgo; 04-22-2015 at 05:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-22-2015, 06:09 PM
ktula ktula is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Seattle
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 778
Mein Auto: 14' F31 328xi (ED)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pointandgo View Post
It's not just a Seattle issue.

The BMW nav system has displayed some problems over the years and some owners have taken this to a 'higher level.'

http://www.dailyreportingsuite.com/p...gation_systems
So far, the only problem i have with the BMW Nav system is what i posted. Everything else has been working well for me.
__________________
ktula

"If you have to put your local license plate over your European Delivery plate (or worse, EU plate purchased over the internet with mismatched numbers), you are trying too hard."
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-22-2015, 06:26 PM
pointandgo's Avatar
pointandgo pointandgo is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Los Angeles area
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5,634
Mein Auto: '13 F10 535i (loaner)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktula View Post
So far, the only problem i have with the BMW Nav system is what i posted. Everything else has been working well for me.
Working just fine except it can't find this:



__________________
F30 328i
E90 328i
E92 335i 6MT
E46 M3 6MT
E39 528i 5MT
MBz W140 S320
MBz W124 300E (slammed)
(unmentionables in between)
'71 AMC Javelin (4-Spd Stick on the floor)
'67 Pontiac Firebird 'cabrio' (1st car - "the leaker")
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Member: BMW CCA
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-22-2015, 07:03 PM
mrrun2fast mrrun2fast is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Pittsburgh
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 155
Mein Auto: BMW 428xi
Ha. I have the same issue with an established bridge in Pittsburgh. Refuses to route over it. There's even a BMW dealership directly on the other side of the bridge. Nav will try to reroute me 7 miles around the bridge even when I'm waiting to get on it. Unbelievable!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-22-2015, 08:12 PM
benmwatson benmwatson is offline
Registered User
Location: Sammamish, WA
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 33
Mein Auto: 335i
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktula View Post
What's the version of your Nav system?
North America
BMW Group
111134.3.139
Road Map NORTH AMERICA Next
2015-1

NBT_I14375A
__________________

2015 335i x-Drive
Mineral Gray
Oyster Dakota
Fully Loaded
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-22-2015, 08:42 PM
ktula ktula is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Seattle
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 778
Mein Auto: 14' F31 328xi (ED)
Quote:
Originally Posted by benmwatson View Post
North America
BMW Group
111134.3.139
Road Map NORTH AMERICA Next
2015-1

NBT_I14375A
Thanks. I am guessing BMW Nav versions since 2015_1 (possibly earlier) contain some incorrect mapping data to ignore the 520 bridge.
__________________
ktula

"If you have to put your local license plate over your European Delivery plate (or worse, EU plate purchased over the internet with mismatched numbers), you are trying too hard."
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-22-2015, 09:51 PM
sr5959 sr5959 is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Seattle
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,963
Mein Auto: 328i F30
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktula View Post
2015 gc may have 2014 mapping data. Do you mind checking the version in your gc?

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1429764710.106604.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	47.2 KB
ID:	505420
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-22-2015, 11:58 PM
ktula ktula is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Seattle
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 778
Mein Auto: 14' F31 328xi (ED)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sr5959 View Post
Thanks. I guess it's another visit to BMW Seattle to find out what's going on.
__________________
ktula

"If you have to put your local license plate over your European Delivery plate (or worse, EU plate purchased over the internet with mismatched numbers), you are trying too hard."
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-23-2015, 05:16 AM
BabyLlama BabyLlama is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 4
Mein Auto: 2014 328d Wagon
What happens when you make the bridge your destination?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-23-2015, 07:02 AM
sr5959 sr5959 is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Seattle
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,963
Mein Auto: 328i F30
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktula View Post
Thanks. I guess it's another visit to BMW Seattle to find out what's going on.

One thing I'm noticing with BMW Seattle, appointments for service are booked very far out, I think they only have one mechanic! I'm going to use BMW Bellevue in future.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 04-23-2015, 11:01 AM
ktula ktula is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Seattle
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 778
Mein Auto: 14' F31 328xi (ED)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BabyLlama View Post
What happens when you make the bridge your destination?
If i make the 520 bridge the destination, it will route me there.




And that gave me an idea. As clunky as it is, if i want to get to a destination on the other side of the lake, i just need to create a multiple-destination trip with the bridge as one of the destinations:

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0283.JPG
Views:	33
Size:	107.2 KB
ID:	505464   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0284.JPG
Views:	33
Size:	124.2 KB
ID:	505465  
__________________
ktula

"If you have to put your local license plate over your European Delivery plate (or worse, EU plate purchased over the internet with mismatched numbers), you are trying too hard."
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 04-23-2015, 11:12 AM
sr5959 sr5959 is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Seattle
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,963
Mein Auto: 328i F30
ktula I am sorry you were right!

I tried a destination in Seattle just now while in Kirkland and it chose a route over the lake instead of 520, not sure why I never noticed this before, but I think it somehow is programmed to avoid toll roads.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 04-23-2015, 11:16 AM
ktula ktula is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Seattle
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 778
Mein Auto: 14' F31 328xi (ED)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sr5959 View Post
ktula I am sorry you were right!

I tried a destination in Seattle just now while in Kirkland and it chose a route over the lake instead of 520, not sure why I never noticed this before, but I think it somehow is programmed to avoid toll roads.
Thanks for confirming that. Checking or unchecking the "Avoid toll roads" box does not affect the outcome and since we don't have any other toll roads in the area, it's not possible to validate the possibility of the "Avoid toll roads" option being broken, i.e. it's avoiding toll roads even if you don't want it to.
__________________
ktula

"If you have to put your local license plate over your European Delivery plate (or worse, EU plate purchased over the internet with mismatched numbers), you are trying too hard."
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 04-23-2015, 11:20 AM
sr5959 sr5959 is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Seattle
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,963
Mein Auto: 328i F30
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktula View Post
Thanks for confirming that. Checking or unchecking the "Avoid toll roads" box does not affect the outcome and since we don't have any other toll roads in the area, it's not possible to validate the possibility of the "Avoid toll roads" option being broken, i.e. it's avoiding toll roads even if you don't want it to.
Hopefully they will give us a free update to fix this bug. Definitely my 2012 F30 didn't have this issue, that was the slightly older Nav. I have a BMW Encore appt with the Geniuses next week I'll ask them also. But based on previous experience they'll probably tell me the 520 doesn't exist!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series / 4 Series > F30 / F31 / F32 / F33 / F36 (2012 - current)
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2015 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms