coding Speed Limit Display - Page 3 - Bimmerfest - BMW Forums



Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming

BMW Coding and Programming
Discuss coding options and features on your BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51  
Old 08-21-2015, 09:25 AM
Vinnya320 Vinnya320 is offline
Registered User
Location: PA
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 19
Mein Auto: F80 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by neo_andersson View Post
Coding will require adding 8TH to VO and code CIC/NBT and kombi/dkombi.
Wiring instructions are provided with adapter.
thanks neo. are both units posted here the same? the euro one is more expensive than the Chinese one. unsure as to which one to order. coding seems simple enough. thanks!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #52  
Old 08-21-2015, 10:06 AM
neo_andersson's Avatar
neo_andersson neo_andersson is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Bucharest, Romania
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 353
Mein Auto: 2014 640xd
i can not tell anything about the Chineese one. According to label on it its doing something else, it enables 7E FSC code in a KAFAS2 unit, so car must have Kafas in order for SLI to work. The European unit (which we manufacture) is a standalone solution for Speed Limit Display, taking info from navigation system and showing it on cluster and/or HUD. Our unit works with or without KAFAS so is a good solution for cars without Kafas. FOr forum memebers we have a 50 euro discount available. Use coupon code "SLI50" during checkout to claim it
__________________
F13 640xd M Aerodynamics Package / AC Schnitzer Performance Upgrade / 360CP - 690Nm / Individual RubinSchwarz Metallic / EVO ID5 / Digital Cluster (6WB)
F36 420xd M Sport Package/MPPK 200CP-420Nm/Individual Frozen Bronze Metallic/Individual Merino Muskat leather / EVO ID5 + EVO RSE + Touch Command
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 08-21-2015, 10:27 AM
Vinnya320 Vinnya320 is offline
Registered User
Location: PA
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 19
Mein Auto: F80 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by neo_andersson View Post
i can not tell anything about the Chineese one. According to label on it its doing something else, it enables 7E FSC code in a KAFAS2 unit, so car must have Kafas in order for SLI to work. The European unit (which we manufacture) is a standalone solution for Speed Limit Display, taking info from navigation system and showing it on cluster and/or HUD. Our unit works with or without KAFAS so is a good solution for cars without Kafas. FOr forum memebers we have a 50 euro discount available. Use coupon code "SLI50" during checkout to claim it

thanks! no kafas here so I think I'm going to try your solution. can you confirm that you have done an install with this unit and it does work? thanks! I'll be placing an order later today.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #54  
Old 08-21-2015, 10:33 AM
neo_andersson's Avatar
neo_andersson neo_andersson is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Bucharest, Romania
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 353
Mein Auto: 2014 640xd
we installed more then 10 units during the last week after it went on sale. This solution was tested by us for the last 2 months using Europe and North America Premium and Next maps (2015-2) and is working very well.
We also have some test units out in different parts of the world and waiting for functionality feedback from beta-testers (Shawn is one of them). As system uses map SLI data we can confirm now is working with Europe and North America maps but have not tested yet for other regions (Asia, Australia, Middle East, North Africa, etc.) This maps must contain SLI data for unit to work.

I see you are in US so will not be a problem for you.
__________________
F13 640xd M Aerodynamics Package / AC Schnitzer Performance Upgrade / 360CP - 690Nm / Individual RubinSchwarz Metallic / EVO ID5 / Digital Cluster (6WB)
F36 420xd M Sport Package/MPPK 200CP-420Nm/Individual Frozen Bronze Metallic/Individual Merino Muskat leather / EVO ID5 + EVO RSE + Touch Command
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 08-21-2015, 10:35 AM
Vinnya320 Vinnya320 is offline
Registered User
Location: PA
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 19
Mein Auto: F80 M3
great! thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 08-21-2015, 10:46 AM
secany secany is offline
Registered User
Location: Melbourne
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 68
Mein Auto: 650i F13
Hi neo_andersson,
Do you think it works with BMW i8 ?
I have X5 F15 and BMW i8 , both of them are using Australia 2015 maps.
If you confirm that it will works for both X5 and i8, display on NBT and/on HUD, and of course, with proper easy DIY instruction, I'll get 2 units.
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 08-21-2015, 10:57 AM
neo_andersson's Avatar
neo_andersson neo_andersson is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Bucharest, Romania
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 353
Mein Auto: 2014 640xd
Hi, we did not tested with Australia maps. We dont know if NBT map of Australia contains SLI data. You can get 1 unit for testing in both cars, if OK you can order a second one, if not you can return it for refund.
__________________
F13 640xd M Aerodynamics Package / AC Schnitzer Performance Upgrade / 360CP - 690Nm / Individual RubinSchwarz Metallic / EVO ID5 / Digital Cluster (6WB)
F36 420xd M Sport Package/MPPK 200CP-420Nm/Individual Frozen Bronze Metallic/Individual Merino Muskat leather / EVO ID5 + EVO RSE + Touch Command
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 08-22-2015, 02:36 AM
GDMERC GDMERC is offline
Registered User
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 66
Mein Auto: 2013 528xi
Does it come with instructions on how to install it?
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 08-22-2015, 05:31 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 35,692
Mein Auto: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by GDMERC View Post
Does it come with instructions on how to install it?
Yes.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 08-23-2015, 04:17 AM
miotoo miotoo is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 336
Mein Auto: F10 520d
Regarding the Chinese box, the label is as usual in China - says "BMW" and "FSC" and "KAFAS2" and "NBT" but it is none of these..and it is not an "FSC emulator".

The box is tapping into the PT_CAN network and injecting code to bypass the requests where KOMBI is asking KAFAS or KAFAS2 for validating a road sign signal.

The PT_CAN network already exists in any Fxx series as part of the ZGW gateways and is activated with coding / VO coding the relevant features. It will work on any car whether it has no KAFAS or any version of it.

For me they are worth the 30 USD that they are sold for and will do the job apparently. If I spend 200 USD I can retrofit a used KAFAS 1 + CAMERA and have the other benefits like a path for LDW etc..

What is interesting to find out, is whether any of these boxes interfere with LDW, ACC, CDW and other features that the car may have installed, while not having SLI.
__________________

F10 520d Deep Sea Blue 11.04.2011/16:24

Retrofitted:
5DF Active Cruise Control with Stop & Go incl. Collision Warning with Brake Function /ver. 1
2TB DEC Switch for Normal / Sport / Sport+ Writeup: https://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=685869
8TH SLI Speed Limit Info / KAFAS 1
5AD LDW Lane Departure Warning / KAFAS 1
319 Universal Garage Door Opener
6WA Instrument Cluster with Extended Contents
Reply With Quote
  #61  
Old 08-23-2015, 06:27 AM
neo_andersson's Avatar
neo_andersson neo_andersson is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Bucharest, Romania
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 353
Mein Auto: 2014 640xd
I can speak only for our "box", there is no interferance with any of the car systems. We installed already in Fxx with LDW, ACC, TLC, standard cluster, 6WA and 6WB.
Also, our box has dual functionality as it can be configured by internal dip switch to activate 7E FSC code if KAFAS2 is installed.
So it can be used as a stand alone map based SLI device for cars without KAFAS or as KAFAS2 SLI 7E FSC code activator if a used KAFAS2 ECU is retrofited with pre-loaded 7E FSC from donor car.
__________________
F13 640xd M Aerodynamics Package / AC Schnitzer Performance Upgrade / 360CP - 690Nm / Individual RubinSchwarz Metallic / EVO ID5 / Digital Cluster (6WB)
F36 420xd M Sport Package/MPPK 200CP-420Nm/Individual Frozen Bronze Metallic/Individual Merino Muskat leather / EVO ID5 + EVO RSE + Touch Command
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 08-23-2015, 06:32 AM
ViperX ViperX is offline
Registered User
Location: Yorkshire
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 15
Mein Auto: 420D
After some research heres what ive managed to find. FOLLOW AT YOUR OWN RISK, I WILL NOT BE HELD LIABLE AS THIS IS FOR INFORMATION PURPOSES ONLY

Locate the wiring connector to the kombi and remove it


Remove the small connector thats inside of it




Locate the wires, i believe
Pin 1-Power
Pin 7-Ground
Pin 6- CAN High
Pin 12-CAN Low




The SLI adapter has four wires, connect
Pin 1-Power
Pin 2-Ground
Pin 3-CAN High
Pin 4-CAN Low




VO code 8TH and activate


Last edited by ViperX; 08-23-2015 at 06:43 AM. Reason: Tweaking pics
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 08-23-2015, 09:15 PM
secany secany is offline
Registered User
Location: Melbourne
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 68
Mein Auto: 650i F13
Hi neo_andresson and Shawn,
On this thread: https://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...624810&page=11
Original quote from Shawn: https://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...&postcount=254
He has Pro Nav with NBT and latest 2015 Australia NEXT map. The problem is BMW did not license SLI Map Data, so it is blocked in Australia.

Shawn confirm that Australia map did not have SLI data, so your hardware will NOT work with Australia maps, right?
If so, of course China solution won't work as well.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 08-23-2015, 09:35 PM
neo_andersson's Avatar
neo_andersson neo_andersson is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Bucharest, Romania
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 353
Mein Auto: 2014 640xd
I am not 100% sure SLI data is missing in Australia NEXT map.
We could not test yet in a live car driving in Australia.
Anybody willing to test it can do so, if not working can return the adapter for a refund.
__________________
F13 640xd M Aerodynamics Package / AC Schnitzer Performance Upgrade / 360CP - 690Nm / Individual RubinSchwarz Metallic / EVO ID5 / Digital Cluster (6WB)
F36 420xd M Sport Package/MPPK 200CP-420Nm/Individual Frozen Bronze Metallic/Individual Merino Muskat leather / EVO ID5 + EVO RSE + Touch Command
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 08-24-2015, 02:35 AM
g4movtpt g4movtpt is offline
Registered User
Location: spain
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 96
Mein Auto: bmw 520da 2014
Where can i find the kombi if i have the nbt after 2013? I have no kombi isn't it?
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 08-24-2015, 03:02 AM
neo_andersson's Avatar
neo_andersson neo_andersson is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Bucharest, Romania
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 353
Mein Auto: 2014 640xd
you have kombi or dkombi
__________________
F13 640xd M Aerodynamics Package / AC Schnitzer Performance Upgrade / 360CP - 690Nm / Individual RubinSchwarz Metallic / EVO ID5 / Digital Cluster (6WB)
F36 420xd M Sport Package/MPPK 200CP-420Nm/Individual Frozen Bronze Metallic/Individual Merino Muskat leather / EVO ID5 + EVO RSE + Touch Command
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 08-24-2015, 03:24 AM
secany secany is offline
Registered User
Location: Melbourne
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 68
Mein Auto: 650i F13
Quote:
Originally Posted by neo_andersson View Post
I am not 100% sure SLI data is missing in Australia NEXT map.
We could not test yet in a live car driving in Australia.
Anybody willing to test it can do so, if not working can return the adapter for a refund.
check my email, i was about to put order, but asked more about another product so I could save on shipping.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 08-24-2015, 04:15 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 35,692
Mein Auto: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by secany View Post
Hi neo_andresson and Shawn,
On this thread: https://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...624810&page=11
Original quote from Shawn: https://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...&postcount=254
He has Pro Nav with NBT and latest 2015 Australia NEXT map. The problem is BMW did not license SLI Map Data, so it is blocked in Australia.

Shawn confirm that Australia map did not have SLI data, so your hardware will NOT work with Australia maps, right?
If so, of course China solution won't work as well.
To clarify, BMW not license Australia SLI Data; however, I do not know if a) SLI Data is missing from map or b) SLI Data is present, and blocked. So if the latter is true, then Adapter would work if SLI Data can be unblocked.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 08-24-2015, 05:00 AM
g4movtpt g4movtpt is offline
Registered User
Location: spain
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 96
Mein Auto: bmw 520da 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by neo_andersson View Post
you have kombi or dkombi
Thanks and where can i find it?
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 08-24-2015, 05:25 AM
neo_andersson's Avatar
neo_andersson neo_andersson is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Bucharest, Romania
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 353
Mein Auto: 2014 640xd
You dont need Smart Opener. In you car this option can be installed with OEM parts and coded.
__________________
F13 640xd M Aerodynamics Package / AC Schnitzer Performance Upgrade / 360CP - 690Nm / Individual RubinSchwarz Metallic / EVO ID5 / Digital Cluster (6WB)
F36 420xd M Sport Package/MPPK 200CP-420Nm/Individual Frozen Bronze Metallic/Individual Merino Muskat leather / EVO ID5 + EVO RSE + Touch Command
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 08-24-2015, 06:23 AM
GDMERC GDMERC is offline
Registered User
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 66
Mein Auto: 2013 528xi
Quote:
Originally Posted by neo_andersson View Post
You dont need Smart Opener. In you car this option can be installed with OEM parts and coded.
How difficult is the installation?
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 08-24-2015, 07:08 AM
neo_andersson's Avatar
neo_andersson neo_andersson is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Bucharest, Romania
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 353
Mein Auto: 2014 640xd
you are asking for smart opener option or speed limit info?
__________________
F13 640xd M Aerodynamics Package / AC Schnitzer Performance Upgrade / 360CP - 690Nm / Individual RubinSchwarz Metallic / EVO ID5 / Digital Cluster (6WB)
F36 420xd M Sport Package/MPPK 200CP-420Nm/Individual Frozen Bronze Metallic/Individual Merino Muskat leather / EVO ID5 + EVO RSE + Touch Command
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 08-24-2015, 07:20 AM
GDMERC GDMERC is offline
Registered User
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 66
Mein Auto: 2013 528xi
Speed limit info
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 08-24-2015, 07:24 AM
neo_andersson's Avatar
neo_andersson neo_andersson is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Bucharest, Romania
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 353
Mein Auto: 2014 640xd
what car you have? you have kafas or not?
__________________
F13 640xd M Aerodynamics Package / AC Schnitzer Performance Upgrade / 360CP - 690Nm / Individual RubinSchwarz Metallic / EVO ID5 / Digital Cluster (6WB)
F36 420xd M Sport Package/MPPK 200CP-420Nm/Individual Frozen Bronze Metallic/Individual Merino Muskat leather / EVO ID5 + EVO RSE + Touch Command
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 08-24-2015, 08:18 AM
DTKT DTKT is offline
Registered User
Location: Singapore
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 74
Mein Auto: BMW E90 325
Hi Neo, can ask, if my car dont have camera, LDW, ACC and TLC, can this work ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

See More Related BMW Stories


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
© 2001- VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.