Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming

BMW Coding and Programming
Discuss coding options and features on your BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-12-2014, 01:55 PM
iansanderson iansanderson is offline
Registered User
Location: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 62
Mein Auto: 2014 335i M-Sport
Coding

Edit 01-13-14:

The fault is now cleared.

Last edited by iansanderson; 04-28-2014 at 09:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
  #2  
Old 01-12-2014, 02:27 PM
FrogmanF30's Avatar
FrogmanF30 FrogmanF30 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: SoCal
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 449
Mein Auto: 2012 328i
I've coded dozens of F30 ACSM's with the engine running and have never gotten this message.

Try turning everything off and let the car sit for 20 minutes to let it go to sleep completely. Then see if the error reappears.

I know it doesn't fix your condition , but why do you blame this error message on coding while the engine was running and not something else?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2014, 02:56 PM
ap90500's Avatar
ap90500 ap90500 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,078
Mein Auto: F30 320d xDrive -14
When I code ICM-module on my F11 I get error code that I can not remove with tool32. Ista was my solution. Ask shawnsheridan for inpa with F30 support.

Edit. Did you flash your acsm-module?

Last edited by ap90500; 01-12-2014 at 03:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-12-2014, 03:35 PM
HFW003's Avatar
HFW003 HFW003 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Australia
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 227
Mein Auto: 2013 Havana 328I
Quote:
Originally Posted by frogmanf30 View Post
i've coded dozens of f30 acsm's with the engine running and have never gotten this message.

Try turning everything off and let the car sit for 20 minutes to let it go to sleep completely. Then see if the error reappears.

I know it doesn't fix your condition , but why do you blame this error message on coding while the engine was running and not something else?
+1
__________________
Currently - Havana 328 Modern Line, Pro Nav, Xenons, HK sound, sports seats, VSS, adaptive suspension, 19" 401's and other bits and pieces.

Ride - 2014 Panigale 1199 S with Termi slip ons and lots of CF goodies
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-12-2014, 07:29 PM
iansanderson iansanderson is offline
Registered User
Location: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 62
Mein Auto: 2014 335i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by HFW003 View Post
+1
No, I was just turning off the obnoxious seat belt gong and it was while I was driving around the block testing the NBT for DVD in motion. I have updated it in the past and never had that happen but never did it after driving with the engine on. Always parked, no engine. Not sure if the engine is the variable or the fact that the car was "active" at the time.

Last edited by iansanderson; 01-12-2014 at 07:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-12-2014, 08:56 PM
FrogmanF30's Avatar
FrogmanF30 FrogmanF30 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: SoCal
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 449
Mein Auto: 2012 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by iansanderson View Post
No, I was just turning off the obnoxious seat belt gong and it was while I was driving around the block testing the NBT for DVD in motion. I have updated it in the past and never had that happen but never did it after driving with the engine on. Always parked, no engine. Not sure if the engine is the variable or the fact that the car was "active" at the time.
Have you tried to VO Code ACSM back to factory defaults to see if that clears the issue?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-13-2014, 03:18 AM
iansanderson iansanderson is offline
Registered User
Location: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 62
Mein Auto: 2014 335i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrogmanF30 View Post
Have you tried to VO Code ACSM back to factory defaults to see if that clears the issue?
Yes. Unfortunately, error remained.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-13-2014, 03:30 AM
maisav maisav is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Italy
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 260
Mein Auto: BMW F11 530i
Quote:
Originally Posted by iansanderson View Post
I have this error and it's a nasty one due to having the engine on whilst coding ACSM.

Is there any way **I** can reset this. I feel like a visit to the dealer may not be prudent at this juncture. I tried the F01 Tool32 trick, but it's still on. I have no idea how to get INPA for an F30. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Your car went into Transport mode.
I had the same issue and my a/c lost all freon.
You could try with INPA, f4 steuren and after f4 transportmode das.... and after delete all errors F2 loschen

Better for me, to go to your BMW garage.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-13-2014, 01:11 PM
iansanderson iansanderson is offline
Registered User
Location: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 62
Mein Auto: 2014 335i M-Sport
I was able to get it cleared with the help of Shawn and Tool32.

First, the ACSM wouldn't let e-sys access anything within the tree. I had to turn the ignition off to allow e-sys to access the ACSM module for some reason. It finally connected and I was able to recode default values to the module by pressing the "Code" button but the error remained.

I had to then use Tool32 to clear the airbag fault. Here's how:

Open Tool32.exe in the C:\ediabas\bin folder and I loaded the group "ACSM3.prg" which is the airbag/safety module installed in my 2014 F30.

Then double click the following scripts to clear the fault:

fs_loeschen

then

is_loeschen

The above commands clear the fault in the main fault memory (viewable by dealership) and information memory (not viewable by the dealership, but viewable by BMWNA/AG).

Once the faults were cleared, double click:

steuergeraete_reset

to reset the ACSM module (simulates an ignition on cycle and systems check). If the fault is gone, the airbag light and error in iDrive should disappear.

I turned the driver and passenger reminder-seatbelt gong off and all is back to normal!

FYI: to read faults in the ACSM module, use fs_lesen (fault descriptions are in german).

All faults cleared!

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-13-2014, 01:55 PM
FrogmanF30's Avatar
FrogmanF30 FrogmanF30 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: SoCal
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 449
Mein Auto: 2012 328i
Thanks for posting the procedure and I'm glad you got it resolved.

Any clues / theories as to why this happened? Was the battery voltage low?

I've saved this procedure in my "fix it" list.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-14-2014, 03:38 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 25,657
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
As long as we are discussing ACSM and Tool32, there is one more Tool32 ACSMx.prg job worth noting.

If you flash ACSM module, you will get the same error message as maisav above, and you will need to lock ACSM as follows:

steuern_verriegelung_schreiben = control_lock_write
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-14-2014, 06:30 AM
iansanderson iansanderson is offline
Registered User
Location: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 62
Mein Auto: 2014 335i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
As long as we are discussing ACSM and Tool32, there is one more Tool32 ACSMx.prg job worth noting.

If you flash ACSM module, you will get the same error message as maisav above, and you will need to lock ACSM as follows:

steuern_verriegelung_schreiben = control_lock_write
Shawn: is that program function for removing delivery mode or something similar?

to the other poster: battery voltage was good when the error happened.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-14-2014, 07:25 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 25,657
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
I don't know if it is transport mode related. I just know that if you flash ACSM, it requires ACSM be locked afterwards, which ISTA/P would do after programming, So with E-Sys flash, you have to turn to INPA to accomplish the same ACSM Lock.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-19-2014, 09:25 AM
Sdt777 Sdt777 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Scotland
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 147
Mein Auto: M4
Well I flashed my ACSM module.....and noticed this thread afterwards again

I now have the red flashing airbag light in dash.
Have tried the ACSM3.prg in tool32 (is this the correct prg for the M4 F82?

I tried:

fs_loeschen then
is_loeschen then
steuern_verriegelung_schreiben

Still have it flashing on dash....
Does the ignition have to be on using Tool32?

Help!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-19-2014, 09:34 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 25,657
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Like anything else, you need a solid 14 volts on the ECU. Battery alone may be strong enough, but it is not wise at all. Car should have motor on or be on a charger.

It should be ACSM3.prg or ACSM4.prg. I think if you have the wrong one, it will error out.

Try running "steuergeraete_reset" to reset it, and then "steuern_verriegelung_schreiben" to lock ACSM.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-19-2014, 09:40 AM
Sdt777 Sdt777 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Scotland
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 147
Mein Auto: M4
Thanks Shawn,

Do you just press on these functions once in tool32 (acsm3.prg) as just the once and a popup box appears, is this correct?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-19-2014, 09:46 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 25,657
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
1) Launch C:\EDIABAS\Bin\TOOL32.EXE
2) Hit F3
3) Load C:\EDIABAS\Ecu\ACSM3.PRG
4) In the "Select Job: F01" window, select steuergeraete_reset
5) Hit F5
6) "Results" window should show "JOB_STATUS = OKAY"
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-17-2015, 01:02 PM
vitchie vitchie is offline
Registered User
Location: South Africa
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 41
Mein Auto: 2013 F30 328i
Hi guys

Just flashed all the modules in my January 2013 F30 to 54.1 and to get rid of the ACSM issue I had to use Tool32 with a downloaded ACSM4.PRG. I can confirm that in my case neither Tool32 with ACSM3.PRG or E-sys External Applications could stop the reg light from flashing on KOMBI. Only ACSM4.PRG could. Strangely, NBT didn't show any vehicle issues.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-06-2015, 11:53 AM
brad-cam brad-cam is offline
Registered User
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 9
Mein Auto: 2006 M5
Where does one get the ACSM3.PRG and ACSM4.PRG files ? They are not in my BMW Std Tools 2.12 installation, I only have ACSM2.PRG.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-06-2015, 12:03 PM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 25,657
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by brad-cam View Post
Where does one get the ACSM3.PRG and ACSM4.PRG files ? They are not in my BMW Std Tools 2.12 installation, I only have ACSM2.PRG.
Here you go:

https://mega.nz/#!h0ZDTCqZ!Rtc4WwP-1...scPwwGav_xUdVo
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 11-06-2015, 12:07 PM
brad-cam brad-cam is offline
Registered User
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 9
Mein Auto: 2006 M5
Many thanks !
Reply With Quote
Reply

See More Related BMW Stories


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2015 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms