6WB Retrofit - Coding Required - Page 4 - Bimmerfest - BMW Forums



Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming

BMW Coding and Programming
Discuss coding options and features on your BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #76  
Old 03-23-2014, 08:24 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36,217
Mein Auto: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
It will be the same as mine. I did not have 6WA either, only Basic Kombi.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #77  
Old 03-23-2014, 08:25 AM
greicioforma greicioforma is offline
Registered User
Location: Kaunas
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Mein Auto: F10
nice ! looking to order new one cluster!

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
It will be the same as mine. I did not have 6WA either, only Basic Kombi.
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 03-24-2014, 12:17 AM
secany secany is offline
Registered User
Location: Melbourne
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 68
Mein Auto: 650i F13
Hi Shawn,
I retrofit my 650i F13 with this 6WB around a year ago and it working great. I'll get a X5 F15 very soon, since they don't have 6WB as an option, I'm thinking about moving my 6WB from F13 to F15. Do you think it will work? Same coding process?
I asked bimmer-tech a month ago regarding retrofit 6WB for X15 F15 and I don't know why they said it won't work with F15

Here is his email
"Unfortunately it won't work for the F15 just yet.

Kind regards,
Patryk Matysiak"
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #79  
Old 03-24-2014, 12:24 AM
wdimagineer's Avatar
wdimagineer wdimagineer is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: San Francisco, CA
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 675
Mein Auto: 2013 M5
I'll let you know if it works in a few days.
__________________
Current: 2014 X5 xDrive50i ZMM - Alpine White/Mocha (Mods In Progress!)
Past: 2014 Jeep SRT - 2013 Tesla Model S P85+ - Bimmerpost Featured 2013 F10 M5 - 2012 550 xDrive - 2011 M3 ZCP
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 03-24-2014, 02:19 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36,217
Mein Auto: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
I don't know of any reason 6WB wouldn't work in F15, but Patryk is the real expert, and if he wrote that, I have to believe he had good reason. If F15 has CAS built into BDC, maybe there is some issue related to that.

Besides the VIN, be damn sure to blank the 6WB mileage, which may require removal of the EEPROM, and bench test / verify 0 miles it before installing it.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #81  
Old 03-25-2014, 09:46 AM
wdimagineer's Avatar
wdimagineer wdimagineer is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: San Francisco, CA
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 675
Mein Auto: 2013 M5
I dug a little deeper and yes, it's due to CAS being combined into BDC. So for now, no 6WB in the F15. I cancelled my order just in time.
__________________
Current: 2014 X5 xDrive50i ZMM - Alpine White/Mocha (Mods In Progress!)
Past: 2014 Jeep SRT - 2013 Tesla Model S P85+ - Bimmerpost Featured 2013 F10 M5 - 2012 550 xDrive - 2011 M3 ZCP
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 04-02-2014, 02:34 AM
wenliang_wang wenliang_wang is offline
Registered User
Location: china
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 23
Mein Auto: e90 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
I finally got around to installing my 6WB MFID Instrument Cluster.

Since mine was a brand new virgin Kombi, no EEPROM work was necessary to blank the donor car's mileage and VIN. Install was a breeze, and Coding was just a matter of adding 6WB to the VO, changing VO Production date to 1211, and VO Coding DKombi and HU_CIC.

Since my car does not have ECO Pro, I get just the Comfort and Sport mode displays.

Upgrading from the basic Kombi to either 6WA or 6WB is a dramatic improvement, and worth every penny. If I already had 6WA though, I personally would stick with it rather than invest in 6WB.

Attachment 379892

Attachment 379893

Attachment 379894

Attachment 379895

Attachment 379896

edit the IcmKod_B_ECONOMIC to verbaut can get the ECO mode display. i tested it on my 523LI
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 04-15-2014, 02:03 AM
tom2325 tom2325 is offline
Registered User
Location: Japan
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 51
Mein Auto: F30,F10
Hi Shawn,
May I have the link of full psdzdata 52.2?
I asked flashing all ECUs to my local Dealer but they could not do that because of my 6WB cluster.
The ISTA/P required "Please change the cluster" and I changed mine back to Original cluster and removed 6WB code from my FA but flashing was not started.

I am going to try flashing using E-Sys according to this thread https://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=762988

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 04-15-2014, 08:24 AM
Vice88 Vice88 is offline
Registered User
Location: Singapore
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 19
Mein Auto: F10
Anyone know what is the BMW part no. for the 6WB Full LCD Instrument Cluster retrofit for F10 2013 (pre-lci)?

I plan to get this from my local BMW parts distributor but they need me to provide the Part No.
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 04-15-2014, 08:32 AM
tom2325 tom2325 is offline
Registered User
Location: Japan
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 51
Mein Auto: F30,F10
Enter your VIN number into this site http://realoem.com/bmw/select.do?lang=en and select the cluster.
So can get the latest parts number available for your car.
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 04-15-2014, 08:49 AM
Vice88 Vice88 is offline
Registered User
Location: Singapore
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 19
Mein Auto: F10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom2325 View Post
Enter your VIN number into this site http://realoem.com/bmw/select.do?lang=en and select the cluster.
So can get the latest parts number available for your car.
Yes, I did that previously but I am not sure whether I got the right Part No. The picture from the RealOEM website showed the old instrument cluster (not the LCD Type).


http://realoem.com/bmw/showparts.do?...&fg=05&lang=en
From the my selection, if I choose KM/H, 6WBA = Yes, HUD (S610A) = Yes, I get 62109319002. Can someone confirm is this the right Part No. for the 6WB Full LCD Instrument cluster?

And does it matters if I get the instrument cluster with HUD support (6WB) despite that I dun have HUD? I plan to retrofit HUD later.
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 04-15-2014, 08:57 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36,217
Mein Auto: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom2325 View Post
Hi Shawn,
May I have the link of full psdzdata 52.2?...
PM sent.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 04-15-2014, 08:59 AM
tom2325 tom2325 is offline
Registered User
Location: Japan
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 51
Mein Auto: F30,F10
The picture is just a sample.
Your 6WB cluster number is 62109319002 because 6WB = Yes, HUD = Yes.
The 6WB cluster has both KM/H and MPH functions in it.
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 04-15-2014, 09:06 AM
tom2325 tom2325 is offline
Registered User
Location: Japan
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 51
Mein Auto: F30,F10
The 6WB cluster with HUD function is available for no HUD car.
The difference between the 6WB with HUD and the 6WB without HUD is just the connector which links to the HUD modules.
Though I think it is very hard to retrofit the HUD function later...
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 04-15-2014, 09:08 AM
Vice88 Vice88 is offline
Registered User
Location: Singapore
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 19
Mein Auto: F10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom2325 View Post
The 6WB cluster with HUD function is available for no HUD car.
The difference between the 6WB with HUD and the 6WB without HUD is just the connector which links to the HUD modules.
Though I think it is very hard to retrofit the HUD function later...
Hi Tom2325, thanks for the input. Very much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #91  
Old 04-15-2014, 09:09 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36,217
Mein Auto: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Yes, I am running 6WB Cluster with HUD Connection in a non-HUD car. No issues doing so.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 04-15-2014, 12:05 PM
ahmedmph ahmedmph is offline
Registered User
Location: UAE
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 95
Mein Auto: BMW F10 535I
Greetings,
Where can i get 6WB instrument cluster for good price
i want it used in good condition
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 05-12-2014, 10:16 AM
[email protected] triscb82@gmail. is offline
Registered User
Location: Harrisburg, PA
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Mein Auto: 2014 BMW 535d xDrive
Desperately needing assistance with 6WB

I just got my brand new 6wb Cluster. I am not able to find a CAFD under the KOMBI. When I finally think I am to the right place I get a RED line item in under the FA list. Can someone please assist.
This is a brand new 2014 LCI 535d xdrive. Can someone assist?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 1.JPG
Views:	579
Size:	126.2 KB
ID:	439104   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 4.JPG
Views:	557
Size:	122.1 KB
ID:	439105  
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 05-12-2014, 10:20 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36,217
Mein Auto: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
What do you mean? What is wrong with the CAFD shown in the pictures? Insert it, and then VO Code DKombi (Right-Click on DKombi ECU and select CODE).
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 05-13-2014, 01:35 AM
milkyway's Avatar
milkyway milkyway is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: OWL, Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,061
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Hello!

That's exactly the same issue I had with the 6WB. The car i-step is 13-11-504 and I can only inject CAFD not higher than 13-03-505. In that case no entertainment lists were possible cause therefore you need 50.x (13-07-50x) or higher. Flashing the Kombi to a higher i-step ended in a msm ethernet error and was not possible.

Next problem. I got two 6WA from a 740i and 750i from 2008. The curcuit board is different from the 6WA I had before. From the first cluster the Eeprom was deleted but E-Sys told me that the cluster is not in the KIS database and so I was not able to detect any CAFD for this cluster. The second cluster is a hard thing cause the Eeprom is not on the known place and it's not easy to find the small 8-pin Eeprom on the board.

CU Oliver
__________________
BMW F30 330e Hybrid 2016 in tansanit blue, cohibabrown for every day (09/2019 G20 330e in tanasnit 2 blue, all in )
Jaguar XK8 Cabrio, 2006, black, 20" for the summer time
BMW M4 F83 Cabrio competition in black for the wife
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 07-23-2014, 10:38 PM
greicioforma greicioforma is offline
Registered User
Location: Kaunas
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Mein Auto: F10
hello !

just retrofited mine 2010 F10 to 6WB! all is working perfect but old cluster 6WA had "speed limit" on the HUD, new one dont show this option.
Guys this is normal ar need some more coding ?

thanks a lot



Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
It will be the same as mine. I did not have 6WA either, only Basic Kombi.
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 07-24-2014, 01:23 AM
milkyway's Avatar
milkyway milkyway is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: OWL, Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,061
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Hello!

Please take a look into the ECU Dkombi for SLI. This should be activated and (if I remember right) set to the correct generation.

Just another question. Which i-level could you detect for the 6WB? Someone higher than 13-03-505?

CU Oliver
__________________
BMW F30 330e Hybrid 2016 in tansanit blue, cohibabrown for every day (09/2019 G20 330e in tanasnit 2 blue, all in )
Jaguar XK8 Cabrio, 2006, black, 20" for the summer time
BMW M4 F83 Cabrio competition in black for the wife
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 08-25-2014, 12:35 PM
BMWzone BMWzone is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Italy
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 189
Mein Auto: F10 530d
Hi, today is arrived used petrol 6wb kombi, I did the retrofit, just no problem converting petrol-diesel as I expected. This time I decided to enter in eprom my VIN, the flash went well at first shot... with a warning! Maintenance service doesn't work (Red Dot Tamper), as in my retrofit of 6WA.
The first time the cause was that in EPROM isn't erased the short VIN, this time I checked and rechecked, we note that the map is different I found only 2 short VIN and not long VIN, can it be?
My car is 0911 i used 0312 for flash
Tomorrow desolder eprom and see...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Flash 6WB.jpg
Views:	963
Size:	107.0 KB
ID:	460661   Click image for larger version

Name:	01.PNG
Views:	926
Size:	25.8 KB
ID:	460662   Click image for larger version

Name:	02.PNG
Views:	1054
Size:	32.1 KB
ID:	460663   Click image for larger version

Name:	Petrol.jpg
Views:	1093
Size:	78.2 KB
ID:	460664   Click image for larger version

Name:	Diesel.jpg
Views:	1057
Size:	143.2 KB
ID:	460665  

Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 08-25-2014, 03:12 PM
BMWzone BMWzone is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Italy
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 189
Mein Auto: F10 530d
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWzone View Post
Hi, today is arrived used petrol 6wb kombi, I did the retrofit, just no problem converting petrol-diesel as I expected. This time I decided to enter in eprom my VIN, the flash went well at first shot... with a warning! Maintenance service doesn't work (Red Dot Tamper), as in my retrofit of 6WA.
The first time the cause was that in EPROM isn't erased the short VIN, this time I checked and rechecked, we note that the map is different I found only 2 short VIN and not long VIN, can it be?
My car is 0911 i used 0312 for flash
Tomorrow desolder eprom and see...
Shawn I think I understood, the used Kombi was bungled, I checked the "original" file there is a VIN that belongs to a frame 535 d Xdrive Germany, In the photo you see that the car was petrol and the icon showed 7 Series F01
I understand that they have canceled the initial part of the Long Vin
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 08-25-2014, 08:45 PM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36,217
Mein Auto: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
I don't see in Petrol picture where is shows 7 series F01.

So where does that leave you with this 6WB?

The Tach adjusted down properly for Diesel use I see, and I don't see the red Tamper Dot.

So all is good?
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Reply With Quote
Reply

See More Related BMW Stories


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
© 2001- VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.