Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series / 4 Series > E36 (1991 - 1999)

E36 (1991 - 1999)
The E36 chassis 3-Series BMW was a huge hit among driving enthusiasts from the first moment the car hit the pavement. The E36 won numerous awards over the years it was produced and is still a favorite of many BMW enthusiasts to this day! -- View the E36 Wiki

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #26  
Old 11-29-2013, 01:53 AM
vengenz vengenz is offline
Registered User
Location: Arizona
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 42
Mein Auto: 1996 328is
Ive had P0455 has been there since I got the car. The code only shows when I get below a quarter tank. I replaced all the ccv system. I checked for any leaks, but found none. Ill snap a picture of the injectors in the morning.

The part numbers for the o2 sensor is the same for all 4, could I swap the sensor throwing a code with a post cat sensor to check?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-29-2013, 02:55 AM
drivinfaster's Avatar
drivinfaster drivinfaster is offline
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: in the sticks you piney
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10,707
Mein Auto: rescued bmw's
no, not necessarily. it depends on *why* the code was set. if the code was set due to a dead/dying sensor, then you will wind up throwing catalyst efficiency codes by swapping it out with a secondary o2 sensor.

if it was set due to the dme being unable to curb in the fuel trim, even a new sensor will do nothing to get rid of the code.

you need to look at the fuel trim numbers in order to be able to determine this. this info should be displayed as 'ltft' and 'stft', long term fuel trim and short term fuel trim. long term is the parameter that will set when fuel trim is beyond factory specifications.





df
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-29-2013, 03:28 AM
Nicky3 Nicky3 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Nashville,TN
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 497
Mein Auto: 96 328is
Once again I'll mention that I had everyone of those codes at the same time when I was given my car. I had all kinds of vacuum leaks. The boot , hoses, you name it. I can almost assure you that a big vacuum leak is your problem. Blow some cigar smoke thru your brake booster hose and watch where it escapes from. Then sit back and enjoy the cigar knowing you found your problem. In my mind, a vacuum leak is the only thing that can cause your issue, after knowing all the parts you changed.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-29-2013, 01:00 PM
vengenz vengenz is offline
Registered User
Location: Arizona
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 42
Mein Auto: 1996 328is
Will the AutoZone scanner show the fuel trim numbers?

And I checked for the vacuum leaks with the brake booster line, and nothing. Smoked a cigar in disappointment.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-29-2013, 01:19 PM
ZeGerman's Avatar
ZeGerman ZeGerman is offline
Warm Leatherette
Location: Seattle, WA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 18,744
Mein Auto: 1998 BMW 328is
No, it won't.
__________________

1998 BMW 328is
1966 Pontiac GTO
2007 Subaru Impreza 2.5i 5-door
View my photos: Caught in the Wild
For sale: E30/E36 front sway links
For sale: OEM E36 328 catback
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 11-29-2013, 09:26 PM
drivinfaster's Avatar
drivinfaster drivinfaster is offline
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: in the sticks you piney
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10,707
Mein Auto: rescued bmw's
it should, as i understand the requirements for 'scan tools' to be able to do so. however, a 'scan tool' and 'code reader' are 2 different animals. depending upon the tool that the store uses, it might be able to show this information if the person using it has the ability to be able to use it properly.

however my experience has not been very positive in this regard, so i doubt that your experience will vary from this.





df
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 11-29-2013, 09:31 PM
vengenz vengenz is offline
Registered User
Location: Arizona
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 42
Mein Auto: 1996 328is
Im in good with a manager at AutoZone, anytime I come in he gives me the fany $300 tool and puts the cheap one back. It has live drive diagnostics so it should tell me what's up.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 11-30-2013, 02:11 PM
vengenz vengenz is offline
Registered User
Location: Arizona
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 42
Mein Auto: 1996 328is
If the link works, this is the splatter. http://rs1312.pbsrc.com/albums/t531/...0?t=1385841980
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 11-30-2013, 02:14 PM
Nicky3 Nicky3 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Nashville,TN
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 497
Mein Auto: 96 328is
Are you loosing coolant?
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 11-30-2013, 02:19 PM
vengenz vengenz is offline
Registered User
Location: Arizona
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 42
Mein Auto: 1996 328is
Not that I know of. No overheating issues
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 11-30-2013, 02:37 PM
Nicky3 Nicky3 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Nashville,TN
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 497
Mein Auto: 96 328is
There is nothing in my mind that I can think of that will tie all those codes together accept a massive vacuum leak or a head gasket failure.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 11-30-2013, 02:58 PM
vengenz vengenz is offline
Registered User
Location: Arizona
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 42
Mein Auto: 1996 328is
I did spot a small exhaust leak on the flange off of bank 1 headers. But its small
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 12-02-2013, 06:57 AM
Leusent Leusent is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 471
Mein Auto: 328is
I wonder if your DME got wet at any point? Might be worth a quick check to see if your drains are clogged up. If they are, I'd suspect DME.
__________________
Winter: 1997 DOHC I-6 2.8L 5Spd BMW 328is (2-Door)
Summer: 1992 DOHC I-4 2.0L 5Spd Toyota MR-2 Turbo (2-Seat)
Summer: 1983/1984/2007 Honda CB550SC/VF500F/CBR600RR (2-Wheel)
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 12-02-2013, 11:24 AM
vengenz vengenz is offline
Registered User
Location: Arizona
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 42
Mein Auto: 1996 328is
How do I check that?
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 12-02-2013, 12:13 PM
vengenz vengenz is offline
Registered User
Location: Arizona
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 42
Mein Auto: 1996 328is
Dme looks like its seen some water love.
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 12-02-2013, 12:14 PM
Nicky3 Nicky3 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Nashville,TN
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 497
Mein Auto: 96 328is
I think u found your problem.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 12-02-2013, 12:22 PM
vengenz vengenz is offline
Registered User
Location: Arizona
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 42
Mein Auto: 1996 328is
How do I replace that? Aren't they coded to the specific car?
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 12-02-2013, 05:05 PM
dc_wright's Avatar
dc_wright dc_wright is online now
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: Orlando, Florida
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,839
Send a message via ICQ to dc_wright
Mein Auto: '96 328iC, '04 325Ci
Where in Arizona did you see enough water to get your DME flooded?!?!
__________________
2006 Z4 3.0si Sport Package (But I'll still hang with my "homies" in the E36 forum)
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 12-02-2013, 05:14 PM
vengenz vengenz is offline
Registered User
Location: Arizona
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 42
Mein Auto: 1996 328is
When rain decides to show its face here, it goes hard. Hahaha
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 12-03-2013, 11:30 AM
hnaz hnaz is offline
BMW CCA Member
Location: Communist Republic of Maryland
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,619
Mein Auto: 328i, M3, 325is M-Tech
What kind of DME do you have? I have a spare silver label I can send you (if that's what you have), but you'll need to chip it for your car. I'd suggest a Turner one.
__________________
Harry // 1995 Avus Blue M3 - 1994 Alpine Weiss 325is M-Tech (converted to a true M3 prototype) - 2010 Black Sapphire Metallic 128i M - Sport // BMW CCA #453346 - North Capitol Chapter
My 325is M-Tech Restoration Thread
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 12-03-2013, 11:33 AM
vengenz vengenz is offline
Registered User
Location: Arizona
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 42
Mein Auto: 1996 328is
Im not sure. Whatever comes stock in a 96 328is. Could I pull the chip in it now and put it in?
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 12-03-2013, 11:41 AM
hnaz hnaz is offline
BMW CCA Member
Location: Communist Republic of Maryland
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,619
Mein Auto: 328i, M3, 325is M-Tech
Quote:
Originally Posted by vengenz View Post
Im not sure. Whatever comes stock in a 96 328is. Could I pull the chip in it now and put it in?
Not really. That chip is programmed for that CMOS on your current DME. But you can find out by pulling the DME out of the box (unplug the harness, two bolts on both sides, pull it out). Then look on the top (It will say BOSCH or SIEMENS). Different DMEs from Bosch will have different colors like Red, Silver/White, and Green. But I think yours might be silver. Red label was more for earlier cars.

Here is what I am talking about with Turner chips:

http://www.turnermotorsport.com/p-35...or-delete.aspx

They program the chip specifically for your car, mods, etc. And if you have problems, they have an amazing staff to help you troubleshoot. If all else fails, send the chip in, they send you another one, no questions asked.

But before all of that, you may want to pull your DME out, pull up on the tabs and remove the 4 torx screws (T8 I believe), and check inside for any moisture or corrosion or any type of previous moisture.
__________________
Harry // 1995 Avus Blue M3 - 1994 Alpine Weiss 325is M-Tech (converted to a true M3 prototype) - 2010 Black Sapphire Metallic 128i M - Sport // BMW CCA #453346 - North Capitol Chapter
My 325is M-Tech Restoration Thread
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 12-03-2013, 12:56 PM
hornhospital's Avatar
hornhospital hornhospital is offline
D'oh, You kids!
Location: In the Grumpy Chair
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 14,137
Mein Auto: 1995 318is / 1993 325is
You cannot chip a '96 ECU. It has to be reflashed. '95 was the last year for a removable chip.
__________________
Quotes to live by:
guessing gets expensive...drivinfaster
nothing is more expensive than a cheap BMW...c4harpe13

Ken Kanne, Silverhill, AL, E36 Forum Mod/Craigslist addict/Hoarder of all sorts of stuff
BMW-CCA #441426
1995 318is "Bebe"; 1993 325is "Elvira" 1985 635CSi "Katja" 1984 633CSi "Sylvia"
HAVE I HAD MY MEDS YET?

Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 12-03-2013, 04:28 PM
vengenz vengenz is offline
Registered User
Location: Arizona
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 42
Mein Auto: 1996 328is
the bottom of the dme, the top side looked fine. The dme is Siemens also.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 12-03-2013, 06:56 PM
drivinfaster's Avatar
drivinfaster drivinfaster is offline
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: in the sticks you piney
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10,707
Mein Auto: rescued bmw's
yeah,.....that's not a good thing...





df
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
328is, e36, misfire


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series / 4 Series > E36 (1991 - 1999)
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms