Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 5 Series > E39 (1997 - 2003)

E39 (1997 - 2003)
The BMW 5-Series (E39 chassis) was introduced in the United States as a 1997 model year car and lasted until the 2004 when the E60 chassis was released. The United States saw several variations including the 525i, 528i, 530i and 540i. -- View the E39 Wiki

Old 01-30-2013, 06:05 PM

Mein Auto: 1998 BMW 528I
Question Battery dies withen 8 hours.

Hey, I'm new to the thread and am having a serious issue. First off I have a new battery and my alternator tested good, but the red battery light is still coming on, when the car starts that is. The other day I was driving home and plugged in both my cell phone and and electronic cigaret charger to my cigarette lighter (have a dual usb plugin for one lighter) and all of the lights on my instrument panel started flashing and i noticed my car starting to act funny so I unplugged everything and made it home. The next day my car started fine but after driving for about three minutes my car died completely. So I went and got a new battery and put it in. After this my car ran perfectly and I went to work. But, after work I started my car and started to drive, again my car drove for a few minutes then died. Today I put in yet another new battery and had the alternator checked. Both are fine. What could be causing my red batter light to come on and what could be draining my battery within a few hours, or is it a charging issue? I'm stumped. Thanks in advance for any hel