BMW 3.0 CSL #25 Wins Again

by Bernie McGroarty on March 11, 2014, 4:04 pm

39 Years after winning the 1975 12 Hours of Sebring, BMW 3.0 CSL #25 Wins Best-in-Class at 2014 Amelia Island Concours d’Elegence.

Woodcliff Lake, NJ – March 11, 2014 . . . The BMW 3.0 CSL Group 4 race car that won the 1975 12 Hours of Sebring wins Best-in-Class at the 2014 Amelia Island Concours d’Elegance. The BMW 3.0 CSL Group 2 race car that won the 1973 European Sedan Championship takes second at the Concours. The highlight of the class of BMW 3.0 CSL race and road cars was the Alexander Calder BMW Art Car from 1975—the very first in the now legendary series of BMW Art Cars.

The 3.0 CSL race cars were the first cars to be developed under the then-new BMW Motorsport GmbH subsidiary, established in 1972 and led by Jochen Neerpasch. They were also the first to sport the new official colors of BMW Motorsport—red, purple and blue. Based on the production 3.0 CS coupe, the aluminum skinned CSL (L = lightweight) homologation special, nicknamed the ‘Batmobile’ by its fans, formed the basis for an assault on Group 2 through Group 5 European touring car racing that would make it one of the most successful production racers of all time.


The class-winning 3.0 CSL was one of a group of five chassis campaigned by BMW of North America in the 1975 and 1976 IMSA Camel GT Series in Group 4 specifications. Campaigned under the racing numbers #24 and #25, the CSL enjoyed considerable success winning at Sebring, Riverside, Laguna Seca, Daytona and Talladega in 1975. Several iconic drivers were involved in the American success of the CSL’s, including Brian Redman, Hans Stuck, Sam Posey, Ronnie Peterson, Dieter Quester, Benny Parsons, Peter Gregg and David Hobbs. This car, sporting race number 25, is part of the BMW of North America Classic collection and is configured as it raced and won at the 1975 running of the 12 Hours of Sebring with drivers Brian Redman, Hans Stuck, Sam Posey and Alan Moffat.

The BMW 3.0 CSL race car that took runner-up honors was built in 1972 to compete in FIA Group 2. This particular car brought the 1973 European Sedan Championship to Dieter Quester and Toine Hezemans and is owned and vintage raced by BMW collectors Scott and Fran Hughes of Sunset, South Carolina.

The BMW 3.0 CSL class also included the car that won the 24 Hours of Daytona in 1976 driven by Brian Redman, Peter Gregg and John Fitzpatrick.

A limited number of BMW 3.0 CSL models were produced and sold for street use in order to homologate the car for racing. The road-going BMW 3.0 CSLs featured in the class at the 2014 Amelia Island Concours d’Elegance included a car entered by Indy 500 winner and BMW Team RLL team principal, Bobby Rahal.

The class-winning BMW 3.0 CSL #25 will be featured in the Gallery of Legends at the 62nd running of the 12 Hours of Sebring this weekend.

More on BMW at the Amelia Island Concours d'Elegence here!

Check out some pics from the Concours here!

Leave a Comment

You must be a registered member to comment on stories. Please take a moment to register for your free account now. If you already have an account, log in using fields below.

1 responses to BMW 3.0 CSL #25 Wins Again

captainaudio commented:
March 13, 2014, 2:29 pm

The #25 car is owned by BMW North America.

My friend Simon Kirkby, who is the coach for the Lime Rock Drivers Club drove the car in the 2012 Lime Rock Historic Races. In both races he had the pole and lead every lap.

I have both 1/18 and 1/43 die cast models of the #24 the #25 and the #42 car. They are signed by Sam Posey and Simon Kirkby and will be auctioned off at Climb to the Clouds Six to raise money for Survive The Drive.