Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > X Series > X3 E83 (2004 - 2010)

X3 E83 (2004 - 2010)
Talk about the E83 BMW X3 in this forum!

Old 05-20-2013, 11:22 AM

Mein Auto: 2009 X3
Newbie to Bimmerfest

Hey guys,

I am a newbie to Bimmerfest and recently acquired a 2009 BMW X3. I've lurked the forums for a few weeks before purchasing. Here's just a few questions I have. The bimmer I got only had 16500 miles on it, well under the 50k. I have less than one month of the original warranty left with the option through BMW to extend to 6yrs./100k for $1850.00 (though I believe it is just the maint. plan). I have also been contacted by EasyCare via the dealership who offered an extended warranty for $2900 (5yrs/75k). My question is what's the difference and which is better? I already know EasyCare doesn't replace brakes, batteries, and other "consumable items," whereas the BMW plan does. Would I actually see a return on investment in purchasing these warranties?

Secondly, I'm no mechanic, but am somewhat capable of doing minor work (oil changes) on my other car. Are brake jobs for the X3 really that intrusive? It looks like something manageable so I can save some $$$. I already took the X3 into the dealership to get it looked at and address two issues (seat belt sensor and vapor barrier) while its still under the warranty.

Any advice or insight would be greatly appreciated.
Advertisement
Old 05-20-2013, 02:12 PM
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest

Mein Auto: 2004 X3 2.5i
Quote: