F45/F46/F48/F55/F56 Coding Thread - Page 3 - Bimmerfest - BMW Forums



Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming

BMW Coding and Programming
Discuss coding options and features on your BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51  
Old 07-05-2016, 04:15 PM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7,006
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmnc02 View Post

>
. > . 3000 > 3000_31_31_3 = UNK_PARAM_0
. > . 300A > 300A_32_32_255 = aktiv
For 297A mapping, compare to cafd_0000121c (DSC_CT02, FP = F45, F56, I001).

Edit: I am still running comparison but data groups, bytes, positional and storage info is the same if not very similar.

Last edited by Almaretto; 07-05-2016 at 04:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #52  
Old 07-05-2016, 06:54 PM
dmnc02's Avatar
dmnc02 dmnc02 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: PA
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 769
Mein Auto: 2015 M4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
For 297A mapping, compare to cafd_0000121c (DSC_CT02, FP = F45, F56, I001).

Edit: I am still running comparison but data groups, bytes, positional and storage info is the same if not very similar.
Good find: it does look like a close match.

In CAFD_0000121c, 3000_31_31_3 corresponds to C_Funktion_Reifenpannerkennung_Aktiv_e (with literal values nicht_aktiv, RPA and RDC) and 300A_32_32_255 corresponds to QdmRdcDep (with literal values noRDC and isRDC). Clearly, both relate to RDC.
__________________
2015 Mineral Grey ///M4 6MT
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 07-05-2016, 07:13 PM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7,006
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmnc02 View Post
Good find: it does look like a close match.

In CAFD_0000121c, 3000_31_31_3 corresponds to C_Funktion_Reifenpannerkennung_Aktiv_e (with literal values nicht_aktiv, RPA and RDC) and 300A_32_32_255 corresponds to QdmRdcDep (with literal values noRDC and isRDC). Clearly, both relate to RDC.
This trimmed data is a funny thing. I find it strange that an SVT tree clearly has ECU name but not when looking at caf viewer or FDL-editor. Little data redundancy issues.

I had not looked at the RDC parameters yet, but found some matching when looking at fdl's related to 5AV Active Guard. The 3000 functions line up perfectly. The 3009 ones I located by checking storage info.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #54  
Old 07-05-2016, 07:26 PM
dmnc02's Avatar
dmnc02 dmnc02 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: PA
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 769
Mein Auto: 2015 M4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
This trimmed data is a funny thing. I find it strange that an SVT tree clearly has ECU name but not when looking at caf viewer or FDL-editor. Little data redundancy issues.

I had not looked at the RDC parameters yet, but found some matching when looking at fdl's related to 5AV Active Guard. The 3000 functions line up perfectly. The 3009 ones I located by checking storage info.
The ECU names are not taken from the CAFDs: E-Sys can display the ECU name in the SVT tree even if an ECU has not been coded or has a corrupted CAFD and Rheingold can display the ECU names even with no access to PSdZData. Sometimes a bit of redundancy is helpful.
__________________
2015 Mineral Grey ///M4 6MT
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 07-05-2016, 09:17 PM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7,006
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmnc02 View Post
The ECU names are not taken from the CAFDs: E-Sys can display the ECU name in the SVT tree even if an ECU has not been coded or has a corrupted CAFD and Rheingold can display the ECU names even with no access to PSdZData. Sometimes a bit of redundancy is helpful.
I know the svt data is pulled from elsewhere, I just find redundancy a breakdown in data integrity. Though, in this case, it is helpful.

I am just trying to figure out from where I can pull the data of ECU names of a dozen unmapped CAFD's if I do not have read and saved SVT with them.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 08-22-2016, 12:08 AM
Oakserver Oakserver is offline
Registered User
Location: Uk
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 4
Mein Auto: 220d F45
Quote:
Originally Posted by mekatu View Post
Finally solved my problem and completed cruise control coding. Knowing that information on F45 and F46 is limited on the web I have prepared a DIY Guide for those who want to install the dynamic cruise control on their F45/F46.
Here is the link:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/fln6jgy54m..._Rev0.pdf?dl=0
Hi Mekatu,

I partially used your guide for retrofitting cruise to my F45 Active Tourer. Thanks Mekatu.

My car has the sport auto transmission and therefore flappy paddles to change gear. This meant it was easier to take the steering wheel off. Meant I didn't need to touch the shroud.

The modules you are coding for the F45 are not quite correct which is probably why you needed to code them all to work.

The modules I needed to code after adding 544 into SALAPA were the following:

(Please note I did this with the engine running and you do see a few errors as you progress but don't be alarmed they will be gone when you finish all the coding of the modules below)

SAS
BDC_BODY
BKOMBI
DSC2
HU_ENTRYNAV
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 08-26-2016, 09:54 PM
witchrobin witchrobin is offline
Registered User
Location: Toronto
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 18
Mein Auto: X1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
For 297A mapping, compare to cafd_0000121c (DSC_CT02, FP = F45, F56, I001).

Edit: I am still running comparison but data groups, bytes, positional and storage info is the same if not very similar.
Have you tried FDL coding the 297A CAFD? I was able to map the code i am looking for by comparing to the cafd_0000121c as you suggested. Wasn't sure if it would be safe to code with this "funny trimmed function" as someone else mentioned.



Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 08-26-2016, 10:27 PM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7,006
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by witchrobin View Post
Have you tried FDL coding the 297A CAFD? I was able to map the code i am looking for by comparing to the cafd_0000121c as you suggested. Wasn't sure if it would be safe to code with this "funny trimmed function" as someone else mentioned.

Thanks.
I have not FDL-coded 297A. I successfully coded HVAC memory settings in unmapped IHKA2 (CAFD_000047D6) using IHKA (CAFD_00000092).

Last edited by Almaretto; 08-26-2016 at 10:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 08-27-2016, 08:23 AM
witchrobin witchrobin is offline
Registered User
Location: Toronto
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 18
Mein Auto: X1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
I have not FDL-coded 297A. I successfully coded HVAC memory settings in unmapped IHKA2 (CAFD_000047D6) using IHKA (CAFD_00000092).
I am having problem saving after the FDL edit. I was using esys 3.26 + 57.3 psdzdata. Tried upgrading to 3.27 + 59.3 but still same error.

Any idea?

Thanks.

Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 08-27-2016, 08:46 AM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7,006
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by witchrobin View Post
I am having problem saving after the FDL edit. I was using esys 3.26 + 57.3 psdzdata. Tried upgrading to 3.27 + 59.3 but still same error.

Any idea?

Thanks.
Changing psdzdata is unlikely to solve anything except caf not found errors.

What are you specifically editing? This error occurs when you select save icon in fdl-editor or code fdl?
Reply With Quote
  #61  
Old 08-28-2016, 09:09 AM
witchrobin witchrobin is offline
Registered User
Location: Toronto
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 18
Mein Auto: X1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
Changing psdzdata is unlikely to solve anything except caf not found errors.

What are you specifically editing? This error occurs when you select save icon in fdl-editor or code fdl?
I am trying to code the LIM feature https://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=669435

Yes, the error occurs when i click on the save icon in the fdl editor after making the change.
I installed e-sys on a Win7 VM on my Mac and it seems to save properly.

So there much be something up with my Windows 7 laptop that's giving me the error. It's weird that other ECUs like kombi, bdc, seem save properly. I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling esys multiple times. I'll see if i can find another laptop to try this out.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 08-28-2016, 08:49 PM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7,006
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by witchrobin View Post
I am trying to code the LIM feature https://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=669435

Yes, the error occurs when i click on the save icon in the fdl editor after making the change.
I installed e-sys on a Win7 VM on my Mac and it seems to save properly.

So there much be something up with my Windows 7 laptop that's giving me the error. It's weird that other ECUs like kombi, bdc, seem save properly. I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling esys multiple times. I'll see if i can find another laptop to try this out.
Are you setting the following?:
  • DSC2 (CAFD_0000297A)
    • 3009_6_6_255: aktiv
    • 3009_24_24_255: aktiv
  • KOMBI (CAFD_000009C8)
    • SLD_ENABLE: aktiv
On a set of EU F48 NCD's, of those, I only had to change 3009_6_6_255; but, was able to save without error. You can PM me your troublesome NCD and I can see if I have trouble changing.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 08-29-2016, 11:05 AM
witchrobin witchrobin is offline
Registered User
Location: Toronto
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 18
Mein Auto: X1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
Are you setting the following?:
  • DSC2 (CAFD_0000297A)
    • 3009_6_6_255: aktiv
    • 3009_24_24_255: aktiv
  • KOMBI (CAFD_000009C8)
    • SLD_ENABLE: aktiv
On a set of EU F48 NCD's, of those, I only had to change 3009_6_6_255; but, was able to save without error. You can PM me your troublesome NCD and I can see if I have trouble changing.
Yes, those are the exact changes i was try to make from the DSC2 module. Neither 3009_6_6_255 or 3009_24_24_255 allowed me to save, but the problem has been solved now.

I upgraded e-sys launcher from 2.4.3 to 2.5.3 for another feature (unlock after engine off) cause it wasn't mapped in 2.4.3. After upgrading I can also save the 297A NCD without error.

Thanks for your help.


I have another question you may know. I coded the feature to enable rear-view camera at all speeds.
PCD Module:
300B->D_SCHWELLE_1_KMH set to: Werte = FF
300B->D_SCHWELLE_2_KMH set to: Werte = FF
300B->V_SCHWELLE_1_KMH set to: Werte = FF
300B->V_SCHWELLE_2_KMH set to: Werte = FF

This gives me the option to turn on rear view when i need at any speed, but the down side is after going from reverse gear to drive, the review camera no longer automatically shuts off. Do you know if I can play with the 2 thresholds that will allow auto shut off of camera when going from reverse to drive, but still allow me to turn on the rear view manually during faster forward speed?

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 08-29-2016, 11:46 AM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7,006
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by witchrobin View Post
Yes, those are the exact changes i was try to make from the DSC2 module. Neither 3009_6_6_255 or 3009_24_24_255 allowed me to save, but the problem has been solved now.

I upgraded e-sys launcher from 2.4.3 to 2.5.3 for another feature (unlock after engine off) cause it wasn't mapped in 2.4.3. After upgrading I can also save the 297A NCD without error.

Thanks for your help.


I have another question you may know. I coded the feature to enable rear-view camera at all speeds.
PCD Module:
300B->D_SCHWELLE_1_KMH set to: Werte = FF
300B->D_SCHWELLE_2_KMH set to: Werte = FF
300B->V_SCHWELLE_1_KMH set to: Werte = FF
300B->V_SCHWELLE_2_KMH set to: Werte = FF

This gives me the option to turn on rear view when i need at any speed, but the down side is after going from reverse gear to drive, the review camera no longer automatically shuts off. Do you know if I can play with the 2 thresholds that will allow auto shut off of camera when going from reverse to drive, but still allow me to turn on the rear view manually during faster forward speed?

Thanks again.
You are welcome.

Re Cameras: I do not. I just know there are limitations when raising auto-shut off for velocity (255 km/h) and distance (255 m) on top/rear/side cameras. I have coded these for others, but never understood the desire for cameras in motion; as such, I never looked further into these parameters.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 08-29-2016, 08:12 PM
witchrobin witchrobin is offline
Registered User
Location: Toronto
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 18
Mein Auto: X1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
You are welcome.

Re Cameras: I do not. I just know there are limitations when raising auto-shut off for velocity (255 km/h) and distance (255 m) on top/rear/side cameras. I have coded these for others, but never understood the desire for cameras in motion; as such, I never looked further into these parameters.
I thought it could be something useful, but I guess it's more of a distraction to have to manually turn off the rear view when switching gear from R->D. Probably will code it back. I did noticed that after moving forward for about a min (didn't time exactly) the camera does turn off.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 08-29-2016, 09:17 PM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7,006
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by witchrobin View Post
I thought it could be something useful, but I guess it's more of a distraction to have to manually turn off the rear view when switching gear from R->D. Probably will code it back. I did noticed that after moving forward for about a min (didn't time exactly) the camera does turn off.
The coding is separated by camera (side vs top vs rear), with two parameters each for distance and velocity. You could code back or play with the wertes. Find what works for you.

Each cars layout is a little different. I find the F10 to have the best; I am able to select all the individual switches in center (eg, media, communication, PDC, etc) without looking. On my F15, I tend to look more.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 09-03-2016, 11:10 PM
Cothy Cothy is offline
Registered User
Location: munich
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 13
Mein Auto: F46
Hello,

I have a F46 from 07/2016.
I want to retrofit SLI (8TH) but Esys can not modify FA.
I understand that 8TH is no valid salapa for F46.
I have the 7E FSC for Kafas2.
Now i want to do FDL Coding.
Can someone help me witch ECU I have to code and how?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 09-04-2016, 01:26 AM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7,006
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cothy View Post
Hello,

I have a F46 from 07/2016.
I want to retrofit SLI (8TH) but Esys can not modify FA.
I understand that 8TH is no valid salapa for F46.
I have the 7E FSC for Kafas2.
Now i want to do FDL Coding.
Can someone help me witch ECU I have to code and how?

Thanks
The F045 FA2FP table contains 8TD Decoding Speed Limit Info. You may be able to use TM's NCD / CAFD tool to determine what to FDL code. On an F48, it affects BDC, KAFAS2, DSC2, Kombi, and HU_NBT.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 09-05-2016, 11:50 AM
Cothy Cothy is offline
Registered User
Location: munich
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 13
Mein Auto: F46
8TD is to deactivate 8TH (SLI) in countrys where it isn't allowed.
I am locking for a way to retrofit 8TH to my F46 but till now i couldn't find help.

Thanks anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 09-05-2016, 12:26 PM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7,006
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cothy View Post
8TD is to deactivate 8TH (SLI) in countrys where it isn't allowed.
I am locking for a way to retrofit 8TH to my F46 but till now i couldn't find help.

Thanks anyway.
I know. I was suggesting to use the deactivate code to give you way to FDL code opposite of 8TD.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 09-13-2016, 02:38 AM
MrTracey MrTracey is offline
Registered User
Location: England, UK
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 74
Mein Auto: F48 X1 Xdrive20i M-Sport
Can't change comfort blink from 3 flashes

Hi,

I have a 2016 X1 (F48, July 2016 build). I've successfully coded a few things (6NS, Auto stop-start memory, door mirror fold delay = 0 on lock, etc) BUT...

I wanted to change the "comfort turn-signal blink" from 3 blinks to 4.
I went to BDC_BODY, 3068, BLINKZYKLEN_ANZAHL_TIPP expecting to change the 'werte' from 2 to 3...but it was 00 ??
Well, I went ahead and changed it to 03 (for 4 blinks) anyway, confirmed the change was saved, coded it, but still only 3 blinks. I'm a bit baffled - I guess the parameter I need to change must be something else..but what? where? Any ideas?

BTW, I'm using E-Sys v.3.27.1 with v.59.3_PSdZData (selecting F056 when connecting to the car).

Annoyingly, I did this a couple of years ago with no problems on my previous car (M135i).
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 10-02-2016, 05:21 AM
Cothy Cothy is offline
Registered User
Location: munich
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 13
Mein Auto: F46
Got SLI and NPI work on a F46.
Upgraded FSC 007E to Kafas and FDL coded Kafas and Kombi.


http://www.directupload.net/file/d/4...743tdi_jpg.htm

Last edited by Cothy; 10-02-2016 at 05:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 10-02-2016, 12:23 PM
Maxym Maxym is offline
Registered User
Location: Germany/Leipzig
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Mein Auto: F48
Hi,

today I want to code my F48! (03/2016)
But I can not read out the ECUs with the VCM button in E-Sys.
If i try it to read it with the VCM Button it comes an Error, only with the ECU Buttom it run.
But he finds only two ECU,s and only one cafd to code.
What make i wrong?

Software: Win7 64bit, e-sys launcher 2.5.3.108, e-sys 3.27.1, PsdZData 59.4

Sorry for the bad english
Thanks Maxym
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0092.JPG
Views:	120
Size:	146.7 KB
ID:	577989  
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 10-02-2016, 12:52 PM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36,217
Mein Auto: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxym View Post
Hi,

today I want to code my F48! (03/2016)
But I can not read out the ECUs with the VCM button in E-Sys.
If i try it to read it with the VCM Button it comes an Error, only with the ECU Buttom it run.
But he finds only two ECU,s and only one cafd to code.
What make i wrong?

Software: Win7 64bit, e-sys launcher 2.5.3.108, e-sys 3.27.1, PsdZData 59.4

Sorry for the bad english
Thanks Maxym
Nothing. For F48, you are supposed to use Read ECU, not Read SVT.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 10-02-2016, 01:04 PM
Maxym Maxym is offline
Registered User
Location: Germany/Leipzig
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Mein Auto: F48
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Nothing. For F48, you are supposed to use Read ECU, not Read SVT.
Ok, thanks

But why he found only two ECU,s
Reply With Quote
Reply

See More Related BMW Stories


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
© 2001- VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.