Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 7 Series / 8 Series > 7 Series - E38 (1995 - 2001)

7 Series - E38 (1995 - 2001)

Old 08-27-2014, 03:25 PM

Mein Auto: 730i e38
Angry 1995 730I e38 wont rev past 2900rpm???

Hi guys this is my first time using this forum, Im hoping to get some expert knowledge as ive had no luck with my bmw mechanic so far, anyway, I have a 1995 730i e38 right hand drive bmw and it will not rev past 2900rpm, when it hits 2900rpm it "spikes" or feels like a sensor turns off and it kills the power, I have taken it to my local bmw mechanic and had it plugged on the diagnostic machine and it came back with the "crank shaft sensor pulse generator" so I bought a brand new 1 from bmw and fitted it to the car which made no difference, also tried a different harmonic balancer / crank shaft pulley and made no difference either, my bmw mechanic doesn't really have a clue as to what it is now, he now thinks it could be the ecu not processing the crank sensor right or something like that, hope some1 else has had this problem before and can help me! Engine light is not on and car still drives perfectly fine as long as I don't put my foot down, it is also petrol 3l v8. Please help! Thank you

Last edited by Jaysbmw7; 08-27-2014 at 03:28 PM.
Advertisement
Old 08-27-2014, 05:36 PM
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest

Mein Auto: 2001 740i Sport
Maybe this might shed some light on it

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...ar+dies+at+rpm
Old 08-27-2014, 05:47 PM