Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series / 4 Series > E90/E91/E92/E93 (2006 - 2013)

E90/E91/E92/E93 (2006 - 2013)
The E9X is the 4th evolution of the BMW 3 series including a highly tuned twin turbo 335i variant pushing out 300hp and 300 ft. lbs. of torque. BMW continues to show that it sets the bar for true driving performance! -- View the E9X Wiki

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-27-2012, 12:51 PM
YoPapa YoPapa is offline
Registered User
Location: US
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 44
Mein Auto: E93
New Wheels on E92: TPMS Coding Necessary?

Hi everyone,

When getting new wheels with TPM sensors for an E92 (2012 model), is there ever the need to do any coding on the car to work with the sensors, or is all that needs to be done a simple "reset" of the tire pressure monitor via iDrive?

I hear that BMW's full wheel sets (e.g. the 313 style with TPM) are supposedly "plug-and-play", i.e. no coding necessary, just simple reset. But is this also true if I had such a wheel set assembled from individual pieces (313 style rim + tire + TPM sensor)? Or what specifically does this depend on?

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
  #2  
Old 11-27-2012, 01:45 PM
floydarogers's Avatar
floydarogers floydarogers is offline
Pedant and Curmudgeon
Location: Renton, WA
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3,686
Mein Auto: 335d, 328d, Toyota T100
Reset should be all that is necessary.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-27-2012, 02:10 PM
Wihelm G Wihelm G is offline
California Über Alles
Location: Los Angeles, CA
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 854
Mein Auto: 328CiC and 328iT
When my runflats running factory air settings (something like 35psi front, 39 psi rear) were replaced with non-runflats with new sensors and 40 psi on all four corners, no reset was necessary. So my guess is at worst a simple reset will take care of any issues.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-27-2012, 05:28 PM
Salvator's Avatar
Salvator Salvator is offline
Livin' like Larry!
Location: NOVA
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 8,850
Mein Auto: 2007 328XiT; 2008 328 CiC
Agree with others above... Ordered winter tires from tire rack, installed the tires and hit reset... TPMS worked fine...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-27-2012, 06:55 PM
YoPapa YoPapa is offline
Registered User
Location: US
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 44
Mein Auto: E93
Thanks guys!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-01-2012, 08:54 PM
SilverX3's Avatar
SilverX3 SilverX3 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Australia
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,183
Mein Auto: 130i & E92 325i, E90 SOLD
got new wheels fitted today..TPMS resetting not required
__________________
Residence - StarTrek Enterprise
Job - Captain
Current Starship Fleet:
06 130i - ROCK SOLID Performer
MY11.5 X1 Xdrive25i
2013 VW Golf R - Rising Metallic Blue
07 320i - SOLD
08 E92 325i - Blue SOLD
Bicycles: Giant TCR Advanced Zero SOLD, Argon 18 Krypton, Argon 18E114, Trek Madone COMING
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-02-2012, 07:33 AM
DSXMachina's Avatar
DSXMachina DSXMachina is offline
Non compos Mentos
Location: New Hampshire
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 10,585
Mein Auto: 335i E92 TiAg 6MT ED
No jumping thru hoops needed. Our BMWs have a radio receiver inside each wheel well which picks up the signal from the adjacent monitor. Lesser cars have only a single central receiver which has to sort out each corner, and they require a corner by corner relearn procedure.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-02-2012, 07:36 AM
DSXMachina's Avatar
DSXMachina DSXMachina is offline
Non compos Mentos
Location: New Hampshire
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 10,585
Mein Auto: 335i E92 TiAg 6MT ED
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wihelm G View Post
When my runflats running factory air settings (something like 35psi front, 39 psi rear) were replaced with non-runflats with new sensors and 40 psi on all four corners, no reset was necessary. So my guess is at worst a simple reset will take care of any issues.
Wilhelm, nothing at all unsafe about 40 psi, but don't you find it awfully noisy? My tires almost ping when they're at 40.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-02-2012, 02:29 PM
Wihelm G Wihelm G is offline
California Über Alles
Location: Los Angeles, CA
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 854
Mein Auto: 328CiC and 328iT
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSXMachina View Post
Wilhelm, nothing at all unsafe about 40 psi, but don't you find it awfully noisy?
The short answer is "No."

I switched from second generation runflats to Michelin Primacy MXV4, so the noise level is an improvement any way you look at it. Most of the major highways I travel are in pretty good shape. A significant amount of time is spent in stop and go traffic, and at that speed I can't tell if the tires are at 60psi or flat. Years of riding modified bikes without a helmet and shooting trap before getting my first pair of custom fit earplugs may also be a contributing factor. The frequency of rubber crunching on rain grooves in the pavement is close enough to the frequency of the wife's normal conversation voice, a frequency I learned to block almost completely years ago. Young Jeezy, Drizzy, Beezy, Wiz Khalifa and Lupe Fiasco on the radio pretty much murders any other noise that may get through.

As a bonus, it's easier to remember "40" than some other random numbers and to see the needle of the air gauge split the 4 and the 0 than line up with some random microscopic hash mark.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-02-2012, 03:08 PM
MP3_E46's Avatar
MP3_E46 MP3_E46 is offline
Code/wrench Monkey
Location: Atlanta
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,052
Mein Auto: Miata NC2
Changed mine today and no light on yet. Did not reset the TPMS (yet) but will likely do when I've verified/set the pressure with cold tires.
__________________


Six Euro Deliveries since December 1998 (Owned E46, E90, E91, E92 and E93)

28 vehicles in 26 years of driving so far. Guess I like cars
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-05-2012, 12:13 PM
E92-Lighting's Avatar
E92-Lighting E92-Lighting is offline
info@e92-lighting.com
Location: Walnut CA
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,582
Send a message via AIM to E92-Lighting Send a message via MSN to E92-Lighting Send a message via Yahoo to E92-Lighting Send a message via Skype™ to E92-Lighting
Mein Auto: 335i
Quote:
Originally Posted by floydarogers View Post
Reset should be all that is necessary.
+1. we have TPMS for all BMW's even the new F30's.

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series / 4 Series > E90/E91/E92/E93 (2006 - 2013)
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms