Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 5 Series > E34 (1989 - 1995)

E34 (1989 - 1995)

Old 05-17-2013, 11:12 PM

Mein Auto: BMW E36 M3 Sedan
1992 E34 sitting idle for 6 years...ideas reviving it?

Hi All! Im a newbie to Bimmerfest. I need some help with a 1992 E34 525i that has been sitting idle in the garage for more than 6 years.

My uncle is giving the car to me and I'm getting the car transported home to PA from TX. He said he stopped driving it because it needs a new clutch nothing else was wrong with the car.

Now the fun begins...

I've done some research on what to do when a car has been in idle storage for a long time and I found the basic things, but these blogs and article on ehow only talks about car being in storage for over a year. The car I'm getting is been idle for a long long time (6 years).

Basic things to do to get the car in running condions that I found online in general:
New battery
new gasoline
change the oil
new spark plugs
once started and running bring to a good mechanic and get a good tune up.

So I want to know if there are any BMW issues (especially E34) after it has been in storage for a long time, even if its only been idle for more than a year I would appreciate any thougths. Thanks

Alvin
Easton PA
In the garage:
1998 BMW E36 M3 sedan
Soon to be owner of 1992 BMW E34 525i
Ads by Google
Old 05-18-2013, 06:28 AM
The Ornery Old Man

Mein Auto: GTI