Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > M Series > E36 M3 (1995-1999)

E36 M3 (1995-1999)

Old 10-06-2013, 09:01 AM

Mein Auto: 98 M3
Total Noob looking for advice

I'm new to the BMW world. Driving a 98 M3 sedan with about 150k (daily driver) and looking for advice on practical upgrades. Most of my driving is on the highway. No racing/track.... Also, what type of issues should I be looking out for with a car at this mileage?
Advertisement
Old 10-13-2013, 11:07 AM

Mein Auto: 997S
man, that's a loaded question. Search some of the sticky threads for maintenance lists.
if you want to keep it feeling stock'ish, then maybe change out the shocks and bushings, which if original, have long outlasted their life. Koni sport shocks, new OEM bushings can change the feel of the car in a strongly positive way
91 Brilliantrot e30 M3- Restored to Factory
02 e46 M3 track car
90 Spec Miata
e36 325is Lemons beater!
GL450- family hogger
Sold- 95 M3 Lightweight
Sold- '07 E63 daily driver
SOLD 2006 ///M3, Titanium/Black Leather, SMG, Nav v31, V1 Hardwired
SOLD 1999 ///M3, Cosmos/Dove Grey, DINAN CAI, MAF, Software, Throttle body, Exhaust. Deeply Missed.
Old 10-23-2013, 10:04 PM

Mein Auto: 1996 328i
A nice cold air intake will give you a better sound. and a bit better mpg.also very east to do. well worth it.
Old 10-28-2013, 06:52 AM
Git

Mein Auto: 90 Ford Tempo
Important:
Before you start wasting $$ on bling, find out if the cooling system has been overhauled.