Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 5 Series > E60 / E61 (2004 - 2010)

E60 / E61 (2004 - 2010)
BMW 5-Series E60 Sedan was first seen in the Unites States in the fall of 2003 with a 2004 Model Year designation. The E61 wagon followed shortly there after. The E60/E61 5 series is now available as a 528i, 528xi, 535i, 535xi, 550i and a 535xi sports wagon! -- View the E60 Wiki

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-10-2016, 11:40 AM
BronxE60 BronxE60 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 67
Mein Auto:
P0411 incorrect airflow

04 525i with 84,000 miles. I purchased the car in October and it had the check engine light on. I thought it was due to it needing the normal maintenance.( all maintenance was needed. Plugs, filters, etc) I did all maintenance and a code reader said p0411 so we changed the entire system(fuse,relay,and pumps). Still the code comes up. Now here's the kicker. I didn't realize the idiot that had the car before me changed out the cluster because it got messed up. He didn't change the chip so now I have a tamper dot. My question is..... Since the cluster is different from the car and the chip doesn't let the computers reset, is this the cause of the check engine light popping back up? And would there be anyway to get this cluster coded to the car or am I going to have to go to the dealer? I went to an Indy shop and they told me I would have to go to the dealer and get a brand new cluster. They priced me out at $950. Kinda steep, I'm trying to see what I can do before I go spend that kind of money at the dealer. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
  #2  
Old 02-10-2016, 12:24 PM
fdriller9 fdriller9 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: NJ/Philly
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 7,209
Mein Auto: '06 AW 330xi
There are limitations to coding used clusters but if those conditions are met, the cluster can be recoded to your car to remove the tamper dot.

You will need to have VIN written to the cluster as well as the correct mileage.
__________________

| LCI Msport Conversion | Exotic Tuning Front Lip | H&R Coilovers | M3 Subframe Bushings | Custom Polyurethane Shore A90 Tension Strut Bushings | E93 M3 23.6mm Rear Sway Bar | UUC Front Sway Bar | Custom Heim Joint Rear Control Arms | Apex ARC-8 | Dunlop Direzza ZII Star Spec | Modified Dinan Cold Air Intake | aFe Oiled Drop-in Filter | Custom Hand-Made LED Angel Eyes | Alpine MRP-M500 | Custom LED Reverse Lights | OEM Blacklines | BMW Performance Trunk Spoiler |
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-10-2016, 12:48 PM
BronxE60 BronxE60 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 67
Mein Auto:
Do you know what conditions or where I can find out what's necessary for me to do this? Just tired of my check engine light on
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-10-2016, 04:22 PM
eburnz's Avatar
eburnz eburnz is offline
:D
Location: DC
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 878
Mein Auto: Dirty 530i
i just got my e60 and i also have this code... and its pending too

whenever I clear it, it stays off until the car cools down really cold, but as long as I keep the car warm, or park it for a while and dont let it sit over night, engine light will come back on and code will be thrown again..


i've checked the fuse in the glove box, its checks out ok...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-10-2016, 05:05 PM
BronxE60 BronxE60 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 67
Mein Auto:
I changed the whole system and I still get the error code. Hopefully someone can give us some insight. For me I hope it's just the cluster.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-10-2016, 05:10 PM
banglenot's Avatar
banglenot banglenot is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Ft. Lauderdale and Connecticut
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,919
Mein Auto: 2007 530
Quote:
Originally Posted by BronxE60 View Post
04 525i with 84,000 miles. I purchased the car in October and it had the check engine light on. I thought it was due to it needing the normal maintenance.( all maintenance was needed. Plugs, filters, etc) I did all maintenance and a code reader said p0411 so we changed the entire system(fuse,relay,and pumps). Still the code comes up. Now here's the kicker. I didn't realize the idiot that had the car before me changed out the cluster because it got messed up. He didn't change the chip so now I have a tamper dot. My question is..... Since the cluster is different from the car and the chip doesn't let the computers reset, is this the cause of the check engine light popping back up? And would there be anyway to get this cluster coded to the car or am I going to have to go to the dealer? I went to an Indy shop and they told me I would have to go to the dealer and get a brand new cluster. They priced me out at $950. Kinda steep, I'm trying to see what I can do before I go spend that kind of money at the dealer. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
The first thing I'd think is that the seller was messing with the odometer.

Did you carfax it to make sure the mileage was in the right range?
__________________

2007 530I
2003 325XI (gone)
2004 530I (gone)
2001 530I (gone)

BMW CCA Member 10+ Years

"I tell you, we are here on Earth to fart around, and don't let anybody tell you different." -- Kurt Vonnegut
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-10-2016, 05:43 PM
BronxE60 BronxE60 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 67
Mein Auto:
The mileage on the cluster was different from car fax,but he had already told me the correct mileage. I'm not questioning if I think he was trying to get over on me. I just want to know if the cluster is the problem with the CPUs not resetting and if so can I get this cluster coded to the car or am I going to have to get a new one from bmw
Reply With Quote
Reply

See More Related BMW Stories


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 5 Series > E60 / E61 (2004 - 2010)
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2015 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms