Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > X Series > X1 E84 (2011 - current)

X1 E84 (2011 - current)
The new to the US BMW X1 will arrive at BMW dealers in the fall of 2012 as a 2013 model year. Get your X1 28i with either sDrive (RWD) or xDrive (AWD) or get the US exclusive I6 N55 powered X1 35i dDrive.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-19-2013, 06:30 AM
fb88 fb88 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: NJ
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 623
Mein Auto: 2014 X1 xDrive28i
Anyone made their idrive to display individual tire psi?

Supposedly there is a hack for F30. I hate to have to check individual tires manually when that information seems to be available in iDrive but just not displayed.
Reply With Quote
Ads by Google
  #2  
Old 01-19-2013, 09:17 PM
nospam nospam is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Orange County, CA
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 455
Mein Auto: X1 x28i; 128i; S2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by fb88 View Post
Supposedly there is a hack for F30. I hate to have to check individual tires manually when that information seems to be available in iDrive but just not displayed.
I don't know how the F30 system works but Exx TPMS system does not monitor actual PSI AFAIK.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-20-2013, 01:19 PM
SilverX3's Avatar
SilverX3 SilverX3 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Australia
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,056
Mein Auto: 130i & E92 325i, E90 SOLD
there is no way

BMW cars are not F1 cars they just monitpr rotation not actual pressure

You can with after market by buying a pressure monitor then sensor as valve caps

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/TYREDOG-T...item53f383fb62
__________________
Residence - StarTrek Enterprise
Job - Captain
Current Starship Fleet:
06 130i - ROCK SOLID Performer
MY11.5 X1 Xdrive25i
2013 VW Golf R - Rising Metallic Blue
07 320i - SOLD
08 E92 325i - Blue SOLD
Bicycles: Giant TCR Advanced Zero SOLD, Argon 18 Krypton, Argon 18E114, Trek Madone COMING
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-20-2013, 01:56 PM
fb88 fb88 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: NJ
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 623
Mein Auto: 2014 X1 xDrive28i
Its original sensors must go with the original display because they're pre-registered with the same serial number. Only the replacement sensors can overwrite the original ones.


http://www.sigmaautomotive.com/TPMS/...ms_tyredog.php
http://sgeauto.com/2010/07/tyredog-t...toring-system/

Weight 10g (External Sensor), 27.5g (Internal Sensor)

You might think that you'd need to rebalance the tyres since the transmitters weigh 10.5g each, but I have not found it to be a problem. Patrols can be sensitive in this area, yet I drove at highway speeds with and without the transmitters and didn't notice a difference.
http://www.discoverdownunder.com.au/...leid/1059.aspx

http://www.tyredog.com/products/detail.aspx?id=65

Last edited by fb88; 01-20-2013 at 03:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-22-2013, 10:52 PM
arktctr arktctr is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Chicago, IL / Newport Beach, CA
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 328
Mein Auto: 2014 328d MSport
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverX3 View Post
there is no way

BMW cars are not F1 cars they just monitpr rotation not actual pressure

You can with after market by buying a pressure monitor then sensor as valve caps

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/TYREDOG-T...item53f383fb62
The F30 DOES have the ability to show individual tire pressure and temperature...it has to be coded in the US...I had it recoded this way at a local meet but then had a software update afterwards that returned the customizations back to factory settings...
__________________

2014 328d M-Sport ED: 5/2/2014
2013 F30 Activehybrid3 MSport (Gone)
2012 F30 328i Sportline (Gone)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-22-2013, 10:57 PM
nospam nospam is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Orange County, CA
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 455
Mein Auto: X1 x28i; 128i; S2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by arktctr View Post
The F30 DOES have the ability to show individual tire pressure and temperature...it has to be coded in the US...I had it recoded this way at a local meet but then had a software update afterwards that returned the customizations back to factory settings...
The Infinity M series has had this ability the last two generations. I'm surprised if the F30 has this capability it is not standardly displayed in iDrive. I can't imagine the reasoning.

I also still doubt the E84 has this ability.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-23-2013, 07:44 AM
Ex-One Ex-One is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Louisiana
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 188
Mein Auto: RX-8
My 09 Mazda can do it as well as an 11 GMC. Surely BMW can.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-23-2013, 08:00 AM
ND40oz ND40oz is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Denver
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 601
Mein Auto: 09 135i
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverX3 View Post
there is no way

BMW cars are not F1 cars they just monitpr rotation not actual pressure

You can with after market by buying a pressure monitor then sensor as valve caps

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/TYREDOG-T...item53f383fb62
In the US we have actual TPMS sensors, unlike the ROW market where they just measure the differences in rotational speed amongst the 4 tires.
__________________
09 135i 6MT, ZMP, PPK1
13 X5 35i ZMP, ZMX, 2VA
13 Tiguan SEL 4motion
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-23-2013, 08:34 AM
nospam nospam is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Orange County, CA
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 455
Mein Auto: X1 x28i; 128i; S2000
Then what's the deal with the TPMS reset sequence?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-23-2013, 08:49 AM
ND40oz ND40oz is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Denver
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 601
Mein Auto: 09 135i
Quote:
Originally Posted by nospam View Post
Then what's the deal with the TPMS reset sequence?
I believe the TPMS sensors aren't active until the vehicle is rolling (save battery life), so you tell it to reset when stopped and then start driving to activate them and complete the reset.
__________________
09 135i 6MT, ZMP, PPK1
13 X5 35i ZMP, ZMX, 2VA
13 Tiguan SEL 4motion

Last edited by ND40oz; 01-23-2013 at 08:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-24-2013, 01:25 AM
neurom neurom is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: New England
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 678
Mein Auto: 2013 911 C2S
You can hack into the F10 M5 computer and show individual tire pressure and temperature for each tire on the display. There may be a way to do it for my F25 X3, which I am searching. I do not know yet whether this voids the warranty. I am also trying to find a way to code it for auto headbeams, but that may be harder. Look at the pic on the second post on this thread:

http://f10.m5post.com/forums/showthr...atic+headbeams


And look at this, suggests these hacking procedures may not apply for E84, only F series BMW's:

http://www.f30post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=696777

Last edited by neurom; 01-24-2013 at 01:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-24-2013, 09:20 AM
Farkled Farkled is offline
Registered User
Location: Ca
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 35
Mein Auto: Varies
I'm hesitant to hack but do miss this feature
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-24-2013, 09:39 PM
edx1's Avatar
edx1 edx1 is offline
Missing German roads
Location: Wasatch front
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 455
Mein Auto: X1 xDrive35i
I doubt the X1 can do per tire, but no one knows until the coding software is updated for the X1 and there just aren't enough people to encourage them to spend time on it yet. I already would like to modify some things like the turn signal from 3 blinks to 5, window and sunroof open/close maps to the keyfob, and so on. I keep hoping...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > X Series > X1 E84 (2011 - current)
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms