Video module. Video INPUT possible? - Page 14 - Bimmerfest - BMW Forums



Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 7 Series & 8 Series > 7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008)

7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008)
Discussion of BMW's 4th generation E65/E66 7 Series flagship. The E65 generated much controversy, due to its radical styling and iDrive user difficulties. Nonetheless, the E65 broke records to become the best-selling 7-series iteration ever, especially after its 2005 facelift.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #326  
Old 10-18-2019, 04:36 PM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 751
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
I only get my crackling sound when on 474Mhz with my diy adapter to the active antenna that I got with my DAB+ reciver. Any other frequency ive tried and I get a no signal instead.

My DIY adapter straight into the VM gives me a no signal on all frequencies that I have tried.

I'm at a loss here.

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #327  
Old 10-21-2019, 06:41 AM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 751
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
Okay one reason that I don't get any picture if it is true that input = output. Might be because I wasn't able to set any lower refresh rate than 50hz on my pc at 720x576 and standard definition DVB only supports 25 fps at that resolution based on this



I will check if I can use any of those other resolutions at 25hz refresh rate.

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #328  
Old 10-21-2019, 12:19 PM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 751
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
It's at least trying at 1920x1080 @60i



Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #329  
Old 10-21-2019, 12:32 PM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 751
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
And almost there at 1440x576 @25i

This is the background picture I had set at the moment.


Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk

Last edited by vibbelito; 10-21-2019 at 02:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #330  
Old 10-21-2019, 02:54 PM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 751
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
Well in kind of work now. I managed to find a program that could set detailed costume screen resolution details. So now it just has to be fine tuned to the proper aspect ratio.

This is 720x576 @30i



I took a short video also so you can see the glitching that is present right now but this might be due to bad reception/transmission.



So now I have to figure out how to get the picture straight into the VM without broadcasting it. Probably a very specific frequency that has to be set.

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #331  
Old 10-22-2019, 03:47 AM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 751
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
Found this where BMW explains the difference between 8 wire (10 pin) LVDS and 2 wire LVDS that they use now. They are much compare them to the difference between parallel port and USB. Parallel and serial.




Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #332  
Old 10-22-2019, 06:31 AM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 751
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
Okay after reading some pages on the web I can assume that my bad/ no reception is due to me mixing a 75 ohm cable and 50 ohm cable. That creates reflection that might look like this and can result in package loss.



So in order to defeat this at least partially I'll most likely have to build something like this that reduce that.


Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #333  
Old 10-23-2019, 10:18 AM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 751
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
I did some more experiments and tried another much smaller 15cm mag mounted 50 ohm tv antenna which seemed to work much better but still the sound is crackling and the picture breaks up every 2 seconds with 2 flashes.
I wonder if it could have anything to do with the blanking interval?

This is the settings I use in the software right now



The tv tuner seems to be able to cope with any horizontal resolution but the vertical seems like it can't be set any higher than 576i
And it seems to also work with 30hz and 35hz.


Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #334  
Old 10-27-2019, 03:17 PM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 751
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
LVDS pinout

i found a pinout of the 10 pin lvds port for the MMIF.
Click image for larger version

Name:	lvds pinout.png
Views:	8
Size:	31.7 KB
ID:	869789
Reply With Quote
  #335  
Old 10-28-2019, 12:49 AM
cimdahers cimdahers is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Riga
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 267
Mein Auto: BMW e65 730d
Tnx

Sent from my LYA-L29 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #336  
Old 10-28-2019, 02:27 AM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 751
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
Hum, looking at that pinout it looks like I wired my LVDS to HDMI cable wrong.
I wired it up based on the signal name so TX1 to tx1 tx2 to tx2 and so on.
Based on this lvds to DVI-D:


So this would be wrong based on the pinout I found.

The only thing I got right was the sync signal since that was clearly labeled on the wiring diagrams.

Last edited by vibbelito; 10-28-2019 at 06:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #337  
Old 10-28-2019, 06:11 AM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 751
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
Since I can't get the tv transmitter to work at all with a direct input into the VM and only partially with the soldered antenna, I'm going to try to make this instead and hope that the picture and sound will be stable.



If that doesn't work I'm stuck..
Reply With Quote
  #338  
Old 10-29-2019, 05:36 AM
cigas4 cigas4 is offline
Registered User
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 27
Mein Auto: BMW E65 745D
Quote:
Originally Posted by vibbelito View Post
Well in kind of work now. I managed to find a program that could set detailed costume screen resolution details. So now it just has to be fine tuned to the proper aspect ratio.

This is 720x576 @30i



I took a short video also so you can see the glitching that is present right now but this might be due to bad reception/transmission.



So now I have to figure out how to get the picture straight into the VM without broadcasting it. Probably a very specific frequency that has to be set.

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
You are mirroring screen here?
I have made similar upgrade using Miracast Dongle and AV To RF Converter.
Basically I can mirror screen of iphone, android or laptop.
My TV module has only analog receiver, so it is useless now when analog TV signals are shut down in my area.

Reply With Quote
  #339  
Old 10-29-2019, 05:45 AM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 751
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
Quote:
Originally Posted by cigas4 View Post
You are mirroring screen here?

I have made similar upgrade using Miracast Dongle and AV To RF Converter.

Basically I can mirror screen of iphone, android or laptop.

My TV module has only analog receiver, so it is useless now when analog TV signals are shut down in my area.



Here I am going directly from a laptop into the HDMI to Digital tv RF converter.

What av to rf converter do you use?
And what cables?
I can't get the car to find the channel when I go directly from my av to rf converter into the VM.


Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #340  
Old 10-29-2019, 05:55 AM
cigas4 cigas4 is offline
Registered User
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 27
Mein Auto: BMW E65 745D
Quote:
Originally Posted by vibbelito View Post
Here I am going directly from a laptop into the HDMI to Digital tv RF converter.

What av to rf converter do you use?
And what cables?
I can't get the car to find the channel when I go directly from my av to rf converter into the VM.


Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
I use AV cables to RF converter.
I use this converter:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/AV-To-RF-Co...3HRnO-XBQQZCuw
Reply With Quote
  #341  
Old 10-29-2019, 05:57 AM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 751
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
Quote:
Originally Posted by cigas4 View Post
I use AV cables to RF converter.

I use this converter:



https://www.ebay.com/itm/AV-To-RF-Co...3HRnO-XBQQZCuw
Thanks, how do your RF to fakra cable look like?
From this transmitter to the tv module

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #342  
Old 10-29-2019, 06:01 AM
cigas4 cigas4 is offline
Registered User
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 27
Mein Auto: BMW E65 745D
Quote:
Originally Posted by vibbelito View Post
Thanks, how do your RF to fakra cable look like?
From this transmitter to the tv module

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
I go directly to antena plug of TV module, from RF converter.
Reply With Quote
  #343  
Old 10-29-2019, 06:03 AM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 751
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
Quote:
Originally Posted by cigas4 View Post
I go directly to antena plug of TV module, from RF converter.
Can you please link the cable you used?

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #344  
Old 10-29-2019, 06:11 AM
cigas4 cigas4 is offline
Registered User
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 27
Mein Auto: BMW E65 745D
Quote:
Originally Posted by vibbelito View Post
Can you please link the cable you used?

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
It is custom made cable
As I remember I just bought two different connectors, for RF module side and for TV module. Then using some tv cable and these two connectors, made a simple cable.
I can take a photo later today.
Reply With Quote
  #345  
Old 10-29-2019, 07:04 AM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 751
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
Quote:
Originally Posted by cigas4 View Post
It is custom made cable

As I remember I just bought two different connectors, for RF module side and for TV module. Then using some tv cable and these two connectors, made a simple cable.

I can take a photo later today.
Oh cool, yes pleas do take a picture

How did you solve the power for the modulator? A 12v to 230v converter?

The reason why I didn't go with one of these and chose a digital one instead that has proven to be very problematic is so that I can have HQ stereo sound since analog is only Mono sound. And so that I can name the channel and have it show up as HDMI on the idrive screen

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #346  
Old 10-29-2019, 07:14 AM
cigas4 cigas4 is offline
Registered User
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 27
Mein Auto: BMW E65 745D
Quote:
Originally Posted by vibbelito View Post
Oh cool, yes pleas do take a picture

How did you solve the power for the modulator? A 12v to 230v converter?

The reason why I didn't go with one of these and chose a digital one instead that has proven to be very problematic is so that I can have HQ stereo sound since analog is only Mono sound. And so that I can name the channel and have it show up as HDMI on the idrive screen

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
I just through away complete part of original power supply and put additional 12VDC to 5VDC regulator (because RF converter itself is working on 5VDC internally).

Which device you use?

You are right, mono sound is pretty crappy, but the rest is no problem for me. Anyway, my TV module only supports analog TV signal, so for me this is the only option.
Reply With Quote
  #347  
Old 10-29-2019, 07:38 AM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 751
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
Quote:
Originally Posted by cigas4 View Post
I just through away complete part of original power supply and put additional 12VDC to 5VDC regulator (because RF converter itself is working on 5VDC internally).



Which device you use?



You are right, mono sound is pretty crappy, but the rest is no problem for me. Anyway, my TV module only supports analog TV signal, so for me this is the only option.
I bought this modulator

"HDMI to DVB-T HD digital Encoder Modulator 1 Route 1080P RF Transmitter EMB220T"

https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/FvPX2MFIx

It works but I am not able to set a default resolution in the thing that the car supports (720x576i) so it works as so as input=output so I had to download a program to my pc to force that resolution over hdmi.

If I can't get this to work properly with a cable like yours I will get the same analog transmitter as you.

Is there any delay between you changing anything on your phone (or what ever) and it showing up on screen?

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #348  
Old 10-30-2019, 07:40 AM
cigas4 cigas4 is offline
Registered User
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 27
Mein Auto: BMW E65 745D
Quote:
Originally Posted by vibbelito View Post
I bought this modulator

"HDMI to DVB-T HD digital Encoder Modulator 1 Route 1080P RF Transmitter EMB220T"

https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/FvPX2MFIx

It works but I am not able to set a default resolution in the thing that the car supports (720x576i) so it works as so as input=output so I had to download a program to my pc to force that resolution over hdmi.

If I can't get this to work properly with a cable like yours I will get the same analog transmitter as you.

Is there any delay between you changing anything on your phone (or what ever) and it showing up on screen?

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
So yesterday I have checked my car and found out that I have just cut into one of two antenna coaxial cables and soldered my cable coming from RF module.

Now I remembered that plugging one of antenna cable out and putting there my own cable from RF module, gave me some error message on diagnostics software - TV module is missing original antenna. So then I have decided just to cut into original cable.
Reply With Quote
  #349  
Old 10-30-2019, 07:44 AM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 751
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
Quote:
Originally Posted by cigas4 View Post
So yesterday I have checked my car and found out that I have just cut into one of two antenna coaxial cables and soldered my cable coming from RF module.



Now I remembered that plugging one of antenna cable out and putting there my own cable from RF module, gave me some error message on diagnostics software - TV module is missing original antenna. So then I have decided just to cut into original cable.
Do you mean that you cut your original car antenna in half and soldered to that?

Or do you mean that you just tapped into original antenna by removing the shielding and soldering onto that without splitting the original antenna in half?

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #350  
Old 10-30-2019, 07:50 AM
cigas4 cigas4 is offline
Registered User
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 27
Mein Auto: BMW E65 745D
Quote:
Originally Posted by vibbelito View Post
Do you mean that you cut your original car antenna in half and soldered to that?

Or do you mean that you just tapped into original antenna by removing the shielding and soldering onto that without splitting the original antenna in half?

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
Yes, "tapped" is correct word
Just removed small piece of shield on side of original cable to reach wire in center of cable and soldered mine there. Original cable is still in one piece
Reply With Quote
Reply

See More Related BMW Stories


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 7 Series & 8 Series > 7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008)
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
© 2001- VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.