Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > X Series > X3 F25 (2011 - current)

X3 F25 (2011 - current)
The latest X3 brings some added style and some new features to the BMW SUV family. Talk about the new F25 now!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-2013, 08:36 AM
nyc2012 nyc2012 is offline
Registered User
Location: Chicago
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
Mein Auto: X3
Angry How to display mph if you don't have HUD

I just can't get that info on my display.
It only has average speed, why is that?
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
  #2  
Old 04-16-2013, 09:09 AM
groovyone789 groovyone789 is offline
Registered User
Location: Nashville
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Mein Auto: X3 28i
Good question. The rest of us put it in via coding.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-16-2013, 10:19 AM
nyc2012 nyc2012 is offline
Registered User
Location: Chicago
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
Mein Auto: X3
What do you mean? thx
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-16-2013, 10:57 AM
The X Men The X Men is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: MA
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4,793
Mein Auto: 2012 535xi 2013 X3 35i
It means you have to hack the computer to do it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-16-2013, 11:00 AM
gfeiner's Avatar
gfeiner gfeiner is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 542
Mein Auto: 2012 X3 xDrive35i
Isnt that what the speedometer is for?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-16-2013, 11:17 AM
lbjgh's Avatar
lbjgh lbjgh is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: North of Toronto
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 717
Mein Auto: 2013 X3 M-Sport
I coded that feature on my car too.

My speedo only shows km/h and when I'm in the States I can switch to Miles and the digital display indicated mph.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-16-2013, 12:20 PM
The X Men The X Men is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: MA
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4,793
Mein Auto: 2012 535xi 2013 X3 35i
That MPH display is too samll anyways, it should be much bigger like the one in Audi.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-18-2013, 05:30 PM
noka noka is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: MA
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 339
Mein Auto: 2013 x35i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyc2012 View Post
What do you mean? thx
Check this link:
http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=631884
__________________
2013 x35i (Space Gray, MSport, CW/CWII, DHP, Premium, Premium Sound, Technology, BMW-Apps)
Retired:'09 C300 4Matic, '09 GTI, '06 750i, '05 C55, '04 R32, '03 M5, '02 GTI, 01 M5, '00 M-Coupe, '00 540i/6, '99 M3 Coupe, '98 M3 Coupe, '96 328i, ..., '86 4000CS Quattro, ... too many to list
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-19-2013, 12:35 PM
erkbiz erkbiz is offline
Registered User
Location: Michigan USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 96
Mein Auto: 2013 X3
Coding for MPH

Ended up here looking for a way to display mph on the instrument panel.

The coding instructions referred to in this thread look easy enough but mistakes are always possible. Kinda nervous about screwing up my new 2013 X3 but am going to go for it after I get my cable, (ordered it on ebay). The instructions talk about windows XP and windows 7....does anyone know if windows vista will work?

The included "cheat sheet" doesn't address the code needed to get the mph to display. Does anyone have the code? Is there another cheat sheet available?

Oh, and do you think a dealer or an independent shop would be likely to do the coding for me if windows vista isn't a good candidate or if the needed code is not available?

Thanks
ERK
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-19-2013, 12:38 PM
groovyone789 groovyone789 is offline
Registered User
Location: Nashville
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Mein Auto: X3 28i
Vista works. That's what I used.

I believe this is the code...

KOMBI | 3000 Anzeige_Konfiguration | BC_DIGITAL_V | aktiv / Werte=01 | ( default = nicht_aktiv / Werte=00 )
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-19-2013, 02:00 PM
erkbiz erkbiz is offline
Registered User
Location: Michigan USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 96
Mein Auto: 2013 X3
Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-19-2013, 03:15 PM
Marathon Man Marathon Man is offline
Registered User
Location: Houston
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 60
Mein Auto: 2013 X3
Don't be too afraid about coding. Most of the errors you can make are installing the software and that just prevents you from being able to do anything. The "coding" itself is just turning that feature to "aktiv" (active).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > X Series > X3 F25 (2011 - current)
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms