E-Series Soot and ash levels check on ISTA + - Bimmerfest - BMW Forums



Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming

BMW Coding and Programming
Discuss coding options and features on your BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-19-2020, 06:28 PM
MRAI MRAI is offline
Registered User
Location: Melbourne
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 21
Mein Auto: BMW X5
Soot and ash levels check on ISTA +

Hello Everyone.

Could I please know how do I find soot and ash levels for DPF using ISTA +.

I have run, DDE measure value and diagnosis Scan using ECU Functions.

Cannot find soot and ash levels check.

X 5 2007 - 140k. ISTA + 4.10, using K+D-CAN cable.

I have INPA as well.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-21-2020, 07:15 AM
Marco_R Marco_R is offline
Registered User
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 22
Mein Auto: BMW
Hello.

Have you checked vehicle management / service functions / power train / digital diesel electronics in ISTA?
There should be a menu item to read out the measured values.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-22-2020, 02:01 AM
MRAI MRAI is offline
Registered User
Location: Melbourne
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 21
Mein Auto: BMW X5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marco_R View Post
Hello.

Have you checked vehicle management / service functions / power train / digital diesel electronics in ISTA?
There should be a menu item to read out the measured values.
Thanks for the reply.

I have run measured value. Please see attached images.

There are three options
1. General measured values
2. Measured values for air mass system
3. Measured values for rail pressure control

I don't see soot and ash level. Still learning.

Regards
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	General Meausred Value.JPG
Views:	29
Size:	32.9 KB
ID:	879359   Click image for larger version

Name:	Measure Value for Air Mass System.JPG
Views:	25
Size:	42.1 KB
ID:	879361   Click image for larger version

Name:	Measured Value Rail Pressure.JPG
Views:	30
Size:	31.5 KB
ID:	879363  

Last edited by MRAI; 01-22-2020 at 02:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old 01-22-2020, 07:12 AM
Marco_R Marco_R is offline
Registered User
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 22
Mein Auto: BMW
Hello.

Try Control unit tree / DDE / call up ECU functions (shown at the bottom left of the desktop) / Diagnosis scan / Microfilter
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-22-2020, 09:09 AM
MRAI MRAI is offline
Registered User
Location: Melbourne
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 21
Mein Auto: BMW X5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marco_R View Post
Hello.

Try Control unit tree / DDE / call up ECU functions (shown at the bottom left of the desktop) / Diagnosis scan / Microfilter
I have tried mentioned option too but unfortunately cannot find only selective options
Attached DDE ECU Functions.jpg

on the same note I saw a video on YouTube and using the same options it showed Soot Mass.
Attached ECU_Soot Mass Menu.jpg

Don't know the reason why is not showing in my installed ISTA? I am using ISTA+ 4.10.

Thanks for help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DDE ECU Functions.JPG
Views:	23
Size:	96.6 KB
ID:	879383   Click image for larger version

Name:	ECU_Soot Mass Menu.JPG
Views:	25
Size:	46.3 KB
ID:	879385  
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-22-2020, 11:33 AM
Marco_R Marco_R is offline
Registered User
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 22
Mein Auto: BMW
Hello.

This function (soot and ash levels) may not be available on the N57. Then I only have Tool32 as a possible solution.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-23-2020, 01:26 AM
MRAI MRAI is offline
Registered User
Location: Melbourne
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 21
Mein Auto: BMW X5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marco_R View Post
Hello.

This function (soot and ash levels) may not be available on the N57. Then I only have Tool32 as a possible solution.
N57 Engine compatibility? Would same ISTA+ version will have those other options for other BMW vehicle?

Will do some finding with Tool32. Cannot find through INPA.

Interested to know what others use to find ash and soot levels? Carly?

Thanks again for your help. Still learning..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-23-2020, 05:25 AM
Marco_R Marco_R is offline
Registered User
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 22
Mein Auto: BMW
Yes, it can be assumed that the newer models or rather the new software versions of the DME / DDE in ISTA offer better / further options.
Reply With Quote
Reply

See More Related BMW Stories

Tags
dpf, ista+


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
© 2001- VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.