Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series / 4 Series > E90/E91/E92/E93 (2006 - 2013)

E90/E91/E92/E93 (2006 - 2013)
The E9X is the 4th evolution of the BMW 3 series including a highly tuned twin turbo 335i variant pushing out 300hp and 300 ft. lbs. of torque. BMW continues to show that it sets the bar for true driving performance! -- View the E9X Wiki

Old 10-31-2013, 07:16 PM

Mein Auto: 2011 328xi
An observation on MT vs AT

I've been driving since 1985. In that time, I have driven an Automatic for about 5,000 miles (mostly my wife's cars) and a manual for almost 400,000 miles (my cars). It's obvious which I prefer.

Last night, I picked up a loaner BMW X1 with an AT. I was excited to experience the turbo 4 with approx. 250hp and 250lbs of torque. It was not what I expected. As far as acceleration, engagement and excitement are concerned, it disappointed compared to my previous "lesser" vehicles: Integra GSR (170hp, 140lbs), A4 (180hp, ?lbs) and GTI (200hp, 211lbs). I could not control the car the way I wanted to and it left me frustrated in the same way that all ATs have left me.

For a bulky wagon, the car handled like a BMW, though.

If BMW offered a MT in the X1, they would have a sweet little niche wagon that would blow away the competition. The Audi Allroad isn't offered with an MT and I don't think the new Volvo V60 will come in a manual either. Honestly, if I were in the market for a wagon, I'd go with a Jetta Sportwagon over the X1 because of the transmission options.