Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 7 Series / 8 Series > 7 Series - E38 (1995 - 2001)

7 Series - E38 (1995 - 2001)

Old 06-28-2013, 08:26 AM

Mein Auto: 2000 740iL
E38 M62 Elusive Code + Electrical Issue

Hey everybody,

I just joined but have been combing these forums for weeks now searching for solutions. I recently got a 2000 BMW 740iL, I am a mechanic, saw the check engine light was on, heard lifter ticking...no biggie for me. Until I scanned it, P0102. MAF or VAF Low cir blah blah blah. Cleaned the MAF, took apart the entire intake system, inspected it for vac leaks, cracking elbows/tubing. I then notice the secondary air valve is missing a hose.(The hose with fast connect plastic end pieces on it) I remove the front bumper to access the secondary air pump. It's not plugged in. So, I plug it in. I then fashion a vacuum hose that fits onto the pump and valve perfectly...lol . I refuse to dish out 40 bucks for a hose. I snug everything up and run a quick start up to make sure the air pump is operating correctly, I start the vehicle, to my surprise everything seems to be working (minus the same elusive p0102). I then find the blue and black vac hose coming from the Air Switch I cant recall if thats the correct name for that device due to the amount of reading I've been doing. It's plugged with a bolt. I hook it to the air valve along side my new hose. Same code, rough idle(almost feels like a bad motor mount only once shes warm the vibration goes away) .