New Code: Active Blind Spot Detection System Activation at Lower Speeds - Page 3 - Bimmerfest - BMW Forums



Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming

BMW Coding and Programming
Discuss coding options and features on your BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51  
Old 08-14-2015, 06:04 AM
butwhyowhy butwhyowhy is offline
Registered User
Location: Maryland
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2
Mein Auto: X3
Anyone know if this will work on F25?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #52  
Old 08-15-2015, 09:15 AM
marklee marklee is offline
Registered User
Location: Colorado
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 16
Mein Auto: 535i xDrive
ICM->3000 Daten, F8->Hc2_i_CPar_Aktiv_v_low-> 25 kmh (the default is 50 km/h)


I can't find this on my 2014 F10. The only thing I found in ICM -> 3000 Daten, F8 that looked similar was this:

C_ZSW_Aktivierunggeschwindgkeit_Funktion_Low

this had a value set to 50 kmh


Could this be the same thing?

The file I was looking at was CAF (ICMQL).

Thanks,
Mark
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 08-16-2015, 02:27 PM
marklee marklee is offline
Registered User
Location: Colorado
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 16
Mein Auto: 535i xDrive
Sorry, just realized someone had already posted the answer to my question.

C_ZSW_Aktivierunggeschwindgkeit_Funktion_Low

This is the function that controls the blind spot activation on the 2014 F10 (at least it is on mine). The default is 50 kmh and the other options include 30,20,10 kmh. I have it set at 10 and my display now shows that the system is active from 6 mph.

I'll test it and repost if it doesn't work.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #54  
Old 08-19-2015, 06:07 PM
murzik murzik is offline
Registered User
Location: Chicago
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 19
Mein Auto: BMW
My car was just updated by dealer , can find any of those settings any more . Was also trying to search by 50, nothing came up.
Any idea?
I-step 15-07-503.

Last edited by murzik; 08-20-2015 at 10:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 08-26-2015, 07:18 AM
dmnc02's Avatar
dmnc02 dmnc02 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: PA
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 769
Mein Auto: 2015 M4
This is what BMW states about Blind Spot Detection in its training documents:
The system can only generate information or a warning reliably, if the road speed is greater than 50 km/h (31 mph). The function will work at speeds under 50 km/h (31 mph), but not with the high quality and reliability required by BMW. In order not to compromise on the satisfaction of discerning BMW customers, no information or warnings are issued at speeds below 50 km/h (31 mph).
__________________
2015 Mineral Grey ///M4 6MT

Last edited by dmnc02; 08-26-2015 at 07:24 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 08-26-2015, 07:50 AM
marklee marklee is offline
Registered User
Location: Colorado
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 16
Mein Auto: 535i xDrive
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmnc02 View Post
This is what BMW states about Blind Spot Detection in its training documents:
The system can only generate information or a warning reliably, if the road speed is greater than 50 km/h (31 mph). The function will work at speeds under 50 km/h (31 mph), but not with the high quality and reliability required by BMW. In order not to compromise on the satisfaction of discerning BMW customers, no information or warnings are issued at speeds below 50 km/h (31 mph).
I changed mine to activate at 20 km/h (12 mph). I tried 10 km/h, but that didn't work at all. So far, with my limited testing, it seems to be working fine. When driving in stop-n-go traffic, I find it useful to activate at speeds lower than 50 km/h. Obviously, this is just one input for safe driving. Still have to use mirrors and look over your shoulder before changing lanes.

Also interesting is how other manufacturers implement this technology. I test drove Cadillac CTS and Audi A6 before buying my 535. Both of those cars activate the blind spot warning at very slow speeds.

Last edited by marklee; 08-26-2015 at 07:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 08-26-2015, 09:37 AM
dmnc02's Avatar
dmnc02 dmnc02 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: PA
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 769
Mein Auto: 2015 M4
Quote:
Originally Posted by marklee View Post
I changed mine to activate at 20 km/h (12 mph). I tried 10 km/h, but that didn't work at all. So far, with my limited testing, it seems to be working fine. When driving in stop-n-go traffic, I find it useful to activate at speeds lower than 50 km/h. Obviously, this is just one input for safe driving. Still have to use mirrors and look over your shoulder before changing lanes.

Also interesting is how other manufacturers implement this technology. I test drove Cadillac CTS and Audi A6 before buying my 535. Both of those cars activate the blind spot warning at very slow speeds.
I have not personally tried lowering the activation speed, but there is at least one person on the other forum who has reported getting a lot of false warnings after lowering the speed to 30km/h, to the point of him wanting to revert to the default speed.

I was looking at the BMW documentation on this feature and the algorithm BMW uses to determine the need for a warning is quite complex: the system does not just generate a warning if a car is in the blind spot area, but it uses a mathematical model to predict when an approaching car might be in the blind spot within the time needed for the driver to cancel a lane change maneuver. The logic used by Cadillac and Audi might well be different.
__________________
2015 Mineral Grey ///M4 6MT
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 09-01-2015, 02:26 PM
murzik murzik is offline
Registered User
Location: Chicago
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 19
Mein Auto: BMW
I've manged to code 17 mph, by changing C_ZSW_SensHellkUmgebEna = 06.
But I was getting errors coding FDL.
Any advice what is wrong?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	err.PNG
Views:	208
Size:	17.2 KB
ID:	527780   Click image for larger version

Name:	err2.PNG
Views:	203
Size:	35.0 KB
ID:	527781  
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 10-03-2015, 04:35 PM
maszika maszika is offline
Registered User
Location: Hungary
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 86
Mein Auto: F10
Hi,

from 03/2014 the default coding value is 20 km/h in EU.
My F10 is from 01/2013, and with settings 20 km/h i have error. Now the car is updated from 55.1 to 56.4, and now the setting with 20 km/h value without error ! ICM has new flashdata too from 55.1 to 56.4.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 10-04-2015, 05:50 AM
murzik murzik is offline
Registered User
Location: Chicago
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 19
Mein Auto: BMW
Do you still have
C_ZSW_Aktivierunggeschwindgkeit_Funktion_Low after 56.4 update?
Reply With Quote
  #61  
Old 10-04-2015, 06:29 AM
maszika maszika is offline
Registered User
Location: Hungary
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 86
Mein Auto: F10
I have before and after update too the following:

ICM->3000 Daten, F8->Hc2_i_CPar_Aktiv_v_low

But before update with parameter 20 km/h i have error message, after update is ok.

from V55.1 to V56.4 my ICM have new flash Data. ( swfl ). The coding file (cafd) is the same. CAFD_0000067B_002_003_147.ncd

You must change the Wert from 0A hex to 04 hex with storage info, tokenmaster cafdtool make incorrect text for this cafd.
Or you can use the untrimmed cafd file from 54.1. This is the same cafd.

Quote:
Originally Posted by murzik View Post
Do you still have
C_ZSW_Aktivierunggeschwindgkeit_Funktion_Low after 56.4 update?

Last edited by maszika; 10-04-2015 at 06:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 10-04-2015, 07:18 AM
murzik murzik is offline
Registered User
Location: Chicago
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 19
Mein Auto: BMW
I just wonder why it is different for me.
I have F10 , but after my car was updated by dealer
I don't have ICM->3000 Daten, F8->Hc2_i_CPar_Aktiv_v_low any longer.
ICMQL CAFD_0000067B_002_003_147.ncd
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 10-04-2015, 11:51 AM
maszika maszika is offline
Registered User
Location: Hungary
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 86
Mein Auto: F10
When you have this cafd, you have this line.

Quote:
Originally Posted by murzik View Post
I just wonder why it is different for me.
I have F10 , but after my car was updated by dealer
I don't have ICM->3000 Daten, F8->Hc2_i_CPar_Aktiv_v_low any longer.
ICMQL CAFD_0000067B_002_003_147.ncd
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 10-04-2015, 12:52 PM
murzik murzik is offline
Registered User
Location: Chicago
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 19
Mein Auto: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by maszika View Post

You must change the Wert from 0A hex to 04 hex with storage info, tokenmaster cafdtool make incorrect text for this cafd.
.
How do you do that?
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 10-04-2015, 12:53 PM
maszika maszika is offline
Registered User
Location: Hungary
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 86
Mein Auto: F10
You can see in the caf viewer too:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	caf.jpg
Views:	227
Size:	135.4 KB
ID:	532379  
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 10-04-2015, 12:56 PM
maszika maszika is offline
Registered User
Location: Hungary
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 86
Mein Auto: F10
1. method:

use the 54.1 psdzdata for icm coding.

2. method:

use the 56.4 psdzdata, and change the Wert from 0A to 04. Storage info in my screenshot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by murzik View Post
How do you do that?
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 11-23-2015, 02:25 PM
winggert winggert is offline
Registered User
Location: NY
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 12
Mein Auto: 535i xDrive and X3
2013 F10 - How to lower Blind Spot Lane Warning Speed Limit?

I have a 2013 F10. I verified that I don't have the following:

F10 ICM 3000 Daten Hc2_i_CPar_Aktiv_v_low
F10 ICM 3000 Daten C_ZSW_AKTIVIERUNGGESCHWINDIGKEIT_FUNKTION_LOW

But, I do have C_ZSW_SensHellkUmgebEna, marked "Unknown" and "Werte"=0A.

Does anyone have any suggestion or guidance what I should do to lower the blind spot, lane warning speed limit? Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 03-11-2018, 04:20 PM
xcel290 xcel290 is offline
Registered User
Location: Pittsburgh
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 14
Mein Auto: Pittsburgh
BSM Speed MY '18

Does anyone have an update on where this would be for the 2018 MY to decrease the activation speed for the BSM? None of these in this thread are available for my "18 4series.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 03-11-2018, 04:26 PM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7,006
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcel290 View Post
Does anyone have an update on where this would be for the 2018 MY to decrease the activation speed for the BSM? None of these in this thread are available for my "18 4series.
Works on '18 LCI M4. Sent me your SVT and I will take a look.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 03-11-2018, 04:27 PM
xcel290 xcel290 is offline
Registered User
Location: Pittsburgh
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 14
Mein Auto: Pittsburgh
Sorry, newer here to the acronyms. what is a LCI and a SVT?
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 03-11-2018, 04:32 PM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7,006
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcel290 View Post
Sorry, newer here to the acronyms. what is a LCI and a SVT?
LCI = Life Cycle Impulse. It is a mid-chassis face lift. Examples:
  • F010 - 2000-2013 (Pre-LCI); 2014-2016 (LCI)
  • F082. 2015-2017 (Pre-LCI); 2018 LCI with FLE (vs LHM/TMS) adaptive LED headlamps
SVT = Software Variant Table. After reading and saving FA, you can read and save SVT with E-sys.
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 03-11-2018, 04:35 PM
xcel290 xcel290 is offline
Registered User
Location: Pittsburgh
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 14
Mein Auto: Pittsburgh
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
LCI = Life Cycle Impulse. It is a mid-chassis face lift. Examples:
  • F010 - 2000-2013 (Pre-LCI); 2014-2016 (LCI)
  • F082. 2015-2017 (Pre-LCI); 2018 LCI with FLE (vs LHM/TMS) adaptive LED headlamps
SVT = Software Variant Table. After reading and saving FA, you can read and save SVT with E-sys.
Thanks, I wish I could do that, but I am using the iOS app and Bimmercode since I do not have a PC and no VM's of windows anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 03-11-2018, 04:48 PM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7,006
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcel290 View Post
Thanks, I wish I could do that, but I am using the iOS app and Bimmercode since I do not have a PC and no VM's of windows anymore.
Does it show firmware of ECU's? If you have ICM, then function is still found there.
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 03-12-2018, 04:16 PM
xcel290 xcel290 is offline
Registered User
Location: Pittsburgh
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 14
Mein Auto: Pittsburgh
So I do have the ICM with 3000 Daten but none of the code lines appear in there exactly the same.
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 03-12-2018, 04:23 PM
xcel290 xcel290 is offline
Registered User
Location: Pittsburgh
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 14
Mein Auto: Pittsburgh
Is it any of these?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3D4E8418-358B-47B5-9003-CC0BE5327659_1520896967334.png
Views:	112
Size:	355.3 KB
ID:	782088   Click image for larger version

Name:	30BC9499-CE5E-4B2D-8471-A570A7447995_1520896975756.png
Views:	129
Size:	389.2 KB
ID:	782090  
Reply With Quote
Reply

See More Related BMW Stories


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
© 2001- VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.