Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 7 Series / 8 Series > 7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008)

7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008)
Discussion pertaining to the flagship BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-28-2013, 11:01 AM
Salmantheman Salmantheman is offline
Ms. AWesome ;)
Location: Dubai
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 68
Mein Auto: E66
Cool Nothing on my Idrive Works

Well i Hope someone (wink wink Paper, or KEIF) can help me understand this. i am going to sing a sad tale so please bare with me.

6 months ago My L7 went kapoot and i could not hear from my seat subs and the back passenger speaks made a horrible sound (at least thats what one of the audio guys said) so went and bought a used one (L7) from ebay for 250$ (yes it was a steal), placed it in and all systems were at go. 3 or 4 weeks later the same happened and i was out of money because of some business reasons so i decided to just listen to music from my front speaker for a while till i have some extra greens to spend (thankfully i do have it now).

So now my main issue. 2 weeks ago i sat in my car (e66 2004 745li) and i could hear my Cd changer in front of the front passenger seat clicking. I didnt understand whats up. As i started the car i realized that everything is wrong. My Idrive doesnt work at all. I try to take it to the Navigation option (BLANK Screen), Communication (BLANK Screen), On Board (BLANK Screen). well only one option works and it has the Idrive click is the Climate option. Oh yeah before i forget There is no system sound, which means when i cross 120 km/hr speed no Dong. SVS doesnt work too because there is no sound to my speakers.

Here is what i have done as Bimmerfest is a Holy book for Me:

I bought one of those Lollypops (diagnostic Optic loop) and i Opened up the Boots left-sides cover and saw a few modules there, I tried looping all of them either i am doing it wrong or its just not them Modules (the L7, SVS, Bluetooth, Satnav). One of my Mates came over and did an OBD test on my car and we could even read the audio modules, which might me there is a power issue or optical issue or just my paranoia :P

Here are my issues, i am getting a 2007 e66 Ask Unit and MMI (for a steal again) for 350$ (yes BMW parts are very cheap in dubai because all the Sheikhs loved to drive them Back when they came out). well i am thinking of replacing both and then Dashsoft them with the AUX option too.

Here my dilemmas like everyone would have them:

1. Is there any other module i have overseen? (passenger cd changer? or more)
2. Could their be another issue for no sound at all?
3. Can i permanently loop the CD changer (if that my only problem making device)

I really dont need help with how to replace them devices (not being all smug) but i have seen hours of videos of how to remove and replace each module.

PAPER, and KEIF... this is my first post so i would like to thank you guys even if you dont reply to this post. The thank you is for giving be heaps of reading material and because when i see my car i see the benchmark you guys have provided for me to follow.


Cheers


Salman

Last edited by PAPER; 05-29-2013 at 12:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
  #2  
Old 05-28-2013, 04:49 PM
BSOD BSOD is offline
Registered User
Location: Uk
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 75
Mein Auto: 2006 BMW 650i Sport
If using the loop in place of the CD changer fixes your problems then yes you can leave the loop in place permanently.
When you program your new MMI, you should also disable the CDC.
When speakers make crackling/popping sounds, there is another thread that will help identify the faulty module.
'Search' is your friend.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-29-2013, 12:46 AM
Salmantheman Salmantheman is offline
Ms. AWesome ;)
Location: Dubai
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 68
Mein Auto: E66
thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by BSOD View Post
If using the loop in place of the CD changer fixes your problems then yes you can leave the loop in place permanently.
When you program your new MMI, you should also disable the CDC.
When speakers make crackling/popping sounds, there is another thread that will help identify the faulty module.
'Search' is your friend.
thanks for the reply.

But can you please answer the module question... What other modules have i overlooked if any? (apart from the cdc and the ask unit of course)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-29-2013, 12:54 AM
PAPER's Avatar
PAPER PAPER is online now
CRISP & CLEAN
Location: on the moon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,995
Mein Auto: Ford Pinto
Sorry for the late reply . If you looped everything in the trunk
& it did not solve the issue , then you have to check the other
units tied to the fibre optic line . Have you tried the CD Changer ?

Have you looked at the lollipop in the glove box to confirm the Red
light is on or blinking ?

also check the fibre optic line on your MMI to see
if it is on or blinking .

Last edited by PAPER; 05-29-2013 at 01:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-29-2013, 04:11 AM
BSOD BSOD is offline
Registered User
Location: Uk
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 75
Mein Auto: 2006 BMW 650i Sport
for other modules on the MOST bus (fibre optic loop) check page 40 of the following .pdf found in the technical documents of the DIY forum.
http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/att...8&d=1353377936
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-29-2013, 06:07 PM
Salmantheman Salmantheman is offline
Ms. AWesome ;)
Location: Dubai
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 68
Mein Auto: E66
Quote:
Originally Posted by PAPER View Post
Sorry for the late reply . If you looped everything in the trunk
& it did not solve the issue , then you have to check the other
units tied to the fibre optic line . Have you tried the CD Changer ?

Have you looked at the lollipop in the glove box to confirm the Red
light is on or blinking ?

also check the fibre optic line on your MMI to see
if it is on or blinking .
Hi Paper.. thanks for the reply. I checked and there is no red blinking lights. The havnt checked 3 devices aparantly because they need a little more work than normal. THE Cd changer, MMI and the antenna on the left passanger seat pillars ...

Is no red light a sign of caution?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-29-2013, 06:35 PM
PAPER's Avatar
PAPER PAPER is online now
CRISP & CLEAN
Location: on the moon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,995
Mein Auto: Ford Pinto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Salmantheman View Post
Hi Paper.. thanks for the reply. I checked and there is no red blinking lights. The havnt checked 3 devices aparantly because they need a little more work than normal. THE Cd changer, MMI and the antenna on the left passanger seat pillars ...

Is no red light a sign of caution?
what module did not have the red light on in the fibre optic line ?
the lollipop in the glove box , was the red blinking light on when
you disconnected it ???
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-30-2013, 03:07 PM
Salmantheman Salmantheman is offline
Ms. AWesome ;)
Location: Dubai
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 68
Mein Auto: E66
Quote:
Originally Posted by PAPER View Post
what module did not have the red light on in the fibre optic line ?
the lollipop in the glove box , was the red blinking light on when
you disconnected it ???
When i disconnected the glovebox lollypop it didnt have any red light from the optical cable, come to think of it, non of the devices on the boot had a red light light either
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-30-2013, 05:33 PM
PAPER's Avatar
PAPER PAPER is online now
CRISP & CLEAN
Location: on the moon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,995
Mein Auto: Ford Pinto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Salmantheman View Post
When i disconnected the glovebox lollypop it didnt have any red light from the optical cable, come to think of it, non of the devices on the boot had a red light light either
ok now I need you to start all over .
Start with the L7 Amp . tell me if there is a red blinking light
when you disconnect the fibre optic line .
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-30-2013, 06:18 PM
Salmantheman Salmantheman is offline
Ms. AWesome ;)
Location: Dubai
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 68
Mein Auto: E66
Quote:
Originally Posted by PAPER View Post
ok now I need you to start all over .
Start with the L7 Amp . tell me if there is a red blinking light
when you disconnect the fibre optic line .
Nope ... i just opened up the rear leftside of the trunk and there is no red light at all in the L7 OC cable

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-30-2013, 06:25 PM
PAPER's Avatar
PAPER PAPER is online now
CRISP & CLEAN
Location: on the moon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,995
Mein Auto: Ford Pinto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Salmantheman View Post
Nope ... i just opened up the rear leftside of the trunk and there is no red light at all in the L7 OC cable

your sure you checked the 2 green fibre optic cable ?
those are the only lines on it . the other L7 plug has
a lot of wires on it .

TAKE A PIC OF THE LEFT SIDE OF YOUR TRUNK & POST IT

Last edited by PAPER; 05-30-2013 at 06:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-30-2013, 06:55 PM
Salmantheman Salmantheman is offline
Ms. AWesome ;)
Location: Dubai
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 68
Mein Auto: E66
Quote:
Originally Posted by PAPER View Post
your sure you checked the 2 green fibre optic cable ?
those are the only lines on it . the other L7 plug has
a lot of wires on it .

TAKE A PIC OF THE LEFT SIDE OF YOUR TRUNK & POST IT
Ill send a picture later, just closed the the whole setup and ready up for a trip to office. and yes it was the cable with the smaller housing and the other one is a lot bigger cable. But i am talking about the FO cable...

No light there
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-01-2013, 04:05 PM
Salmantheman Salmantheman is offline
Ms. AWesome ;)
Location: Dubai
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 68
Mein Auto: E66
ummmm BUMP :S
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-02-2013, 06:24 PM
Mongooose Mongooose is offline
Registered User
Location: Mobile, Al
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Mein Auto: 2006 750Li
As a possibility, my wife's 750 had the Idrive act up, it would stop somewhere during starting up, not always at the same place, but it would always lock up, and the Idrive knob would feel different when turning it. Long story short she had a cigaret lighter phone charger die and it blew a fuse in the glove box. Replaced fuse and Idrive went right back to working fine.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-02-2013, 06:25 PM
PAPER's Avatar
PAPER PAPER is online now
CRISP & CLEAN
Location: on the moon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,995
Mein Auto: Ford Pinto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Salmantheman View Post
ummmm BUMP :S
still waiting for that pic ...
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-02-2013, 07:09 PM
SuperSnoop's Avatar
SuperSnoop SuperSnoop is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Austin, Texas
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 559
Mein Auto: 2007 760Li
Nothing on my Idrive Works

Have you traced back the red light as documented in the PDF that BSOD linked? We can traced it over the Internet. Help us help you.


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-03-2013, 01:21 AM
Salmantheman Salmantheman is offline
Ms. AWesome ;)
Location: Dubai
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 68
Mein Auto: E66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mongooose View Post
As a possibility, my wife's 750 had the Idrive act up, it would stop somewhere during starting up, not always at the same place, but it would always lock up, and the Idrive knob would feel different when turning it. Long story short she had a cigaret lighter phone charger die and it blew a fuse in the glove box. Replaced fuse and Idrive went right back to working fine.
Oh.. the front lighter did sop working on my car a few weeks before this happened .. i will surly change it i return back to dubai, I am in Italy for a summer vacation when i go back next week.. it will be the first thing i do. thanks
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-03-2013, 01:24 AM
Salmantheman Salmantheman is offline
Ms. AWesome ;)
Location: Dubai
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 68
Mein Auto: E66
Quote:
Originally Posted by PAPER View Post
still waiting for that pic ...
Sorry Paper.. Had to travel on a impromptu vacation .. i am back next week ...
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-03-2013, 02:27 PM
PAPER's Avatar
PAPER PAPER is online now
CRISP & CLEAN
Location: on the moon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,995
Mein Auto: Ford Pinto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Salmantheman View Post
Sorry Paper.. Had to travel on a impromptu vacation .. i am back next week ...
No Prob , I just wanted to see what units you have so I could
try & help you start looping them to find the problem .
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-08-2013, 04:33 AM
Salmantheman Salmantheman is offline
Ms. AWesome ;)
Location: Dubai
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 68
Mein Auto: E66
Quote:
Originally Posted by PAPER View Post
No Prob , I just wanted to see what units you have so I could
try & help you start looping them to find the problem .
So heres what it looks like. I have tried looping the L7, SVS, Bluetooth module, and the Sat Nav DVD player. Also, i noticed that the red light isnt on, Someone in my thread said that i need to change a few fuse (my lights aint working) apparently the lighter switch dont work either. Even after changing the fuses.

A little about the history, i recently had changed my Alternator and a new battery and had it registered too. (i dont know how that helps me diagnose this but i have a hunch that it may have had played some kinda role in this)

My dismay in a Nutshell
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_00000277.jpg
Views:	103
Size:	95.2 KB
ID:	380745   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_00000278.jpg
Views:	106
Size:	102.0 KB
ID:	380746  
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 06-08-2013, 04:37 AM
Salmantheman Salmantheman is offline
Ms. AWesome ;)
Location: Dubai
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 68
Mein Auto: E66
Its getting hot in dubai so stripping open and closing is not an easy exercise
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-08-2013, 01:00 PM
PAPER's Avatar
PAPER PAPER is online now
CRISP & CLEAN
Location: on the moon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,995
Mein Auto: Ford Pinto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Salmantheman View Post
So heres what it looks like. I have tried looping the L7, SVS, Bluetooth module, and the Sat Nav DVD player. Also, i noticed that the red light isnt on, Someone in my thread said that i need to change a few fuse (my lights aint working) apparently the lighter switch dont work either. Even after changing the fuses.

A little about the history, i recently had changed my Alternator and a new battery and had it registered too. (i dont know how that helps me diagnose this but i have a hunch that it may have had played some kinda role in this)

My dismay in a Nutshell
ok which lights aint working ?
as for your lighter , look in the socket & see if
anything dropped in there & is shorting it out .
check all your fuses in the glove box & in the trunk .

now you fibre optic line .
1'st disconnect the L7 fibre optic & tell me if there is a red light on or flashing .
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-09-2013, 08:23 AM
Salmantheman Salmantheman is offline
Ms. AWesome ;)
Location: Dubai
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 68
Mein Auto: E66
Quote:
Originally Posted by PAPER View Post
ok which lights aint working ?
as for your lighter , look in the socket & see if
anything dropped in there & is shorting it out .
check all your fuses in the glove box & in the trunk .

now you fibre optic line .
1'st disconnect the L7 fibre optic & tell me if there is a red light on or flashing .
Nope the red light on the fiber optic is not blinking nor on... its just blank nothingness
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-09-2013, 04:57 PM
PAPER's Avatar
PAPER PAPER is online now
CRISP & CLEAN
Location: on the moon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,995
Mein Auto: Ford Pinto
Re: Nothing on my Idrive Works

Quote:
Originally Posted by Salmantheman View Post
Nope the red light on the fiber optic is not blinking nor on... its just blank nothingness
Ok . Now I suggest you check the Fibre optic
Line on the AT Tuner in your C-Pillar to see
If it has a blinking red light .

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06-10-2013, 02:13 PM
Salmantheman Salmantheman is offline
Ms. AWesome ;)
Location: Dubai
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 68
Mein Auto: E66
Quote:
Originally Posted by PAPER View Post
Ok . Now I suggest you check the Fibre optic
Line on the AT Tuner in your C-Pillar to see
If it has a blinking red light .

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Tried to figure out how to pull out the C-pillar today.. but it wasnt a few plastic clip removing job. Ill research a little on bimmerfest and check that tomorrow morning
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 7 Series / 8 Series > 7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008)
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms