All BMWs Beginner's Guide to BMW ISTA+ - Page 33 - Bimmerfest - BMW Forums



Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming

BMW Coding and Programming
Discuss coding options and features on your BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #801  
Old 07-26-2019, 12:05 PM
TonyM530 TonyM530 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 1
Mein Auto:
Quote:
Originally Posted by larobs View Post
I am having issues connecting to my e65. Ista+ opens, I can enter vin manually and use ista for repair instructions and wiring diagrams. But when I try to connect I get :
"The vehicle could not be identified. Please check the access to the vehicle and check whether the tester-analysis-diagnosis has been activated."

I am using k+dcan. I followed instructions in guide, using device manager, set to com9.
checked/changed code for the following:
C:\EDIABAS\Bin\EDIABAS.INI
C:\EDIABAS\Bin\OBD.INI
even tried:
C:\Rheingold\Rheingold\Ediabas\BIN\EDIABAS.INI

I noticed that if I change port setting to com1 and use inpa, I can connect. I get errors but can still read faults. Works but not perfect. So that leads me to believe the k+dcan cable is working properly.

Is there a recommended procedure to reinstall? Or any tips/tricks I can try? I want to try everything I can before I remove all files and reinstall.

Thanks!
Hi everyone!

I have absolutely the same issue.
I did install Insta+ from this thread.
Everything went smooth, no problems with installation...
Did scan and clear codes.
Got back to insta within a month and a half and right away got "The vehicle could not be identified. Please check the access to the vehicle and check whether the tester-analysis-diagnosis has been activated."

Re-installation didn't help, getting same error.
Did switch ports from COM9 to COM1 - got connected, able to read codes BUT cannot complete Fault memory delete. Literally getting stuck when system asks to turn off the ignition and take the key off - after doing that nothing really go further of the screen with "take out the key" and cancel button.

Clicking cancel button I guess, cancelling memory fault delete.
Procedure logs says: memory fault delete completed normal, but it shows 0:00 count timer spent on it.

Any help is appreciated, yesterday got Transmission malfunction in traffic with 4e22 and 2ad0 codes popping up.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #802  
Old 08-22-2019, 12:07 PM
ERINRONELL ERINRONELL is offline
Registered User
Location: KY
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 5
Mein Auto: 550I
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
That error occurs when you have programming enabled but do not have matching data_swi (AKA SDP or Service Data) & registry entries.

It can still be use for diagnostics as well as performing procedures like registering battery.

For programming, you need additional files and ICOM. Alternatively, you can with E-sys and ENET.
Almaretto,

I have ISTA+ 4.10 and have been using ISTA generally since it first came out but only for diagnostics.

I want to enable programming but the necessary steps to do so are not clear. I've scoured the various threads but I'm not confident with what I've found, thus I resort to asking for specific assistance, please.

What Ive done so far: Created a folder called "data_swi" and placed it here: C: Rheingold/PSdz/ I then downloaded Psdzdata full and put it in the folder that I created.

Not sure what to do from here.

I attach screenshots of my registry and program folders.

Your guidance is greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Image.jpeg
Views:	33
Size:	111.3 KB
ID:	861985   Click image for larger version

Name:	Image-1.jpeg
Views:	31
Size:	108.5 KB
ID:	861987   Click image for larger version

Name:	Image-2.jpeg
Views:	32
Size:	97.9 KB
ID:	861989  
Reply With Quote
  #803  
Old 08-22-2019, 11:59 PM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7,006
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by ERINRONELL View Post
Almaretto,

I have ISTA+ 4.10 and have been using ISTA generally since it first came out but only for diagnostics.

I want to enable programming but the necessary steps to do so are not clear. I've scoured the various threads but I'm not confident with what I've found, thus I resort to asking for specific assistance, please.

What Ive done so far: Created a folder called "data_swi" and placed it here: C: Rheingold/PSdz/ I then downloaded Psdzdata full and put it in the folder that I created.

Not sure what to do from here.

I attach screenshots of my registry and program folders.

Your guidance is greatly appreciated.

Thanks
You are missing entries. Make sure you have corresponding registry entries for whatever version you have.

***91; should be [
***93; should be ]

PHP Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

***91;HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\BMWGroup\ISPI\ISTA***93;
"ProductVersion"="4.18.32.18637"
"MainProductVersion"
="4.18"
"DataVersion"
="4.18.30"
"DataVersion_en-GB"
="4.18.30"
"LogisticBaseVersion"
="4.18.33"
"SWIData"
="4.18.33" 
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	data_swi.png
Views:	18
Size:	2.9 KB
ID:	862013   Click image for larger version

Name:	Registry.png
Views:	17
Size:	3.8 KB
ID:	862015  

Last edited by Almaretto; 08-23-2019 at 12:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #804  
Old 08-27-2019, 09:22 AM
Dfhii Dfhii is offline
Registered User
Location: Wilmington, DE
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 13
Mein Auto: 2009 535i XDrive
Currently Downloading INSTA-D, Since I have an E60 do i need the SDP&BLP files for the install? I was told they're for Series other than my model. Will it corrupt the install without them? Also a Language question... Do i need all lang files included if i just want to install for english?
Reply With Quote
  #805  
Old 08-29-2019, 07:16 PM
ERINRONELL ERINRONELL is offline
Registered User
Location: KY
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 5
Mein Auto: 550I
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
You are missing entries. Make sure you have corresponding registry entries for whatever version you have.

***91; should be [
***93; should be ]

PHP Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

***91;HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\BMWGroup\ISPI\ISTA***93;
"ProductVersion"="4.18.32.18637"
"MainProductVersion"
="4.18"
"DataVersion"
="4.18.30"
"DataVersion_en-GB"
="4.18.30"
"LogisticBaseVersion"
="4.18.33"
"SWIData"
="4.18.33" 
Thanks, Im still a bit lost.
Any idea on where I can get a version of ISTA+ 4.18.

My version of psdzdata full is 14.18.33.
Reply With Quote
  #806  
Old 08-29-2019, 07:32 PM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7,006
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by ERINRONELL View Post
Thanks, Im still a bit lost.
Any idea on where I can get a version of ISTA+ 4.18.

My version of psdzdata full is 14.18.33.
Cartechnology.
Reply With Quote
Reply

See More Related BMW Stories

Tags
diagnostics, ista+, procedure, programming, repair, rheingold


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
© 2001- VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.