How to tell if software is outdated? - Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > X Series > X1 E84 (2011 - 2015)

X1 E84 (2011 - 2015)
First generation BMW X1 availbe as a X1 28i with either sDrive (RWD) or xDrive (AWD) or the US exclusive I6 N55 powered X1 35i xDrive.

Old 07-26-2017, 10:03 AM

Mein Auto: 2014 x1
How to tell if software is outdated?

Greetings. Can anyone help me understand how to identify whether my onboard navigation and other software is outdated on 2014 x1? I use an ios10 phone. I assume that i need to check software versions via settings but i dont know how to interpret the data and what to compare it to. I am new to this and feeling a bit lost. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-05-2017, 12:59 PM
'02 Z3 3.0i

Mein Auto: Z3 3.0 & X1 sDrive28i
Stevis -

Google search for "BMW software update". You'll find a BMW website that has a place to enter the last 7 characters of your VIN to access the latest software for your car. I believe this software ONLY affects the iDrive (infotainment center) of your car. After entering a valid VIN the software will direct you to a site where you can download the latest version. In my case the file was named "UPD01008.bin" and was about 8MB in size. I downloaded that and chose the option on the car iDrive system to update the software. Put the downloaded file on a USB memory stick that is formatted using the "FAT" (stands for File Access Table) format. With the memory stick in place, select the option to update software - and IF (AND ONLY IF) it sees a suitable software update file on that memory stick it will attempt to update the software. Takes maybe a minute or less and shows a progress bar that goes to 100%. When done it will congratulate you and you're done. It will also provide an option to roll back to the prior version of software should you have any reason to do so. I think that option remains available indefinately - but I could be wrong about that.