Flashing ECU's with E-sys [GUIDE] - Bimmerfest - BMW Forums



Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming

BMW Coding and Programming
Discuss coding options and features on your BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-28-2014, 10:49 AM
zkiifreak's Avatar
zkiifreak zkiifreak is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Denmark
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 219
Mein Auto: F11 520d
Post Flashing ECU's with E-sys [GUIDE]

Hi

I've created a noobs guide on how to flash your ECU's in an F11. (As I myself am a noob )
I'm looking to flash my HU_CIC very soon (just need an external power supply). So i've created this guide from information I could gather on this forum. A warm thanks to everybody in this forum, especially shawnsheridan.

If you want to contribute, please let me know! I'll be happy to add valuable content!

Content attached!

Update 20141129: Removed changing zeitkriterium. Thank you ap90500!! Now version 1.0.1 attached.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Upgrading ECU on BMW v.1.0.1.pdf (740.9 KB, 18213 views)

Last edited by zkiifreak; 11-29-2014 at 04:55 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-28-2014, 10:57 AM
ap90500's Avatar
ap90500 ap90500 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,086
Mein Auto: F30 320d xDrive -14
There is a major mistake in the guide. Never ever change zeitkriterium if you are flashing factory fitted modules.

No need to click read vin button, vin comes from the FA.

On new cars (7/2014 F30) the ignition will not stay on even if you turn light switch. After 15 minutes or so ignition will turn off. This is not a problem though, just remember to cycle ignition before svt soll calculation and before starting TAL processing (actual flash). Ignition will stay on as long as the TAL is running.

ibadeploy is needed only if you are flashing a headunit that has IBA (electronic user manual). It doesn't do any damage if it is selected without a reason though.

Terminology. Flashing = programming = updating software. Coding = changing parameters via fdl- or vo-coding.

It is not necessary to flash ZGW separately, e-sys will flash it first.

Connection via gateway doesn't guarantee that the ZGW can be flashed with E-sys. If it fails, you must just vo-code any module and the car will wake up. I think that someone wrote something about dhcp-server needed to flash zgw with enet, but on the other hand some people have flashed it without dhcp and without problems. I was not able to flash ZGW on 2011 F11, with icom no problem.

Last edited by ap90500; 11-28-2014 at 11:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-28-2014, 11:29 AM
TokenMaster's Avatar
TokenMaster TokenMaster is offline
Token Master
Location: Java Land
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,032
Mein Auto: Coded F30
Changing zeitkriterium and VO coding ECUs like FEM or ICM would cause havoc due to different hardware used between build dates
__________________
Code My Bimmer| FDL Coding Video Guide -Blogger/Youtube | EST Software Token demo | E-Sys Launcher Premium and PRO
Never download already patched E-Sys from Torrent sites
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old 11-28-2014, 11:31 AM
ap90500's Avatar
ap90500 ap90500 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,086
Mein Auto: F30 320d xDrive -14
Worst cases I have seen: Wrong zeitkriterium, calculate svt soll, hwid from svt actual, start flash. This creates very nice mess.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-29-2014, 04:48 AM
zkiifreak's Avatar
zkiifreak zkiifreak is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Denmark
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 219
Mein Auto: F11 520d
Quote:
Originally Posted by ap90500 View Post
There is a major mistake in the guide. Never ever change zeitkriterium if you are flashing factory fitted modules.
OK - thanks. Corrected by removing from guide.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ap90500 View Post
No need to click read vin button, vin comes from the FA.
Yeah, I assumed that, but it works, so I'll leave it be. But thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by ap90500 View Post
On new cars (7/2014 F30) the ignition will not stay on even if you turn light switch. After 15 minutes or so ignition will turn off. This is not a problem though, just remember to cycle ignition before svt soll calculation and before starting TAL processing (actual flash). Ignition will stay on as long as the TAL is running.
OK. I'll add this in an appendix.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ap90500 View Post
ibadeploy is needed only if you are flashing a headunit that has IBA (electronic user manual). It doesn't do any damage if it is selected without a reason though.
Thanks - again, will add appendix. But it's just easier to write it this way.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ap90500 View Post
Terminology. Flashing = programming = updating software. Coding = changing parameters via fdl- or vo-coding.
You are referring to the Troubleshooting part?
Quote:
Originally Posted by ap90500 View Post
It is not necessary to flash ZGW separately, e-sys will flash it first.
As stated
Quote:
Originally Posted by ap90500 View Post
Connection via gateway doesn't guarantee that the ZGW can be flashed with E-sys. If it fails, you must just vo-code any module and the car will wake up. I think that someone wrote something about dhcp-server needed to flash zgw with enet, but on the other hand some people have flashed it without dhcp and without problems. I was not able to flash ZGW on 2011 F11, with icom no problem.
Is it possible for you to find this post?

Again: thank you very much for the input. It's very much appreciated! The idea here is to make it easier for beginners to take on this kind job and be succesfull!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-29-2014, 09:46 AM
ap90500's Avatar
ap90500 ap90500 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,086
Mein Auto: F30 320d xDrive -14
Yes, I meant the troubleshooting part. It should say "if flashing (or programming) ACSM, ....". You will not need to lock ACSM if you are just coding it.

Posted on bmwcoding dot com:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinzer995 View Post
for flashing ZGW you need an ICOM interface.
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhreakShow View Post
Not in general. I flashed at least four ZGW over ethernet.
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Same here, and also used ENET for FEM_GW Flash.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ap90500 View Post
How about F1x ZGW?
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Yes, I have Flashed F1x ZGW with ENET too.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ap90500 View Post
Did you unselect switch gateway to programming & coding or did you just use normal settings? And you connected through gateway?
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Normal settings. Connect via VIN.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ap90500 View Post
Ok. On my previous car (9/2011 F11), this failed and I had to use ICOM. Do you use static ip on your ethernet adapter?
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
No. It was set for DHCP.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2real4u View Post
Use DHCP server on the network or on your laptop. Connect using the gateway URL to the IP handed out by DHCP.
I have not tested it but very likely it works. Tftpd64 is a free software that has DHCP functionality.

Thanks for you too, flashing procedure has been known for a long time but no one (including me) has not had time or will to do this kind of guide.

Last edited by ap90500; 11-29-2014 at 09:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-20-2015, 07:48 AM
hamfei hamfei is offline
Registered User
Location: Shanghai
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 34
Mein Auto: 2012 E90 CLI
very helpful discussion. A nice document. Thanks so much to you guys***65281;
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-20-2015, 02:43 PM
Depa Depa is offline
Registered User
Location: Spain
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 62
Mein Auto: Bmw 535 xd F11
Thanks


Sent from my iPad Mini using tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-25-2016, 11:29 AM
wild_a wild_a is offline
Registered User
Location: world
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 72
Mein Auto: bmw
I'm thinking about flashing ECUs on my F10. I have 2 questions: 1) instead of an external battery, can I just keep the engine running? 2) are there any benefits to upgrading the ECUs?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-25-2016, 11:32 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36,268
Mein Auto: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by wild_a View Post
I'm thinking about flashing ECUs on my F10. I have 2 questions: 1) instead of an external battery, can I just keep the engine running? 2) are there any benefits to upgrading the ECUs?
No you cannot run the motor. Flash TAL will put car in Transport Mode and shut down the Engine automatically.

Benefit depends solely on the current ECU firmware versus the new ECU firmware if it contains anything beneficial.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-25-2016, 11:43 AM
wild_a wild_a is offline
Registered User
Location: world
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 72
Mein Auto: bmw
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
No you cannot run the motor. Flash TAL will put car in Transport Mode and shut down the Engine automatically.

Benefit depends solely on the current ECU firmware versus the new ECU firmware if it contains anything beneficial.
Thanks Shawn. What charger would you recommend?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-25-2016, 11:45 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36,268
Mein Auto: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by wild_a View Post
Thanks Shawn. What charger would you recommend?
Schumacher INC-700A 4/20/70 Amp Automatic Charger

http://www.amazon.com/Schumacher-INC.../dp/B002Z2Z7ZY
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-25-2016, 06:01 PM
ArrZeeM ArrZeeM is offline
Registered User
Location: malaysia
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 20
Mein Auto: 520d
just asking out of curiosity, if the DDE already have done a remapping for more power, does whole car firmware upgrade affect the performance mapping?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-25-2016, 07:09 PM
wild_a wild_a is offline
Registered User
Location: world
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 72
Mein Auto: bmw
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Schumacher INC-700A 4/20/70 Amp Automatic Charger

http://www.amazon.com/Schumacher-INC.../dp/B002Z2Z7ZY
That's quite expensive. Would this one work for the job? http://www.amazon.com/BMW-advanced-b.../dp/B00N55PDUY
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-25-2016, 07:21 PM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36,268
Mein Auto: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by wild_a View Post
That's quite expensive. Would this one work for the job? http://www.amazon.com/BMW-advanced-b.../dp/B00N55PDUY
No, that is only 1.25 Amps. You need to have about 50 Amps minimum.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-25-2016, 08:13 PM
wild_a wild_a is offline
Registered User
Location: world
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 72
Mein Auto: bmw
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
No, that is only 1.25 Amps. You need to have about 50 Amps minimum.
How about this one? It's a Schumacher, and has 50 amps. I have no idea about these things, so if you can tell me why the $500 one is better than this $50 one, I'd be thankful.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-25-2016, 08:22 PM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36,268
Mein Auto: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by wild_a View Post
How about this one? It's a Schumacher, and has 50 amps. I have no idea about these things, so if you can tell me why the $500 one is better than this $50 one, I'd be thankful.
I think that is only a 50 Amps Peak for Starting, and is either 2 or 10 Amp Continuous. The Schumacher INC-700A is 50 Amps continuous.

If you want, you can jump your car to another car with motor running, and avoid using a charger at all.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.

Last edited by shawnsheridan; 02-25-2016 at 08:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-15-2016, 03:35 AM
Harti79 Harti79 is offline
Registered User
Location: Cologne Germany
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 20
Mein Auto: 535d (F11)
Hi together,

I just wanted to flash the newest ECU Firmware for HU_CIC and CMB_Media and for that installed the latest E-Sys and psdzdata. I connected to the car successfully and coding works find (just tried it as I did that before to verify everything is working.
And to answer the question before it is asked: Why do I want to update the ECUs?!?
I have a lot of problems with my CIC, sometimes the navigation doesnt work, once a day it restarts when I try to use Spotify using the App in the car,...
I have borrowed a big supply charger from a friend of mine, so everything is prepared, BUT...

Now I have two problems/questions:
1.) My E-Sys states in the bottom status field that "Hardware differs" (Hardware unterscheidet sich)... WTF?!? I have never seen this before, any hint what this might be?
2.) I finished all the described steps and tried to flash the ZGW only first. But when I press started I get a message (translated from germany as good as I can! ):
A VCM-update after the TAL-Processing without correct VO is not possible. If the ECM should be updated after TAL-Processing you will have to diable VCM-updating or use a direct connection to ECU.
The message will allways pop up, doesnt matter which ECU I choose or which connection type I use (Gateway vs. VIN).

Any idea what this might be? Related to 1.? ;-)

Cheers, Philipp
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-15-2016, 04:40 AM
Harti79 Harti79 is offline
Registered User
Location: Cologne Germany
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 20
Mein Auto: 535d (F11)
Okay, finally got it working, I had to choose the VIN from the VO and not read it for any reason, now flashing works fine... ;-)
Anyway if there is a hint for my first question I would sleep better! :-)
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-15-2016, 05:14 AM
Harti79 Harti79 is offline
Registered User
Location: Cologne Germany
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 20
Mein Auto: 535d (F11)
Hmmm, once again I am facing a problem... I flashed ZGW and for testing TRSVC successfully but CMB_MEDIA or KOMBI fail with an error message
"for the ECU "KOMBI", "60" in TAL the SGBMIN "CAFD_000000069_009_001_006" is included but not in SVT. Same type of message comes for CMB_MEDIA with different CAFD numer of cause...
And it seems that for HU_CIC there is now new version available. So what do you think, is it worth working on it or doesn't it have any influence for my Spotify and navigation problems without update for CIC? :-(
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 08-21-2016, 12:19 AM
DTKT DTKT is offline
Registered User
Location: Singapore
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 74
Mein Auto: BMW E90 325
Hi, i just bought a used ZGW 02 high and try to change it vin to my car vin using bench programming, is it possible ?
Can anyone help?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 09-21-2016, 11:00 PM
pweber84 pweber84 is offline
Registered User
Location: Posen / Berlin
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 93
Mein Auto: BMW 330d
Guys,

Is it possible to downgrade (ECUs)? I updated car to newest iLevel, but there is some bug in HU_CHAMP module after update. I would like to downgrade HU_CHAMP to older firmware. Is it safe and possible? Can I flash just HU_CHAMP nothing else? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09-22-2016, 04:07 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36,268
Mein Auto: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by pweber84 View Post
Guys,

Is it possible to downgrade (ECUs)? I updated car to newest iLevel, but there is some bug in HU_CHAMP module after update. I would like to downgrade HU_CHAMP to older firmware. Is it safe and possible? Can I flash just HU_CHAMP nothing else? Thanks.
Yes. Just flash using older version of PSdZData Full.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09-22-2016, 04:34 AM
pweber84 pweber84 is offline
Registered User
Location: Posen / Berlin
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 93
Mein Auto: BMW 330d
Thanks Shwan.

Actually problem solved, after the night HU came back to live and CID works fine. I have no idea why it happened.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-18-2016, 03:29 AM
egisz egisz is offline
Registered User
Location: Lithuania, Kaunas
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 43
Mein Auto: BMW F10 525d 2010
Hi All!

Thanks zkiifreak for great manual, I tried to flash ZGW yesterday and it was not as straight forward as I expected
Details are on another thread, but I'd like to ask few questions here as it may be also usefull for other users.

I have some questions:
  1. Should I use Esys Launcher for flashing ECU? For me it was only way to flash ZGW with launcher ...
  2. What Esys options should be set for ECU flashing? Are they same as for Coding? Should I set Update VCM after TAL execution and Update MSM after TAL execution?
  3. What can cause warnings " VCM-Update is deactivated"? Can it be that Esys/pszdata is too new version for my car?
  4. What could cause warning Could not read ComParam 'MODE_CHANGE_PARAMETER'?


Code:
TAL execution started.
VCM Update: VCM-Update is deactivated. VCM will not be updated. C197
TEL - 36 Could not read ComParam 'MODE_CHANGE_PARAMETER'. Maybe the template is too old.
TEL - 36 - Exception Code=49184, CodeDescription='Object with name not found', Severity=2051, VendorCode=3, VendorCodeDescription='provided name MODE_CHANGE_PARAMETER doesn't map to an item'
MULF - 55 Could not read ComParam 'MODE_CHANGE_PARAMETER'. Maybe the template is too old.
MULF - 55 - Exception Code=49184, CodeDescription='Object with name not found', Severity=2051, VendorCode=3, VendorCodeDescription='provided name MODE_CHANGE_PARAMETER doesn't map to an item'
ExecutionID=2016/12/18-10:39:17.269
MSM warnings:
Code:
MSM update: Read current SVT. C194
MSM update started. C215
MCDDiagServiceid=378649, job=com.bmw.psdz.jobs.uds.MCD3_ReadF11DataFromMSM, service=RC_GET_PARAMETER_N11 - RoutineControll GetParameter N11, description=error: negative response : requestOutOfRange, link=MSM_ETHERNET
MCDDiagServiceid=398649, job=com.bmw.psdz.jobs.common.MCD3_ReadF11DataFromCsmClients, service=RC_GET_PARAM_N11_CSM - RoutineControll GetParameter N11 CSM, description=error: negative response : requestOutOfRange, link=HU_CIC_63_ETHERNET
MCDDiagServiceid=398649, job=com.bmw.psdz.jobs.common.MCD3_ReadF11DataFromCsmClients, service=RC_GET_PARAM_N11_CSM - RoutineControll GetParameter N11 CSM, description=error: negative response : requestOutOfRange, link=ZBE_67_ETHERNET
MCDDiagServiceid=378649, job=com.bmw.psdz.jobs.uds.MCD3_ReadF11DataFromMSM, service=RC_GET_PARAMETER_N11 - RoutineControll GetParameter N11, description=error: negative response : requestOutOfRange, link=MSM_ETHERNET
MCDDiagServiceid=378649, job=com.bmw.psdz.jobs.uds.MCD3_ReadF11DataFromMSM, service=RC_GET_PARAMETER_N11 - RoutineControll GetParameter N11, description=error: negative response : requestOutOfRange, link=MSM_ETHERNET
MCDDiagServiceid=398649, job=com.bmw.psdz.jobs.common.MCD3_ReadF11DataFromCsmClients, service=RC_GET_PARAM_N11_CSM - RoutineControll GetParameter N11 CSM, description=error: negative response : requestOutOfRange, link=HU_CIC_63_ETHERNET
MCDDiagServiceid=398649, job=com.bmw.psdz.jobs.common.MCD3_ReadF11DataFromCsmClients, service=RC_GET_PARAM_N11_CSM - RoutineControll GetParameter N11 CSM, description=error: negative response : requestOutOfRange, link=ZBE_67_ETHERNET
MCDDiagServiceid=378649, job=com.bmw.psdz.jobs.uds.MCD3_ReadF11DataFromMSM, service=RC_GET_PARAMETER_N11 - RoutineControll GetParameter N11, description=error: negative response : requestOutOfRange, link=MSM_ETHERNET
MSM update finished. C216

Last edited by egisz; 12-18-2016 at 03:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

See More Related BMW Stories


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
© 2001- VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.