All BMWs Beginner's Guide to BMW ISTA+ - Page 4 - Bimmerfest - BMW Forums



Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming

BMW Coding and Programming
Discuss coding options and features on your BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #76  
Old 03-29-2017, 12:58 PM
Reclaimer's Avatar
Reclaimer Reclaimer is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: The Great White North
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,902
Mein Auto: 2012 E84 x28i
Quote:
Originally Posted by drastic25 View Post
quick stupid question, i have ista+ on my computer connected to my 2014 f02 trying to program my driver led xenon headlight it say encode in ista+, i can get it the headlight learn and stay on using ista+ but when i shut off the car it don't stay on. Do i need to recode or re vin it, if so how is it done using ista+...btw it a mint used headlight i know it work because when i run the learning process on ista+ everything work led, halo's, blinker and low high beam.
You need 2 things for ISTA+ to program and encode your car:
1. Service Data
2. ICOM

ISTA+ won't program without an ICOM. You're better off with ESYS for coding and get the car learning in ISTA+.

Sent from Bimmerfest App
__________________
She said that to me once... about being a machine.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #77  
Old 03-31-2017, 03:45 AM
Mentat Mentat is offline
Registered User
Location: Romania
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 46
Mein Auto: BMW X5M50d, Jaguar XK
All installed, but problem when connecting to my dad's E83 LCI via K+DCAN USB-Serial interface.

This is the cable

Quote:
NET-0014 Host not found
Idea?


Later Edit

Quote:
Edit the EDIABAS.ini in ~\Rheingold\Ediabas\BIN folder and change INTERFACE to STD:OBD and try again. It has to match what you have in C:\EDIABAS. There is no port configuration needed for K+DCAN, not sure what ports you changed.
Did that, now vehicle cannot be identified.

Do I need PSDZData for E83 LCI?

Prod date: 2007-11-05
X3 30SD (286 HP), facelift

How can I check if the cable is good? I've use it on the same car a few years ago, for coding and worked.
my cable is this



I use the latest driver for Win 10 X64.

For diagnosis I must use the black adapter?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	208
Size:	73.0 KB
ID:	592962   Click image for larger version

Name:	WhatsApp Image 2017-03-31 at 14.09.22 (1).jpeg
Views:	189
Size:	54.0 KB
ID:	592963   Click image for larger version

Name:	3.JPG
Views:	209
Size:	51.8 KB
ID:	592964  

Last edited by Mentat; 03-31-2017 at 07:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 03-31-2017, 07:26 AM
Reclaimer's Avatar
Reclaimer Reclaimer is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: The Great White North
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,902
Mein Auto: 2012 E84 x28i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mentat View Post
All installed, but problem when connecting to my dad's E83 LCI via K+DCAN USB-Serial interface.

This is the cable



Idea?


Later Edit



Did that, now vehicle cannot be identified.

Do I need PSDZData for E83 LCI?

Prod date: 2007-11-05
X3 30SD (286 HP), facelift

How can I check if the cable is good? I've use it on the same car a few years ago, for coding and worked.
my cable is this



I use the latest driver for Win 10 X64.

For diagnosis I must use the black adapter?
The adapter is for pre-2/2007 cars to bridge pins. You don't need to use it.
__________________
She said that to me once... about being a machine.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #79  
Old 03-31-2017, 07:41 AM
Mentat Mentat is offline
Registered User
Location: Romania
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 46
Mein Auto: BMW X5M50d, Jaguar XK
Without the black adapter, INPA seems to connect, but nothing works inside INPA - communication failure





Last edited by Mentat; 03-31-2017 at 07:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 04-05-2017, 11:06 AM
oilburner26 oilburner26 is offline
Registered User
Location: UK
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 41
Mein Auto: F11 2.0d
Help Required on ISTA Connection Problem

I've installed ISTA+ sucessfully on two different laptops one is on a 32bit Windows 7 and the other is a newer 64bit Windows 10 laptop.

I'm using a ENET cable for both vehicles

Both laptops connect to my 2014 BMW F11 520d but when I tried to connect to my wife's 2012 R56 Mini Cooper d there's no connection, I know the socket in the mini is good because I can connect sucessfully a Foxwell NT510 scanner.

Any suggestions most appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #81  
Old 04-05-2017, 11:08 AM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7,006
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by oilburner26 View Post
I've installed ISTA+ sucessfully on two different laptops one is on a 32bit Windows 7 and the other is a newer 64bit Windows 10 laptop.

I'm using a ENET cable for both vehicles

Both laptops connect to my 2014 BMW F11 520d but when I tried to connect to my wife's 2012 R56 Mini Cooper d there's no connection, I know the socket in the mini is good because I can connect sucessfully a Foxwell NT510 scanner.

Any suggestions most appreciated.
ENET if for F054/F055/F056/F057/F060 mini.
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 04-05-2017, 11:17 AM
oilburner26 oilburner26 is offline
Registered User
Location: UK
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 41
Mein Auto: F11 2.0d
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
ENET if for F054/F055/F056/F057/F060 mini.
Thanks Almaretto for a quick reply I assumed because it connects to the F11 it would connect to our R56.

What cable should I use on the R56.
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 04-05-2017, 11:19 AM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7,006
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by oilburner26 View Post
Thanks Almaretto for a quick reply I assumed because it connects to the F11 it would connect to our R56.

What cable should I use on the R56.
ENET is for Fxx-/Ixx-/Gxx-series, Mini (those referenced above), & Rolls-Royce.

R056 uses K+DCAN, I believe, like E-series. Or ICOM.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 04-05-2017, 11:22 AM
Reclaimer's Avatar
Reclaimer Reclaimer is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: The Great White North
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,902
Mein Auto: 2012 E84 x28i
Quote:
Originally Posted by oilburner26 View Post
I've installed ISTA+ sucessfully on two different laptops one is on a 32bit Windows 7 and the other is a newer 64bit Windows 10 laptop.

I'm using a ENET cable for both vehicles

Both laptops connect to my 2014 BMW F11 520d but when I tried to connect to my wife's 2012 R56 Mini Cooper d there's no connection, I know the socket in the mini is good because I can connect sucessfully a Foxwell NT510 scanner.

Any suggestions most appreciated.
Oops...didn't see there was another page! Almaretto answered it. You need a K+DCAN cable.

Sent from Bimmerfest App
__________________
She said that to me once... about being a machine.

Last edited by Reclaimer; 04-05-2017 at 11:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 04-05-2017, 12:36 PM
oilburner26 oilburner26 is offline
Registered User
Location: UK
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 41
Mein Auto: F11 2.0d
Thanks Reclaimer for your help do I need a switched version or is that only for older vehicles.
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 04-05-2017, 12:40 PM
oilburner26 oilburner26 is offline
Registered User
Location: UK
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 41
Mein Auto: F11 2.0d
Thanks Almaretto sorry did not see your reply.
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 04-05-2017, 01:28 PM
Reclaimer's Avatar
Reclaimer Reclaimer is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: The Great White North
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,902
Mein Auto: 2012 E84 x28i
Quote:
Originally Posted by oilburner26 View Post
Thanks Reclaimer for your help do I need a switched version or is that only for older vehicles.
Switched version is for pre 2/2007 vehicles (pins bridged).
__________________
She said that to me once... about being a machine.
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 04-05-2017, 02:12 PM
Bolosman Bolosman is offline
Registered User
Location: UK
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 81
Mein Auto: F01 740d M Sport
Hi all,

I'm new to the 7 series as previously had the 530d E60 so used to use NCS expert and DIS for my diagnosis. But, as i now have an F01 740d M Sport I'm looking for a copy of INSTA-D for reading codes etc as would be using ESYS for any coding etc...Would it be possible for a link to download this please?

I will be using an ENET cable to connect to the car.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 04-05-2017, 03:01 PM
Aurieg Aurieg is offline
Registered User
Location: Portland Oregon
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 73
Mein Auto: 2014 F32
Hey guys,

I have an ENET cable and installed latest version of ISTA-D on virtual machine running windows 7 64bit, host is running windows 10 64bit. I followed these instructions here: http://blog.obdtool.co.uk/how-to-set...-for-f-series/ however still having an issue. ISTA-D works fine, as well as ista-p. I cannot seem to connect the car to pc, it simply is not identified, connection doesn't appear in ISTA-D or in network adapters when I go check the network settings on host and on vmware it sayd cable is not connected when the ignition is on. Regular OBD II scanner works on the car. When you connect an OBD II ENET cable to your car and then to your network adapter, do lights on the network adapter light up automatically as if regular network cable is connected? Mine do not, as if cable is bad or something. Can you guys help me with this? I need to do a bit of diagnosis and adaptation on my project car, and need to access airbag module as well.

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 04-05-2017, 03:33 PM
Reclaimer's Avatar
Reclaimer Reclaimer is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: The Great White North
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,902
Mein Auto: 2012 E84 x28i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aurieg View Post
Hey guys,

I have an ENET cable and installed latest version of ISTA-D on virtual machine running windows 7 64bit, host is running windows 10 64bit. I followed these instructions here: http://blog.obdtool.co.uk/how-to-set...-for-f-series/ however still having an issue. ISTA-D works fine, as well as ista-p. I cannot seem to connect the car to pc, it simply is not identified, connection doesn't appear in ISTA-D or in network adapters when I go check the network settings on host and on vmware it sayd cable is not connected when the ignition is on. Regular OBD II scanner works on the car. When you connect an OBD II ENET cable to your car and then to your network adapter, do lights on the network adapter light up automatically as if regular network cable is connected? Mine do not, as if cable is bad or something. Can you guys help me with this? I need to do a bit of diagnosis and adaptation on my project car, and need to access airbag module as well.

Thank you!
Are you sure your network settings are OK? As per this step in the guide, If VMware is installed, open Virtual Network Editor and disconnect from the host any adapters with Subnet Address 169.254.0.0.
__________________
She said that to me once... about being a machine.
Reply With Quote
  #91  
Old 04-05-2017, 04:04 PM
Aurieg Aurieg is offline
Registered User
Location: Portland Oregon
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 73
Mein Auto: 2014 F32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reclaimer View Post
Are you sure your network settings are OK? As per this step in the guide, If VMware is installed, open Virtual Network Editor and disconnect from the host any adapters with Subnet Address 169.254.0.0.
There are no adapters displayed with such subnet. I'm a little concerned about the cable being faulty because network activity lights do not come on when it's plugged into the car and network adapter on PC.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Bimmerfest mobile app
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 04-05-2017, 04:51 PM
Reclaimer's Avatar
Reclaimer Reclaimer is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: The Great White North
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,902
Mein Auto: 2012 E84 x28i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aurieg View Post
There are no adapters displayed with such subnet. I'm a little concerned about the cable being faulty because network activity lights do not come on when it's plugged into the car and network adapter on PC.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Bimmerfest mobile app
Have you tried running ISTA+ directly from Windows 10 instead of a VM? ISTA+ runs perfectly fine on W10.
__________________
She said that to me once... about being a machine.
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 04-05-2017, 05:03 PM
Aurieg Aurieg is offline
Registered User
Location: Portland Oregon
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 73
Mein Auto: 2014 F32
No I haven't tried that.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Bimmerfest mobile app
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 04-05-2017, 10:20 PM
Aurieg Aurieg is offline
Registered User
Location: Portland Oregon
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 73
Mein Auto: 2014 F32
Took apart the cable and saw some wires disconnected, could have happened while I was taking it apart as it was glued together. Soldered them back in place will see if anything changes tomorrow.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Bimmerfest mobile app
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 04-06-2017, 03:40 AM
Bolosman Bolosman is offline
Registered User
Location: UK
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 81
Mein Auto: F01 740d M Sport
First of all thanks to Reclaimer for the link to insta d however, i'm following the guide to the letter but my easy bmw tools folder and net framework folder are both empty?

I'm doing the install on win 7 64bit with SP1
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 04-06-2017, 03:44 AM
Bolosman Bolosman is offline
Registered User
Location: UK
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 81
Mein Auto: F01 740d M Sport
I'll try downloading again....
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 04-06-2017, 04:00 AM
Bolosman Bolosman is offline
Registered User
Location: UK
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 81
Mein Auto: F01 740d M Sport
Nope no change and yet it clearly shows 163.53mb of content pulled down ok using MD 1.7. I'm stumped and it's not even installed yet lol
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 04-06-2017, 04:38 AM
Bolosman Bolosman is offline
Registered User
Location: UK
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 81
Mein Auto: F01 740d M Sport
Ok, seems like some kind of OS security related setting i must have as I've managed to download the files i need separately
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 04-06-2017, 07:45 PM
Aurieg Aurieg is offline
Registered User
Location: Portland Oregon
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 73
Mein Auto: 2014 F32
Just to let you all know, the issue was related to the ENET cable itself. Design of the internal side of the OBD II connector allowed for cat5 wires to be pulled directly from the PCB they were connected to. I had to resolder all wires and tie a knot inside the connector to prevent this from happening again. See link for images as well as a great PDF tutorial I followed to repair the cable.
One great way to tell if the cable is functional from the beginning is to plug it into the car and your computer. Without launching any programs (e.g. ista) open your network adapters page and see if your PC recognizes that a cable is plugged in (instead of showing network cable is disconnected it will say "unidentified network"). If there's absolutely nothing, then there's a chance that your cable is faulty just like mine was, however it's very easy to fix it.
P.s. photos of my cable show different wire colors than what tutorial explains, that is because it was wired to the rj45 different. If you have any questions let me know.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Bimmerfest mobile app
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 04-06-2017, 07:47 PM
Aurieg Aurieg is offline
Registered User
Location: Portland Oregon
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 73
Mein Auto: 2014 F32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aurieg View Post
Just to let you all know, the issue was related to the ENET cable itself. Design of the internal side of the OBD II connector allowed for cat5 wires to be pulled directly from the PCB they were connected to. I had to resolder all wires and tie a knot inside the connector to prevent this from happening again. See link for images as well as a great PDF tutorial I followed to repair the cable.
One great way to tell if the cable is functional from the beginning is to plug it into the car and your computer. Without launching any programs (e.g. ista) open your network adapters page and see if your PC recognizes that a cable is plugged in (instead of showing network cable is disconnected it will say "unidentified network"). If there's absolutely nothing, then there's a chance that your cable is faulty just like mine was, however it's very easy to fix it.
P.s. photos of my cable show different wire colors than what tutorial explains, that is because it was wired to the rj45 different. If you have any questions let me know.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Bimmerfest mobile app
Also, if anyone needs a link to the comprehensive software discussed in this forum with good download speeds let me know, but I think you're all getting it from that same source anyway.

Forgot to include this in my previous post:
https://drive.google.com/folderview?...F85R1VMXzBQNVU



Sent from my Nexus 6 using Bimmerfest mobile app
Reply With Quote
Reply

See More Related BMW Stories

Tags
diagnostics, ista+, procedure, programming, repair, rheingold


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
© 2001- VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.