Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > Z Series > E89 Z4 (2009 - current)

E89 Z4 (2009 - current)

Old 08-11-2013, 01:59 PM

Mein Auto: None
MY FIRST CAR!! CPO Z4 vs New 3 series?? PLEASE HELP!

Hello, I'm planning to get my first car next month and I'm heavily discussing this with my parents, friends, etc which one to get since I'm not a big car-geek and I'm actually a beginner at this whole car thing.

My budget is around 35k, and I'm considering between New BMW 3 series or Certified Pre-Owned Z4. Although I do not know much about CPO Bimmers, there are pretty good deals out there in dealer stores (like 2011+ Z4s between 15k-20k miles for 35k-40k bucks).

My dream car always has been a Z4, but new Z4 is too much for me as a graduate student.

My Question is - are CPO Z4's gonna be as good as new Z4's? Or would I be better off with new 3 series?

I'd really appreciate anyone out there who has good knowledge about CPO, Thanks...
Advertisement
Old 08-11-2013, 03:48 PM
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest

Mein Auto: 2012 328i
Having owned both a Z4 and 3 series cabrio and living in the Boston area, I would recommend the 3. If you plan to drive the Z in our winters you'll find it less than usable. Low ground clearance is a problem. The 3 worked fine for me in snow, though I had 4 snow tires on it.
335Cabrio-2011 ED -retired
Z435i 2009 -retired

Z4 2004 -retired
Old 08-11-2013, 04:08 PM

Mein Auto: BMW Z4 & BMW 335