Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series / 4 Series > F30 / F31 / F32 / F33 (2012 - current)

F30 / F31 / F32 / F33 (2012 - current)
The sixth generation 3 series, chassis code F30. 2013 model year 328i and 335i sedans now in production. Read the F30 frequently asked question thread for all your basic question and dive into all the details in the ultimate F30 information thread.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-15-2013, 02:19 PM
Heybuzzz Heybuzzz is offline
Registered User
Location: CLT
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 83
Mein Auto: A4
Digital MPH Display

Is there a way to turn on a digital MPH display in the instrument panel? I have a new 4 series, but did not get the Tech or Driver assist package.

I did get M Sport and Nav...

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
  #2  
Old 11-15-2013, 02:51 PM
khammack khammack is offline
Warning - Thin Air
Location: Denver, Colorado
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 686
Mein Auto: 2002 M Roadster/2014 435i
I think if you push the button at the end of the stalk on the left, you can rotate through what is displayed at the lower center of your dash. Which ever one you stop on becomes the default to display. I believe MPH is in the list.
__________________

2014 435i M-Sport, Mineral Gray, Black Dakota Leather, Driver Assistance Pkg, Prem Pkg, Tech Pkg, 8 Speed Sport AT, Heated Front Seats, Active Cruise Control, BMW Perf Tune w/MPE, BMW Limited Slip Diff, BBS CH Wheels.

2002 M Roadster, Steel Gray Metailic, Gray Nappa Leather, Black Soft Top, Steel Gray Metailic Hard Top, TC Kline Double Adj Shocks with H&R Springs, Stromung Exhaust, SSR Type C Wheels.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-15-2013, 03:06 PM
Heybuzzz Heybuzzz is offline
Registered User
Location: CLT
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 83
Mein Auto: A4
Yeah, I thought that would work, but I do not see a active MPH. Really weird...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-15-2013, 03:26 PM
Trey100 Trey100 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: New York
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 266
Mein Auto: 2007 E90 335
Digital MPH Display

That is a coding option as far as I know. Not standard for the US Market.


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-15-2013, 04:20 PM
khammack khammack is offline
Warning - Thin Air
Location: Denver, Colorado
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 686
Mein Auto: 2002 M Roadster/2014 435i
Interesting. My Mini (by BMW) had that option, but I just checked my 435 and it isn't available.
__________________

2014 435i M-Sport, Mineral Gray, Black Dakota Leather, Driver Assistance Pkg, Prem Pkg, Tech Pkg, 8 Speed Sport AT, Heated Front Seats, Active Cruise Control, BMW Perf Tune w/MPE, BMW Limited Slip Diff, BBS CH Wheels.

2002 M Roadster, Steel Gray Metailic, Gray Nappa Leather, Black Soft Top, Steel Gray Metailic Hard Top, TC Kline Double Adj Shocks with H&R Springs, Stromung Exhaust, SSR Type C Wheels.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-15-2013, 05:55 PM
greywolf328i greywolf328i is online now
BMW New Guy
Location: Eastern NC
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 314
Mein Auto: 2014 328i
Re: Digital MPH Display

Can be done with coding, along with other things not available for US market.

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
'14 328i Sport Line - Mineral Grey/Black-Red Dakota Tech/Lighting/Premium/HK -Sport Auto w/ paddles

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-15-2013, 07:47 PM
Kaxon Kaxon is offline
Registered User
Location: California
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 72
Mein Auto: 981 Cayman S
I'm really missing the digital speedometer. On my RX-8 it was only digital... it's taking some adjustment to go back to the old fashioned needle reading.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-15-2013, 08:35 PM
gkr778 gkr778 is offline
Novice driver
Location: Bowie, Maryland, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,190
Mein Auto: 2014 320i ZSP ZMT
Quote:
Originally Posted by greywolf328i View Post
Can be done with coding, along with other things not available for US market.
Yup, change the value of option BC_Digital_V in the 3000 module, KOMBI ECU to 'aktiv'.
__________________
What the world needs is a few more rednecks - Charlie Daniels
Tell you about rednecks. They’re probably the only people in the whole country that ain’t unfit. - Fred Reed
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-16-2013, 05:28 AM
lax854 lax854 is offline
Registered User
Location: new york
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 81
Mein Auto: dodge neon
ok rookie question here.....can the dealer recode it for you????
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-16-2013, 08:37 AM
gkr778 gkr778 is offline
Novice driver
Location: Bowie, Maryland, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,190
Mein Auto: 2014 320i ZSP ZMT
Quote:
Originally Posted by lax854 View Post
ok rookie question here.....can the dealer recode it for you????
A dealer can (meaning they have the equipment necessary to perform coding tasks), but Bimmerfest members more experienced than I am have reported in other threads that dealers typically won't.

Your best bet is to work with a fellow Bimmerfest member in your area willing to assist you with coding. See this thread.
__________________
What the world needs is a few more rednecks - Charlie Daniels
Tell you about rednecks. They’re probably the only people in the whole country that ain’t unfit. - Fred Reed

Last edited by gkr778; 11-16-2013 at 08:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-18-2013, 07:34 AM
Heybuzzz Heybuzzz is offline
Registered User
Location: CLT
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 83
Mein Auto: A4
Thanks for the info.. I really hate the fact that It's not a standard option so I'm hoping the dealer will change it.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-18-2013, 09:02 AM
raleedy's Avatar
raleedy raleedy is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Oregon
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,129
Mein Auto: 2013 F10 528i
Quote:
Originally Posted by khammack View Post
I think if you push the button at the end of the stalk on the left, you can rotate through what is displayed at the lower center of your dash. Which ever one you stop on becomes the default to display. I believe MPH is in the list.
Just avg mph.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-18-2013, 09:03 AM
raleedy's Avatar
raleedy raleedy is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Oregon
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,129
Mein Auto: 2013 F10 528i
A digital readout for an inaccurate speedometer? What's the point?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-18-2013, 11:41 AM
KAP8's Avatar
KAP8 KAP8 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Leesburg, VA
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,866
Mein Auto: Nothing
Quote:
Originally Posted by raleedy View Post
A digital readout for an inaccurate speedometer? What's the point?
Actually one of the coding options is to correct the inaccurate speedometer so that it displays your actual speed and not a few miles per hour higher. However, I did not have this done when my car was coded with the digital "M style" speedometer.
__________________
BMWCCA # 409820 |
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series / 4 Series > F30 / F31 / F32 / F33 (2012 - current)
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms