Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 5 Series > E34 (1989 - 1995)

E34 (1989 - 1995)

Old 11-22-2012, 09:42 PM
E34 Converted E30 Fanatic

Send a message via MSN to _Ethrty-Andy_
Mein Auto: E34 Touring AC Schnitzer
MM70 Woes, one bank no spark

Hi Guys, have built an E34 Touring with an M70 engine out of the E32 750iL. There is a thread here in the E34 section if you are interested, you can search there! The car is 100% complete and I have been driving it around for over 3 months now with no issues, untill last week! as much as possible, the E32 body and engine etc looms were transferred to this vehicle

Was driving the car and then all of a sudden total shut down of the engine. have eventually figured out that one bank is shutting down on start up and killing at fuel pump as its designed to do. however had the fuel lines connected back to front so it killed the fuel pump that is connected to the other bank.have swapped those around and now the engine will start and run as a straigh 6 on the drivers side. however the passengers side doesnt run, and will not generate spark.

here is a list of what I have tested so far and prooved to be fine. in most cases, this is just a case of swapping from the left bank to the right bank and vise versa to see what happens.
1/ coilpack
2/ leads
3/ afm
4/ dizzy and rotors
5/ fuel pump relays
6/ main relays
7/ Crank position sensors, one is at ~570ohm the other is at ~540 ohm, supposed to be 520ohm +/- 10%