Advice for newbie on a few topics... - Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Buyers Guide - Dealers, resources, pricing, tips and trick > Ask-A-BMW-Dealer

Ask-A-BMW-Dealer
Talk to our team of BMW Client Advisors from supporting BMW dealerships. Get all of your BMW pricing, ordering, buying, financing, and leasing questions answered here!

Old 10-07-2002, 01:52 PM

Mein Auto:
Advice for newbie on a few topics...

My wife and I are looking forward to purchasing a 2003 325i. Actually we almost closed a deal over the weekend on one that my local dealer had on the lot, but we couldn't work out an acceptable trade-in agreement. (i.e. They wouldn't give me enough for my trade). Other than this weekend's experience, I am new to the BMW buying process, and I'm looking for some advice on a few topics.

1. From what I've read on this board, it seems that you can order a BMW for a little below MSRP. Other than getting exactly what you want and negotiating a lower price, what other advantages are there to ordering a BMW as opposed to buying something already on the lot? I guess the dealerships don't normally keep much on the lot, but my local dealer just happened to have EXACTLY what we wanted - 325i white/tan leather - premium package - automatic. The price on it was $33,490.

2. I have been pondering financing options - traditional, Performance Loan, or Select. I have heard both good and bad things about the Select program, but the lower monthly payments sure make that financing option appealing. What are your opinions/experiences with this program, if any? I worry somewhat about the balloon payment on the end. I'm looking for any good advice on financing options.

3. I have heard numerous rumors regarding scheduled maintenance and the BMW warranty. Is there any truth to the statements below?

- If you miss a scheduled maintenance on your BMW you're factory warranty is void. True or False?