All BMWs Beginner's Guide to BMW ISTA+ - Page 33 - Bimmerfest - BMW Forums



Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming

BMW Coding and Programming
Discuss coding options and features on your BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #801  
Old 07-26-2019, 12:05 PM
TonyM530 TonyM530 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 1
Mein Auto:
Quote:
Originally Posted by larobs View Post
I am having issues connecting to my e65. Ista+ opens, I can enter vin manually and use ista for repair instructions and wiring diagrams. But when I try to connect I get :
"The vehicle could not be identified. Please check the access to the vehicle and check whether the tester-analysis-diagnosis has been activated."

I am using k+dcan. I followed instructions in guide, using device manager, set to com9.
checked/changed code for the following:
C:\EDIABAS\Bin\EDIABAS.INI
C:\EDIABAS\Bin\OBD.INI
even tried:
C:\Rheingold\Rheingold\Ediabas\BIN\EDIABAS.INI

I noticed that if I change port setting to com1 and use inpa, I can connect. I get errors but can still read faults. Works but not perfect. So that leads me to believe the k+dcan cable is working properly.

Is there a recommended procedure to reinstall? Or any tips/tricks I can try? I want to try everything I can before I remove all files and reinstall.

Thanks!
Hi everyone!

I have absolutely the same issue.
I did install Insta+ from this thread.
Everything went smooth, no problems with installation...
Did scan and clear codes.
Got back to insta within a month and a half and right away got "The vehicle could not be identified. Please check the access to the vehicle and check whether the tester-analysis-diagnosis has been activated."

Re-installation didn't help, getting same error.
Did switch ports from COM9 to COM1 - got connected, able to read codes BUT cannot complete Fault memory delete. Literally getting stuck when system asks to turn off the ignition and take the key off - after doing that nothing really go further of the screen with "take out the key" and cancel button.

Clicking cancel button I guess, cancelling memory fault delete.
Procedure logs says: memory fault delete completed normal, but it shows 0:00 count timer spent on it.

Any help is appreciated, yesterday got Transmission malfunction in traffic with 4e22 and 2ad0 codes popping up.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #802  
Old 08-22-2019, 12:07 PM
ERINRONELL ERINRONELL is offline
Registered User
Location: KY
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 5
Mein Auto: 550I
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
That error occurs when you have programming enabled but do not have matching data_swi (AKA SDP or Service Data) & registry entries.

It can still be use for diagnostics as well as performing procedures like registering battery.

For programming, you need additional files and ICOM. Alternatively, you can with E-sys and ENET.
Almaretto,

I have ISTA+ 4.10 and have been using ISTA generally since it first came out but only for diagnostics.

I want to enable programming but the necessary steps to do so are not clear. I've scoured the various threads but I'm not confident with what I've found, thus I resort to asking for specific assistance, please.

What Ive done so far: Created a folder called "data_swi" and placed it here: C: Rheingold/PSdz/ I then downloaded Psdzdata full and put it in the folder that I created.

Not sure what to do from here.

I attach screenshots of my registry and program folders.

Your guidance is greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Image.jpeg
Views:	106
Size:	111.3 KB
ID:	861985   Click image for larger version

Name:	Image-1.jpeg
Views:	103
Size:	108.5 KB
ID:	861987   Click image for larger version

Name:	Image-2.jpeg
Views:	99
Size:	97.9 KB
ID:	861989  
Reply With Quote
  #803  
Old 08-22-2019, 11:59 PM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7,055
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by ERINRONELL View Post
Almaretto,

I have ISTA+ 4.10 and have been using ISTA generally since it first came out but only for diagnostics.

I want to enable programming but the necessary steps to do so are not clear. I've scoured the various threads but I'm not confident with what I've found, thus I resort to asking for specific assistance, please.

What Ive done so far: Created a folder called "data_swi" and placed it here: C: Rheingold/PSdz/ I then downloaded Psdzdata full and put it in the folder that I created.

Not sure what to do from here.

I attach screenshots of my registry and program folders.

Your guidance is greatly appreciated.

Thanks
You are missing entries. Make sure you have corresponding registry entries for whatever version you have.

***91; should be [
***93; should be ]

PHP Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

***91;HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\BMWGroup\ISPI\ISTA***93;
"ProductVersion"="4.18.32.18637"
"MainProductVersion"
="4.18"
"DataVersion"
="4.18.30"
"DataVersion_en-GB"
="4.18.30"
"LogisticBaseVersion"
="4.18.33"
"SWIData"
="4.18.33" 
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	data_swi.png
Views:	67
Size:	2.9 KB
ID:	862013   Click image for larger version

Name:	Registry.png
Views:	60
Size:	3.8 KB
ID:	862015  

Last edited by Almaretto; 08-23-2019 at 12:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #804  
Old 08-27-2019, 09:22 AM
Dfhii Dfhii is offline
Registered User
Location: Wilmington, DE
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 13
Mein Auto: 2009 535i XDrive
Currently Downloading INSTA-D, Since I have an E60 do i need the SDP&BLP files for the install? I was told they're for Series other than my model. Will it corrupt the install without them? Also a Language question... Do i need all lang files included if i just want to install for english?
Reply With Quote
  #805  
Old 08-29-2019, 07:16 PM
ERINRONELL ERINRONELL is offline
Registered User
Location: KY
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 5
Mein Auto: 550I
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
You are missing entries. Make sure you have corresponding registry entries for whatever version you have.

***91; should be [
***93; should be ]

PHP Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

***91;HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\BMWGroup\ISPI\ISTA***93;
"ProductVersion"="4.18.32.18637"
"MainProductVersion"
="4.18"
"DataVersion"
="4.18.30"
"DataVersion_en-GB"
="4.18.30"
"LogisticBaseVersion"
="4.18.33"
"SWIData"
="4.18.33" 
Thanks, Im still a bit lost.
Any idea on where I can get a version of ISTA+ 4.18.

My version of psdzdata full is 14.18.33.
Reply With Quote
  #806  
Old 08-29-2019, 07:32 PM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7,055
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by ERINRONELL View Post
Thanks, Im still a bit lost.
Any idea on where I can get a version of ISTA+ 4.18.

My version of psdzdata full is 14.18.33.
Cartechnology.
Reply With Quote
  #807  
Old 10-03-2019, 12:51 AM
MrGold87 MrGold87 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 1
Mein Auto: Mini Cooper S R53 11/2003
Service Function-Body Remote Keys not sticking

Hi everyone !

New member here with a Mini R53 11/2003.

Thanks for the download links and the awesome tutorial.

I've installed everything correctly, vehicle is connected by regular usb to OBD cable.

I've tested that ISTA+ sends information to my car with an instrument test (everything lights up and the needles turn)

I bought the car with only an original non-remote key. I recently bought a new key with bar code and decided to code this in.

I put the basic, rolling, and encryption codes, I get the "writting to AM1 module".

When I go to "read key data" I still get FFFFFFFFFF on all keys.

Seems like the coding is not sticking.

Is there a solution to this ? Do I need to clear any fault codes beforehand ?

Dealer here is asking for around 400 for this so I really don't want to go down that path.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #808  
Old 10-05-2019, 02:16 PM
9secondsupra 9secondsupra is offline
Registered User
Location: New York
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 59
Mein Auto: '14 M5, '17 Escalade
My ISTAP has been working for months now without issues. Today it tells me my license has expired...Is there anyway to renew/update? Thanks in advance.
__________________
'14 M5, '11 550i xdrive, '17 Escalade
'93 Toyota Supra (8.3 seconds @ 171 mph quarter mile).


Reply With Quote
  #809  
Old 10-07-2019, 08:47 AM
9secondsupra 9secondsupra is offline
Registered User
Location: New York
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 59
Mein Auto: '14 M5, '17 Escalade
Solved. I just copied and re-pasted the license and the message did not re-appear. Strange.
__________________
'14 M5, '11 550i xdrive, '17 Escalade
'93 Toyota Supra (8.3 seconds @ 171 mph quarter mile).


Reply With Quote
  #810  
Old 10-11-2019, 09:50 AM
Old Machinist Old Machinist is offline
Registered User
Location: N. FL
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 6
Mein Auto: 2003 Z4 2.5
Please excuse my impatience if this has been answered. I read through page 4 of this thread and didn't see all my questions.

My laptop has a Dual Core 2.1 processor which is just under the hardware required specs. Will ISTA+ run on it?

Step 2 in the Guide to ISTA+ reads to "Install everything in Prerequisites folder" but I don't find that folder in the downloads. I saw a couple of questions about this in the download thread but no answers.

What are all the downloads needed to install ISTA+ on a Win7 64 bit?
Are they all in the downloads linked on this page?
Can someone give me the exact order in which I need to install?

Can I read and reset airbag codes with ISTA?

Finally, I have the cable in this picture with the switch. Does anyone have experience with this cable? How should the LED show when in use? Mine turns red at plug in and after I start the vehicle it remains red for a minute then goes out. I am wondering if I have a defective cable.


Last edited by Old Machinist; 10-11-2019 at 10:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #811  
Old 11-04-2019, 10:10 AM
Rustynuts Rustynuts is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: DC Area
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 732
Mein Auto: 16 X1 M-Sport
Hard to tell on those cables. Knockoffs are a dime a dozen. Old days you could tell a good one by color of PCB board. It's a lottery now. I had to buy several to get one working. One of my switch type ones literally came without the switch wire soldered in. Wondered why it didn't work for awhile!

Not sure on the light thing.
Reply With Quote
  #812  
Old 11-07-2019, 10:31 AM
bgt66 bgt66 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 3
Mein Auto:
Hi,
Found Ista + on this forum to service my 2 wheels Bmw.
Managed to install and run without trouble... but can't connect to the bike.
Actually, i've noticed that bottom of Ista window is hidden under Win toolbar, and i can't move the window , so unable to confirm any change ...
Any ideas ?
Reply With Quote
  #813  
Old 11-07-2019, 12:11 PM
bgt66 bgt66 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 3
Mein Auto:

Better, juste moving taskbar...
Anyway still unable to connect. I suspect my cable not being compatible (Vag Com with gs911adapter )
Reply With Quote
  #814  
Old 11-09-2019, 03:16 AM
PeppeX PeppeX is offline
Registered User
Location: Sydney
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Mein Auto: Honda
I have installed ISTA+ step by step according to the Readme.

ISTA+ works and I can connect with my car, but under Service Functions > Powertrain > Transmission Control I seem to be missing 'Adjustment', I only have 'Oil Change'. Dooes anyone know how I can get 'Adjustment' under Transmission Control? I need to reset the adaptation for my E87 130i with a GA6L45R automatic gearbox.

I have all the Engine Adjustment functions such as 'Delete Adaptation' and 'Learning Valvetronic limit position' etc
Reply With Quote
  #815  
Old 11-24-2019, 02:49 PM
dachtera dachtera is offline
Registered User
Location: Goodhue, Minnesota
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 46
Mein Auto: 2012 X3 (F25)
Hello,

Seeking what one might think a simple process, but I've been baffled.

07 X3 - Needing to do anything regarding coding or clearing errors in ISTA. When coding for example, it says: "Turn off ignition and remove key with remote control from key slot (if provided). Then wait 35 seconds. Then insert key with remote control in the key slot and turn on ignition"

At this point, I put the key back in and start the vehicle but the process hangs here and never completes.

Has anyone else run into this, or have a proper procedure for the key positions to complete the process? I need to clear the VGT errors for transfer case oil change and wear and reset adaptations as I've changed the oil and replace the TC motor.

I'm certain my ISTA and USB KDCAN cable work as expected as on my 2012 X3 I am able to clear codes without issue. - With the push button start/stop the vehicle automatically stops and restarts.

Any assistance would be helpful as we're nearing winter back here and xDrive, ABS, etc. is presently disabled because of these codes (even though I do not have the wonderful triad of lights on my dash)

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #816  
Old 11-24-2019, 02:49 PM
dachtera dachtera is offline
Registered User
Location: Goodhue, Minnesota
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 46
Mein Auto: 2012 X3 (F25)
http://media.timdachtera.com/tSlYSSpE.jpeg <-- from ISTA+

http://media.timdachtera.com/sK3Tf_T_.jpeg <-- from ISTA/P


Screenshot for reference. The second shot is from ISTA+ with a similar error. Now, I can remove some errors, for example the sunroof calibration without issue, and also I can READ values from everything including the affected VGT module and transfer case values, so communication looks to be working as expected, I'm just missing something in the clearing process involving a vehicle reset.

Last edited by dachtera; 11-24-2019 at 04:16 PM. Reason: Adding photo
Reply With Quote
  #817  
Old 12-03-2019, 10:37 AM
Gav_328t Gav_328t is offline
Registered User
Location: Devon UK
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 3
Mein Auto: 2011 F10 530d
Just realised, i've been posting in the wrong thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gav_328t
Hi Guys, new to the site but not to BMW, or DIY Diagnostics. It has been a couple of years though, so i'm a little behind with software.

I've downloaded everything as per the first post, and followed the installation guide to the letter, but it just will not work for me. I've deleted and reinstalled Ista (as per the tut), i've even gone as far as a clean install on the laptop (it's only a couple of months old, running fully up to date win10). It seems that no matter what i do, it just will not run Insta, and i get the failed to start error. I've tried to download the vcredist's from the RTF file, but the links don't work anymore, so i'm just finding what i need on google, maybe that's the issue?

I could really do with some help if at all possible, i've been trying to sort this all day today and i've had to put the laptop down now before it takes flying lessons out of the window :P

I've got a 2011 F10 530d with some red flags showing through iCarly, and it just deosn't seem to be clearing them so i was hoping for a bit more in depth diagnostics. Most of the issues that Carly is bringing up don't seem to actually be problems at all (it says the aircon is disabled, but it isn't for instance).

Any help apreciated
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gav_328t
Update: I got the software working, but when i try to connect to my car it says to check the connection or pad? I'm using an older K+Dcan USB cable, so i've just bought an Enet cable. I'll see what happens with that once it arrives
My cable is the same as Old Machinist's picture above, and it DOES work.

I've managed now to get my connection fixed, turns out that in the tutorial it says to set the serial port to com9, but in the obd.ini file it says it's using com9 for something else (no idea what), so i set it to com1 isntead and it all connects. The next problem is that i'm getting some missing dll file errors when initialy identifying and running vehicle test. It does still identify and gives me the list of ECU's etc, but after a short while (5-10 minutes) ista crashes and i have to reboot the laptop to get it to work again.

I'm currently reinstalling ISTA again to see if that fixes both issues, and i'm going to install ISTA-P as well shortly, though i won't be using P until i get ISTA+ running right

Thoughts and suggestions (and prayers etc, lol) welcome

Last edited by Gav_328t; 12-03-2019 at 10:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #818  
Old 01-01-2020, 11:47 AM
logle logle is offline
Registered User
Location: Austin
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 55
Mein Auto: E39 M5, E53 X5, E63 645ci
Is the link to the Rheingold/ISTA-D download still available? looking for a good/reliable source for the download. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #819  
Old 01-08-2020, 12:56 PM
mjksoft mjksoft is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: SA
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 166
Mein Auto: BMW750LiA
ISTA remove key Message doesn't go away

Quote:
Originally Posted by dachtera View Post
http://media.timdachtera.com/tSlYSSpE.jpeg <-- from ISTA+

http://media.timdachtera.com/sK3Tf_T_.jpeg <-- from ISTA/P


Screenshot for reference. The second shot is from ISTA+ with a similar error. Now, I can remove some errors, for example the sunroof calibration without issue, and also I can READ values from everything including the affected VGT module and transfer case values, so communication looks to be working as expected, I'm just missing something in the clearing process involving a vehicle reset.
I have same problem, as per the above screen shoot, while ISTA+ in previous installation works fine, when i remove the key the message disappear from its own, but now it keeps present until i press cancel!? this break the process??
Any idea how to resolve this problem??
Reply With Quote
  #820  
Old 01-08-2020, 03:42 PM
dachtera dachtera is offline
Registered User
Location: Goodhue, Minnesota
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 46
Mein Auto: 2012 X3 (F25)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjksoft View Post
I have same problem, as per the above screen shoot, while ISTA+ in previous installation works fine, when i remove the key the message disappear from its own, but now it keeps present until i press cancel!? this break the process??
Any idea how to resolve this problem??
I actually ended up solving my own issue here, sorry for not posting back! I found two different things which might help to depend on your version of ISTA, One is an EdiabasVoltageControl tool which essentially fakes ISTA into thinking that the power has been cut. This solved for ISTA+ for me.

For ISTA/P, there is actually a separate loader that has a similar toggle for the power that is read. I'm only using a simple USB K-DCAN cable as I was not going to shell out hundreds for the ICOM box, so depending on your configuration, this might help your situation.
Reply With Quote
  #821  
Old 01-10-2020, 06:05 AM
mjksoft mjksoft is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: SA
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 166
Mein Auto: BMW750LiA
Quote:
Originally Posted by dachtera View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjksoft View Post
I have same problem, as per the above screen shoot, while ISTA+ in previous installation works fine, when i remove the key the message disappear from its own, but now it keeps present until i press cancel!? this break the process??
Any idea how to resolve this problem??
I actually ended up solving my own issue here, sorry for not posting back! I found two different things which might help to depend on your version of ISTA, One is an EdiabasVoltageControl tool which essentially fakes ISTA into thinking that the power has been cut. This solved for ISTA+ for me.

For ISTA/P, there is actually a separate loader that has a similar toggle for the power that is read. I'm only using a simple USB K-DCAN cable as I was not going to shell out hundreds for the ICOM box, so depending on your configuration, this might help your situation.
So how and where to download and configure EdiabasVoltageControl tool?
Reply With Quote
  #822  
Old 01-18-2020, 09:42 PM
logle logle is offline
Registered User
Location: Austin
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 55
Mein Auto: E39 M5, E53 X5, E63 645ci
This is a great thread and an awesome post from Reclaimer. for the first time in MANY tries I have ISTA up and running on my windows 10 laptop! My issue now though is connecting to my 2008 BMW 5 series (build date 11/07). I have, what i believe to be a good working K+DCAN cable for post 2007 cars, but i am getting the following error message on ISTA when i attempt to read data from the car:

"The vehicle could not be identified. Please check the access to the vehicle and check whether the testing-analyses-diagnostic has been activated"

I would greatly appreciate any suggestions or ideas to get the connection established.

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #823  
Old 01-18-2020, 09:42 PM
logle logle is offline
Registered User
Location: Austin
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 55
Mein Auto: E39 M5, E53 X5, E63 645ci
This is a great thread and an awesome post from Reclaimer. for the first time in MANY tries I have ISTA up and running on my windows 10 laptop! My issue now though is connecting to my 2008 BMW 5 series (build date 11/07). I have, what i believe to be a good working K+DCAN cable for post 2007 cars, but i am getting the following error message on ISTA when i attempt to read data from the car:

"The vehicle could not be identified. Please check the access to the vehicle and check whether the testing-analyses-diagnostic has been activated"

I would greatly appreciate any suggestions or ideas to get the connection established.

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #824  
Old 01-19-2020, 07:02 AM
dachtera dachtera is offline
Registered User
Location: Goodhue, Minnesota
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 46
Mein Auto: 2012 X3 (F25)
Quote:
Originally Posted by logle View Post
This is a great thread and an awesome post from Reclaimer. for the first time in MANY tries I have ISTA up and running on my windows 10 laptop! My issue now though is connecting to my 2008 BMW 5 series (build date 11/07). I have, what i believe to be a good working K+DCAN cable for post 2007 cars, but i am getting the following error message on ISTA when i attempt to read data from the car:

"The vehicle could not be identified. Please check the access to the vehicle and check whether the testing-analyses-diagnostic has been activated"

I would greatly appreciate any suggestions or ideas to get the connection established.

Thank you!
Do you have the connection type set correctly within ISTA? I've got the Ediabas component with my version, so within the config for ISTA, I had to tell it to look at the ediabas.ini file vs. the default setting which I believe was for ICOM.

I don't have the laptop on my handy to confirm the steps to get to the config settings, but this may be a good place to start.
Reply With Quote
  #825  
Old 01-20-2020, 03:14 PM
logle logle is offline
Registered User
Location: Austin
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 55
Mein Auto: E39 M5, E53 X5, E63 645ci
BINGO! that was it and upon changing to ediabas.ini it immediately connected to the car and i have successfully read the VIN and vehicle info. Cant believe i missed this but thanks so much for the assist Dachtera! Now on to learning all the many functions!
Reply With Quote
Reply

See More Related BMW Stories

Tags
diagnostics, ista+, procedure, programming, repair, rheingold


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
© 2001- VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.