Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming

BMW Coding and Programming
Discuss coding options and features on your BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #26  
Old 12-20-2012, 01:56 AM
Crackerman16 Crackerman16 is offline
Registered User
Location: Tucson, AZ
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Mein Auto: 2012 535i
It's a 2012 535i, June build if I remember correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12-20-2012, 02:41 AM
ilhan1103 ilhan1103 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Belgium
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 119
Mein Auto: f30 318d
That should be an f10 right? if it has never been in the shop and never received sw updates it is probably far from the versions most people here have.

Try to get the dealer to upgrade your software if you wish. (you can make up some odd problem about the radio switching off or losing channels once in 20 starts. Nasty enough for you to want it fixed but vague/unrepeatable enough for them not to reproduce it when they try. In that case they'll just update the software and hope for the best.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12-20-2012, 03:46 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10,146
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crackerman16 View Post
I don't have this option on my '12 F10, only hintergrundbild enable -> aktiv / nicht_aktiv with a default value of 01. I tried changing the value to 02, but it only made the lines disappear completely as the value was changed to 00 and switched to nicht_aktiv. Any ideas? I wonder why it's different on my car.
What is the name of your KOMBI CAFD file?
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 12-20-2012, 05:56 AM
JEG23 JEG23 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 316
Mein Auto: 550i
That particular setting seems to be present only in 47.x and higher updates.

JEG23
__________________
2011 550i
Space Gray /Black Nappa, Dark Wood
ZAV, ZCV, ZCW, ZDA, ZP2, 4NB, 5DF, 610, 2VH, 465, 6UK, 5DL, 6NR
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 12-20-2012, 09:44 AM
Crackerman16 Crackerman16 is offline
Registered User
Location: Tucson, AZ
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Mein Auto: 2012 535i
Ok thanks guys! I know the software is pretty old. I thought when I last checked the version was from last year, so that's most likely the problem. I'll try to get it updated!
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 12-21-2012, 03:19 AM
Dr.Frankenstein Dr.Frankenstein is offline
Registered User
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 48
Mein Auto: F11 530D
Hi guys,

I have the same problem:

F11 from 07/12 - still CIC not NBT. Can't seem to have the option to switch to grey. When coding my colleagues KOMBI yesterday, I noticed, that for his car gray was actually already set as default by BMW. (F11 12/12 - NBT)

My KOMBI CAFD is CAFD_000000069_008_1_020 - my colleague is using 00000069_009_0_50.

Is there any way to update KOMBI using E-SYS?

Frank
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 12-21-2012, 03:47 AM
ilhan1103 ilhan1103 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Belgium
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 119
Mein Auto: f30 318d
I'm in no way an expert, but it looks like his cafd file is newer?
You cannot update with e-sys you need a connection to bmw servers for that.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 12-21-2012, 04:09 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10,146
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Frankenstein View Post
Hi guys,

I have the same problem:

F11 from 07/12 - still CIC not NBT. Can't seem to have the option to switch to grey. When coding my colleagues KOMBI yesterday, I noticed, that for his car gray was actually already set as default by BMW. (F11 12/12 - NBT)

My KOMBI CAFD is CAFD_000000069_008_1_020 - my colleague is using 00000069_009_0_50.

Is there any way to update KOMBI using E-SYS?

Frank
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilhan1103 View Post
I'm in no way an expert, but it looks like his cafd file is newer?
You cannot update with e-sys you need a connection to bmw servers for that.
This isn't true. You can flash new firmware onto a module with E-sys. Myself and a few others have been working on a DIY Guide for this for some time, and we have sucessfully flashed modules, but we just suffered a setback this week and ended up with a bricked HU_CIC. So, until we are 100% confident in the process to use and the guide, we are not publishing it.

Apart from that, without flashing, you can insert a newer CAFD on your module and use it just by clicking on Detect CAF for SWE.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips

Last edited by shawnsheridan; 12-21-2012 at 10:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 12-21-2012, 04:48 AM
ilhan1103 ilhan1103 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Belgium
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 119
Mein Auto: f30 318d
Doesnt it bitch about the file beeing incorrect if it wasn't already under your module with a little green checkmark on it?

So if I do this, I could essentially use someone elses cafd file and their settings and everything with my CIC module?
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 12-21-2012, 04:58 AM
Dr.Frankenstein Dr.Frankenstein is offline
Registered User
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 48
Mein Auto: F11 530D
I will see and try it - I am not sure I understand where I can add what - the question is, which one to add? Between mine (69.008.001.20) and the one from my colleague (69.009.000.50) seem to be 5 other versions available...

008.002.017
008.002.019
009.000.038
009.000.039
009.000.042

Frank
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 12-21-2012, 06:29 AM
Dr.Frankenstein Dr.Frankenstein is offline
Registered User
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 48
Mein Auto: F11 530D
Ok,

I tried using "NEW -> FA" and selected both cafd_00000069.caf.008.002.017 and 009.000.042 - both giving me the same error:

"The NCD file name "cafd_00000069.caf.008.002.017" has to contain the SGBMID (z.B. cafd_00000000b_001_000_001) of the appropriate CAF. [C011]

Is this what you ment?

Maybe you can only do this inside the same major version like 008.001 or 008.002....

Thanks,
Frank
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 12-21-2012, 11:01 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10,146
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilhan1103 View Post
Doesnt it bitch about the file beeing incorrect if it wasn't already under your module with a little green checkmark on it?

So if I do this, I could essentially use someone elses cafd file and their settings and everything with my CIC module?
Sorry, I wrote that wrong, and have since corrected my post. You can insert a standard CAFD from a different I-Level using Detect CAF for SWE and VO Code the module.

You can use New => FDL to inject as coded .ncd data to an existing CAFD, and then FDL code the module. I have never tried though to inject .ncd data from a different CAFD version, so I am not sure if it would allow that or not.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 12-21-2012, 12:59 PM
ilhan1103 ilhan1103 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Belgium
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 119
Mein Auto: f30 318d
Too bad I was seeing interesting possibilities there

Thanks for elaborating.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 12-21-2012, 05:19 PM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10,146
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilhan1103 View Post
Too bad I was seeing interesting possibilities there

Thanks for elaborating.
Well, if you want to use someone else's coding data, it is still possible, but it is a two-step process:

Step 1) Use Detect CAF for SWE and select the CAFD version that matches the .ncd version you want to use, and then VO Code the Module.

Step 2) Use New => FDL to inject the .ncd data to the new CAFD added in Step 1, and then FDL code the module.

You would then have someone else's exact settings.

Now whether your car could support those settings is an entirely different thing.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 12-22-2012, 12:22 AM
Dr.Frankenstein Dr.Frankenstein is offline
Registered User
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 48
Mein Auto: F11 530D
Well -

and I tried option 2 and got the above error....

I guess there are some savekeeps in these and my bet is, that this is actually good. If you take the KOMBI example, I believe the data structure has changed quite significantly. In the end, you are just changing bits at a certain location. For different firmware versions these bits will be at different locations - so they better match the position the firmware is expecting them...

Frank
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 12-22-2012, 06:38 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10,146
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Frankenstein View Post
Well -

and I tried option 2 and got the above error....

I guess there are some savekeeps in these and my bet is, that this is actually good. If you take the KOMBI example, I believe the data structure has changed quite significantly. In the end, you are just changing bits at a certain location. For different firmware versions these bits will be at different locations - so they better match the position the firmware is expecting them...

Frank
First of all, since your friend has NBT, and you have CIC, there is no way his CAFD will work on your Head Unit.

What you can try though is replacing the CAFD on your CIC with the latest one from 48.1 Integration Level, using Detect CAF for SWE and VO Code as I described above (Step 1).

My car has 47.7 on it, but I replaced my HU_CIC CAFD with 48.1 CAFD, and it is no problem.

After that, if the option still does not appear, then HU_CIC needs updated firmware.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms