Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series / 4 Series > E46 (1999 - 2006)

E46 (1999 - 2006)
The fourth generation 3 Series (E46 chassis) was introduced in 1999 and set the standard for engineering and performance during it's years of production including being named to Car & Driver's 10 best list every one of those years! ! -- View the E46 Wiki

Old 01-12-2013, 09:05 PM

Mein Auto: 2002 325i
@@@ Need help.... 2002 325 losing oil.

Hello all, newbie here to the forum. I need some help

Recently bought a very clean 2002 325 with 164,000 on it. Shortl after I noticed the oil consumption. It's bad, I have a problem. I will shorten the story and fast forward...... After research, I found the canister gasket to be leaking, no other leaks!. Also assumed the crank case ventilation kit to be shot. BMW also told me if I'm burning oil that's it. Well, after these repairs, and a fresh oil change, 85 miles later, the yellow light came on tonight when I shut the car off......meaning the oil level has dropped in those 85 miles.

Cliff notes
Steam cleaned the car to look for leaks
Found canister gasket leak, replaced gasket.
Replaced crank ventilation assembly Valve and hoses
85 miles on Fresh oil change
Oil light came on when car was shut off tonight
I don't see it burning?

Thoughts? - Thank you

Last edited by Beemer13; 01-13-2013 at 05:40 AM.
Ads by Google
Old 01-13-2013, 05:41 AM

Old 01-13-2013, 06:56 AM
Cogito Ergo Zoom

Mein Auto: 325iT