Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > X Series > X3 E83 (2004 - 2010)

X3 E83 (2004 - 2010)
Talk about the E83 BMW X3 in this forum!

Old 02-04-2013, 09:02 AM

Mein Auto: x3
X3 Replaced Head Unit

Hi,

Okay, so yes I'm a newbie here, but please bear with me!

I have a 2005 X3 with the 6CD changer installed, along with the cr@ppy "business" sat nav, bluetooth etc.

However, the CD changer has been playing up for a while now and I keep putting of a replacement through fear of cost/ difficultly. However, I have a long road trip ahead and would like to have something in place before this starts!

Basically, the CD changer trays keep getting stuck when changing disks. This results in me having to punch (gently of course) the changer unit in the arm rest unit it releases properly. I dont think this is doing me or the car any good!

I have had a look at aftermarker single din (is that the right term?) installations, but I dont like the off centre replacement dash fitting. And I dont think a double din would look right in this car at all (just my opinion!).