Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series / 4 Series > E90/E91/E92/E93 (2006 - 2013)

E90/E91/E92/E93 (2006 - 2013)
The E9X is the 4th evolution of the BMW 3 series including a highly tuned twin turbo 335i variant pushing out 300hp and 300 ft. lbs. of torque. BMW continues to show that it sets the bar for true driving performance! -- View the E9X Wiki

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-25-2014, 10:32 PM
IvanC IvanC is offline
Registered User
Location: Phoenix
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Mein Auto: 328i
3 Series Audio issue

Hi Bimmer land, I'm new to this site, so please forgive my lengthy question.
I have a 3 Series with the BMW professional head unit within it that I would like to replace with an after market head unit. I see on the back of the BMW professional unit, it has a fiber optic output that I am advised feeds an amplifier in the trunk.
What I would like to do, is to connect the front and rear RCA outputs on the new head unit to the fiber optic line to use the amplifier already in the vehicle. Does anyone know of a supplier that provides a cable or interface that will allow me to connect to the existing in car wiring and allow the RCA output on the new unit to be converted to fiber optic via the existing cable plug?

Many thanks for any guidance available.
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
  #2  
Old 08-25-2014, 10:59 PM
ctuna ctuna is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: usa
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,417
Mein Auto: 325xi wagon
Not possible

The Head Unit does not determine the sound system the type amp or lack of amp does.
Not possible if you have the L7 amplifier. no analog inputs
If you have Hi Fi its possible because the amp has analog inputs
There is only one aftermarket head unit manufacturer that makes a device to convert
analog signals to the BMW proprietary fiber optic format and they have just come
out with that device . See dynavin N6 thread. (its the only one that will work with the L7 amp)

You need to determine if you have L7 or Hi Fi .
Hi Fi uses the fiberoptic for things like PDC , blutetooth and ipod in 09 and earlier models.(but not for audio signals)
Also for a BMW e90 specific stereo board go here.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27

BMW stereo types
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=352586
http://www.e90post.com/forums/attach...2&d=1266451970
http://www.e90post.com/forums/attach...2&d=1260829447
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=343673
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=138949
http://www.e90post.com/forums/attach...1&d=1209780605
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=641323
http://bmwcoders.com/forum/3-er-8/bm...1-e92-e93-291/
http://www.e90post.com/forums/attach...1&d=1209780865
http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j...,d.cGU&cad=rja
http://www.musicarnw.com/page-2/
http://www.e90post.com/forums/attach...4&d=1278871872


http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...ght=dynavin+n6

Last edited by ctuna; 08-26-2014 at 11:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-25-2014, 11:16 PM
IvanC IvanC is offline
Registered User
Location: Phoenix
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Mein Auto: 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by IvanC View Post
Hi Bimmer land, I'm new to this site, so please forgive my lengthy question.
I have a 3 Series with the BMW professional head unit within it that I would like to replace with an after market head unit. I see on the back of the BMW professional unit, it has a fiber optic output that I am advised feeds an amplifier in the trunk.
What I would like to do, is to connect the front and rear RCA outputs on the new head unit to the fiber optic line to use the amplifier already in the vehicle. Does anyone know of a supplier that provides a cable or interface that will allow me to connect to the existing in car wiring and allow the RCA output on the new unit to be converted to fiber optic via the existing cable plug?

Many thanks for any guidance available.
Thanks for the links, I will have a good read
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-26-2014, 06:16 AM
fdriller9 fdriller9 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: NJ/Philly
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3,897
Mein Auto: '06 AW 330xi
Yes there are summing modules for fiber optic systems. They are very expensive and not worth it.

You're better off relocating your head unit (if you have l7) and using the aux input if you only want to install an aftermarket HU.

There's a DIY guide on e90post about relocating the OEM HU.
__________________

| LCI Msport Conversion | Custom Kevlar/Carbon Fiber Wind Splitter | Exotic Tuning Front Lip | H&R Coilovers | M3 Subframe Bushings | E93 M3 23.6mm Rear Sway Bar | Whiteline 27mm Front Sway Bar | Ground Control Camber Kit | L7 | Hand-Made LED Angel Eyes | Breyton GTS-R | Bridgestone Pole Position S-04 | CarPC with Centrafuse Front End | Alpine MRP-M500 | Custom LED Reverse Lights | OEM Blacklines | BMW Performance Trunk Spoiler |
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-26-2014, 08:23 AM
IvanC IvanC is offline
Registered User
Location: Phoenix
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Mein Auto: 328i
Thanks for the heads up in terms of the cost issue. I don't have the I7 system in the car. Front doors (mid and tweeters); Rear shelf (mid and tweeters); under the front seats (sub woofers).


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-26-2014, 08:29 AM
Wongway Wongway is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Pittsburgh
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 449
Mein Auto: BMW X3
Then get one of these...
http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=786992

No need to rewire or connect RCAs to the existing amp. Everything on this plugs right into factory harnesses.

You'd lose the factory aux and usb inputs (if you had that option installed) but you can install new ones in their place because the head unit has those inputs as well.

You'd also have to wire a new microphone, since this unit has its own built in bluetooth for phone AND for streaming audio from your phone.


This might not be of a huge benefit to you though, if you had Factory Navigation?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-26-2014, 10:58 AM
ctuna ctuna is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: usa
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,417
Mein Auto: 325xi wagon
Fyi

head unit
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...ight=head+unit
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
http://www.janus-design.net/english/
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=355089
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...ight=head+unit
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...light=retrofit
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=993447
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1016187
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin

Be aware that there may be side effects like
1) Without the original head unit mounted some BMW dealers won't be able to perform software
updates or repairs to your car. Some people do a parallel mount as described in the
second link above to avoid this.
2) Depending on options you may get some error codes as the fiberoptics bus connects to
bluetooth , Sos , PDC beeps though head unit , usb/ipod modules that are separate from the radio.
When they are dissconnected the car considers them faulty.
If you have PDC I think the only head unit that will work with it is again the Dynavin.
You can code some of the errors out.

Last edited by ctuna; 08-26-2014 at 11:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series / 4 Series > E90/E91/E92/E93 (2006 - 2013)
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms