Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > Z Series > E36/7 Z3 (1996-2002)

E36/7 Z3 (1996-2002)
E36/7 Z3 Roadster, Z3 coupe, Z3 M Roadster and Z3 M Coupe talk with our gurus here.

Old 11-12-2013, 08:46 AM

Mein Auto: 2003 X5, 2001 Z3
Question Trunk Interior question

Hello all, newbie here. Great forum.

I searched through the forum for about 45 minutes and couldn't find anything on the trunk interior panel removal process.

I'm attempting to install a VHF/UHF radio transceiver in the trunk of my Z3 with a wired control head mounted on the front of the interior center console.

I need to know how to remove the interior trunk panels correctly (which fasteners, where they are located and process for removing the fasteners) and in what order.

Poking around in my trunk, I found some round plastic fasteners along the center top section of the trunk coupled with some plastic "buttons" that have accessories on each of them (like cell phone and other accessories that apparently the vehicle is already wired for (but the options aren't installed).

Does anyone have any information on how to drop the interior trunk panels so I can run some control head and speaker wires for the transceiver from the trunk area to the inside of the vehicle along side the console toward the front of the console so I can mount the transceiver head on the front lower section of the console (next to the cigarette lighter)?

Thanks,
Rick
Ads by Google
Old 11-12-2013, 12:07 PM

Mein Auto: -98 Mroadster S50 Estoril