Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 5 Series > E60 (2004 - 2010)

E60 (2004 - 2010)
BMW 5-Series (E60 chassis) was first seen in the Unites States in the fall of 2003 with a 2004 Model Year designation. The E60 is now available as a 528i, 528xi, 535i, 535xi, 550i and a 535xi sports wagon! -- View the E60 Wiki

Old 03-05-2013, 10:05 AM

Mein Auto: 1999 BMW 528i
e39 to e60 upgrade?

My first post here on the forums, but I've been appreciating the knowledge here for a few years now.

I currently own a great 1999 528i with 150k miles. It's been a good car to me, and I've recently done the Vanos seals as well as a cooling overhaul and she still sounds and runs great.

I've recently been looking at a possible "upgrade." I found a 2010 535xi at a good price. My main concern with the car is that it's already at 54k miles (hence the good price). I've received confirmation that the HPFP has been replaced and the scheduled maintenance was performed on time, which makes me feel that the car is in good condition. I would be purchasing an extended warranty for the car as well.

What do you all think? Too many miles, should I hold out for something with less?

Would love to hear from any e60 DIYers as well... I've heard that doing your own work on the e60 is not as cut and dry as it is on the e39, true?

Thanks everyone!

Last edited by rundown; 03-05-2013 at 10:49 AM.
Ads by Google
Old 03-05-2013, 11:37 AM
USAF Pararescue Veteran

Mein Auto: 2008 550i