Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series / 4 Series > E36 (1991 - 1999)

E36 (1991 - 1999)
The E36 chassis 3-Series BMW was a huge hit among driving enthusiasts from the first moment the car hit the pavement. The E36 won numerous awards over the years it was produced and is still a favorite of many BMW enthusiasts to this day! -- View the E36 Wiki

Old 03-06-2013, 01:40 AM

Mein Auto: 1997 318i
E36 318i questions

Hello
This is my first post, and I'm new to owning a BMW. I recently purchased a 1997 318i and fell in love with the car, unfortunately soon after purchasing the vehicle I noticed it began having a hard starting issue followed by blowing steam from the exhaust at start up.After reading through many posts I decided to pull the head and check the head as well as the gasket, and I then found that not only was the head warped .007 it was also cracked, I found this odd as during the short period of time I drove it, it never overheated nor did I mix the oil and water.