Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series / 4 Series > E90/E91/E92/E93 (2006 - 2013)

E90/E91/E92/E93 (2006 - 2013)
The E9X is the 4th evolution of the BMW 3 series including a highly tuned twin turbo 335i variant pushing out 300hp and 300 ft. lbs. of torque. BMW continues to show that it sets the bar for true driving performance! -- View the E9X Wiki

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-26-2013, 04:21 AM
pokkel pokkel is offline
Registered User
Location: South Africa - Johannesburg
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4
Mein Auto: 2006 320i
Battery replacement

Hi guys.

I have a 2006 320i. The battery died on me last night and I'm just wondering what spec battery I should install.

I'm not going for an OEM, but the quotes I got from different battery guys, are all different specs. Some are 652Ds, 668D, 658's... The one I have in my car at the moment is a 640 or 670... Can't remember now. I know it should be a 80Ah battery, but how important are the rest of the specs?

Last edited by pokkel; 08-26-2013 at 04:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
Ads by Google
  #2  
Old 08-26-2013, 04:39 AM
ramblinman ramblinman is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Virginia
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 231
Mein Auto: 99 328i
With a replacement battery, if you change the specs, you will need to have a mechanic recode the DME to the new specs. With any battery, even an exact replacement, you will need to have a mechanic register the battery, which tells the DME a new battery is installed. You can find the specs on the top of the battery. You can do the recoding and registration if you get your own software and a cable to connect a laptop to the OBD port. Personally, I just decided to get a BMW replacement to make sure I have the same specs and have an indy mechanic do the registration.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-26-2013, 04:43 AM
pokkel pokkel is offline
Registered User
Location: South Africa - Johannesburg
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4
Mein Auto: 2006 320i
My cousin is a mechanic BMW, so he will be able to register the battery... He also said with the older E90 models, it is sometimes not necessary. But I would like to do it anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-26-2013, 08:59 AM
ctuna ctuna is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: usa
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,186
Mein Auto: 325xi wagon
amp hour specs are the most important to match

amp hour specs are the most important to match
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-27-2013, 03:24 AM
pokkel pokkel is offline
Registered User
Location: South Africa - Johannesburg
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4
Mein Auto: 2006 320i
Hi guys.

I installed the new battery this morning.

The original was a 640Ah, the new one is a 670Ah and 85A... The size was a 668P.

Do you think it will be necessary to do a DME recode and battery registration? I have been told it's not necessary for my model, but I would like to be sure about this.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-27-2013, 08:26 AM
ctuna ctuna is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: usa
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,186
Mein Auto: 325xi wagon
Those are not amp hour specs you are quoting

Those are not amp hour specs you are quoting
Amp hour specs would be no more than 120 if you had a 640 amp hour spec battery it would fill your whole trunk or it would be Telsa.
You are confusing cca or one of the other specs. The battery manufacturers usually don't state ah specs they stare capacity .
the battery that fits will either be a group 49 or a 92r I believe.

Last edited by ctuna; 08-27-2013 at 08:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-01-2013, 02:14 PM
BB_cuda's Avatar
BB_cuda BB_cuda is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Clear Lake, Texas
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 656
Mein Auto: 2011 335D Msport
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
amp hour specs are the most important to match
Follow up on this please. Been looking on line for a couple days now. Goal is to find an aftermarket replacement where 1) match the same 90 Ahr capacity and 2) use BT to register it. I have used the search and understand if the specs change then the BT can not be used. Apparently, there is another OBD hookup called INPA (thanks CALWATERBOY) that enables changes in specs and type. So, the aftermarket guys are good at quoting the CCA values but hardly any quote Ahr values. What gives? I went to Sears and they have either group 49 (over 13 in long) or group 94R is 12.4" long. My battery length is 12.4" with 720 CCA and 90 Ah. P/N is 61217604820. Google has never heard of this p/n. The Sears group 49 is 750 CCA. Counter guy couldn't tell me Ah rating.

After all of this, if the CCA were close but not a match (750 vs 730) and the Ah is a match, will i be okay using the BT cable/software? The closest aftermarket that i found was 730 CCA and i believe it's a group 94R made by Bosch and sold at Pepboys. Once again, no clue what it's Ah rating is.

I'm trying to employ the KISS principle (keep it simple stupid) and go with BT method. I want to buy the BT for many other things that I read you guys are doing. I would hate to buy the INPA just for different battery specs. KISS may be telling me to just suck it up and go buy one at the dealer (or tischer) with 720 CCA and 90 Ah and use the BT for registration.

Last edited by BB_cuda; 09-01-2013 at 02:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-01-2013, 05:04 PM
ctuna ctuna is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: usa
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,186
Mein Auto: 325xi wagon
I used a Interstate megatron 49/h8

I used a Interstate megatron 49/h8
It is slightly better than the 95 amp hr I had .
Registered by coding software Winkfp as Inpa was coming up with
error's.

There is a formula for figuring out amp hours from the capacity number .
My capacity number was something like 160 and the AH worked out to 105 or 110.

The coding software can do many more things than BT and is not VIN limited.
It's not as user friendly or in English though.

If you really want to do everything you need a copy of ISTA and the three base coding programs.
See coding board.
http://www.e90post.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=368

and or bmwcoders.com

With a coding setup and ista you can do everything bmw does and more than they will do.

Last edited by ctuna; 09-01-2013 at 05:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series / 4 Series > E90/E91/E92/E93 (2006 - 2013)
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms